We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely away from home in Broadstairs”
Review of Bay Tree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Tree Hotel
Ranked #9 of 24 Broadstairs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Homely away from home in Broadstairs”
Reviewed September 7, 2009

We have been staying at The Bay Tree Hotel for years as a couple and have always been welcomed by our host Margaret who is a courteous and helpful hotelier. My wife often stays there with her elderly mother and always finds the same warm welcome
Nothing is too much trouble for Margaret and her staff. The rooms are spotless and well decorated and are upgraded regularly. Breakfast is always tasty and fresh and the views from the restaurant are superb. There is ample parking on street at the front and private parking at the rear.
I would not stay anywhere else in Broastairs.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    42
    10
    6
    1
See reviews for
17
65
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2009

My cousin and I would not stay anywhere else when we visit Broadstairs. Margaret is gracious and warm. Rooms are neat and comfy, and several have million dollar views of the Channel. A few minute's walk to the town center for worthy used bookshops, a bit of shopping and a couple of good restaurants for evening meals. And back to the Bay Tree for a nightcap in the lounge ! Consistently good breakfasts.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EFBensonFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2008

We stayed here Friday and Saturday 25th/26th July. The hotel was absolutely perfect. We stayed in the seaview room with a balcony looking straight out to sea. The room was clean, very well furnished and decorated. TV, tea and coffee, small shower room.
We didn't draw the curtains all weekend because the view was too good to miss, paricularly the sunrise!

Breakfast couldn't have been better, I think there has been a change of ownership since the earlier reviews that said it wasn't good.

Facilities:
Good size car park
Lounge with bar
Stunning sea views
5 mins from town
Best room with seaview balcony £90 GBP inc breakfast for 2.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2007

Good clean hotel in quiet location, with sea views, parking and good breakfast. Ideal for stopover or short break in lively Broadstairs.
Our only grumble: All British B&Bs seem to be similarly (over)priced.
Book in advance for nearby Esma Greek restaurant .

  • Liked — see view
  • Disliked — price and stairs
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grannyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2006

We used to stay at this hotel some years ago.
The front room with the balcony enables viewing of the sunrise at sea while lying in bed.
Had no problems with the bacon then, management change was about every five years.
johnep

Stayed April 2002
Helpful?
Thank johnep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2006

Hi, We stayed here for 3 nights from 18/8/06. The hotel is nicely situated on the Eastern Esplanade, in Broadstairs and this particular hotel has lots of parking to the rear which is good.
The room(s) we looked at 3 others whilst there, were all very clean and of good decorative standard. The thing that let this hotel down were the breakfasts, my husband and i both like well cooked/crispy bacon and upon placing our breakfast orders and requesting this we were told that sadly they couldn't do that as the bacon was already pre cooked! (we asked for this every morning and were told the same thing every day). We paid £65 a night for this B&B and felt that for that price we were paying this entitled us to have our rashers of bacon cooked the way we asked?!?! All in all a nice location and if you get a seaview room you will not be disappointed.

Helpful?
4 Thank Caz'n'kel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadstairs
0.7 mi away
The Yarrow Hotel
The Yarrow Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadstairs
183 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Albion Hotel
Royal Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadstairs
623 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Botany Bay Hotel
The Botany Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kingsgate
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Walpole Bay Hotel
Walpole Bay Hotel
#3 of 12 in Margate
515 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
#9 of 10 in Ramsgate
313 reviews
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Ramsgate Seafront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Tree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Tree Hotel

Property: Bay Tree Hotel
Address: 12 Eastern Esplanade, Broadstairs CT10 1DR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Broadstairs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Broadstairs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay Tree Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the centre of Broadstairs, Kent, The Bay Tree is ideally located for a weekend break or holiday in one of England's most beautiful and traditional seaside resorts. Situated in a dramatic location on the cliff top, there are stunning views of the coastline and sandy beaches in Stone Bay. There is a terrace for looking out over the bay while enjoying a relaxing drink from our licensed bar, an inviting lounge with an open fire and a restaurant featuring gourmet cuisine with locally-sourced ingredients. All bedrooms are en suite and have flat screen TVs and tea-making facilities. Many offer a sea view and one room has a balcony. Breakfasts are cooked to order using local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Bay Tree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Tree Hotel Broadstairs, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing