We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They went the extra mile for our Ruby Wedding Anniversary”
Review of Royal Albion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Albion Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Broadstairs
Reviewed July 24, 2010

Thanks Royal Albion for all the little extras. Great room too with sea view from bed - and what a bed - the biggest ever and such nice linen. Broadstairs has hardly changed in decades, quiet, yet thiving. The beach is cleaned daily and the bathing safe. In the Garden of England the Royal Albion sources much of its food locally including the wonderful strawberries and raspberries for breakfast. We found the dining beat that of the Italian restaurant next door ( which had quick service to begin with but it got slower as the evening progressed and we even had to change tables mid-meal!!). It was good to have a room with our own part of the verandah. Pleasant and helpful staff. We shall return.

Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank EYorksFitzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (640)
There are newer reviews for Royal Albion Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

605 - 611 of 640 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2010

I work in the Travel Industy so I get to travel lots and stay at many different hotels around the world. My partner and I were looking for a very short break and decided on Broadstairs.
The thing that grabs you first about this Hotel is the warmth and friendliness of the Hotel Staff, that alone impressed me so much I knew we were in for a enjoyable stay.
We had a superior seaview room and it far exceeded my expectations. The room and the view was outstanding and well worth the extra money to upgrade.
The location is also second to none and the restaurant for dinner was superb as well as the breakfast choice that we had included in our stay.
All in all this is a gem of a hotel and cant recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuicyLucy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2010

The Royal Albion was a very traditional hotel with a winning location in the centre of Broadstairs with a wonderful view of sands and sea. It's been a number of years since we last visited and it's been freshened up and updated without losing it's traditional feel. We booked three rooms, two with seaview and one overlooking the town for just one night. The rooms were freshly decorated in restful colours with comfortable beds and attractive soft furnishings. A tea tray was provided and in our sea-facing room we had a small table and comfy chairs in the bay window. There was a very good panoramic photograph of the bay over the bed and proper reading lights. Our bathroom had a bath with very powerful shower over and was clean and well lit.

On arrival, we were given a carpark voucher for the nearby pay and display car park where we found a space with no trouble. There is no lift but our parents, who arrived before us, were given help with their luggage and seen safely up the stairs. The staff on Reception and in the dining room were cheerful and helpful.

There was a nice selection of cold and hot breakfast and toast and cooked food was produced to order.

We were very pleased to have returned to the Royal Albion.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cam_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2010

I had to write this review whilst I thought of it - I too often complain when something's bad and don't give credit where its due... but Wow!! We've been going to Broadstairs for day trips for years but have never stayed there. This weekend, due to the predicted good weather, we headed down on Friday night to make the best of Saturday's sun. What a treat! The room FAR exceeded our expectations - the decor, cleanliness, attention to detail and general ambience of the hotel blew us away! The room and bathroom were huge with floor to ceiling windows which gave us lots of natural light, the shower (which tends to be our bone of contention in hotels), was splendid - very powerful and hot.
The staff were more than helpful, gave us our car parking permit upon arrival, showed us personally to our room and bent over backwards to help when we were in the bar/ restaurant. The included breakfast was amazing! A fab selection and beautifully cooked. The only minor downside was the noise outside our room after the bar closed - some rowdy pub goers kept us awake from 12-1.30am as our room was on the back side of the hotel but this would definitely not be a reason to stay away. Everything else was just perfect! A definite recommendation!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gea82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2010

I travelled to Broadstairs with 3 of my work colleagues. On arrival it was obvious that the hotel was lovely, the receptionist was welcoming and very helpful when it came to the car park directions.
My room was on the very top floor, which had the most fab views of the sea from both windows in the bedroom and bathroom.
The room was to a high / modern standard and very spacious. I def think I may of had the better room.
The bar and breakfast area were also very nice, and the breakfast itself was cooked to a great standard.
It all made the drive down from Yorkshire worthwile.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmcD87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2010

We wanted to get out of London for the weekend and decided to head for the Kent coast, read a couple of reviews on the Royal Albion and thought we would give it a go. It turned out to be a good choice from arriving to checking out. Friendly service at the seperate hotel reception picking up the free parking pass at the local car park (2 min walk). The room was a superior double with fantastic seaviews over the bay. Very clean and tidy room with everything that you need. Broadstairs was very nice, not what we were expecting, lots of very good looking restaurants and nice shops. We had booked a table in the hotel restaurant, which was full but not overcrowded, the food was great and the service matched, for the 2 of us the meal came to £75 that includes a good bottle of red. However, the Italian restuarant next door looked great with a good menu, so next time we are going give that a go. Slept really well, however will remember to turn the heating down next time!! Checking out was easy and fast. we would recommend this hotel and Broadstairs. If you can spend the extra get a seaview room and make sure you book breakfast in your room, it was lovely having a very nice breakkie overlooking the sailing yachts in the bay.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2outoftown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2010

Just returned from an overnight stay in Broadstairs. I was very impressed with the decor, staff and facilitites. I think this is an great little hotel - very impressed with everything in general. My only 1 small gripe is that my room was very small, other than that all good. Great cooked breakfasts...... Would return if in the area again.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holioli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadstairs
0.4 mi away
The Yarrow Hotel
The Yarrow Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadstairs
199 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Botany Bay Hotel
The Botany Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kingsgate
637 reviews
2.3 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#5 of 10 in Ramsgate
1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
730 reviews
2.0 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
#9 of 10 in Ramsgate
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Albion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Albion Hotel

Address: 6-12 Albion Street, Broadstairs CT10 1AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Broadstairs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Broadstairs
Price Range: $123 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Albion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape from the everyday and step into a beautiful Kentish seaside retreat. Standing proudly on the Broadstairs seafront since 1776 and a former residence of Charles Dickens, The Royal Albion offers much more than your average seaside experience. Steeped in history but featuring a 21st century approach to comfort, enjoyment and relaxation. With its elegant literary heritage, fresh sea air and awe-inspiring views, The Royal Albion creates an atmosphere that makes it the ideal place to unwind, rejuvenate and take time out. The Royal Albion has 21 elegant and spacious bedrooms to choose from. Whether you are looking out over the stunning Kentish coastline or the historic town of Broadstairs, the views are stunning. All the rooms are designed to ensure your break in this seaside destination is one to remember. When it comes to dining, you'll be spoilt for choice too. Enjoy freshly ground coffee and home-baked pastries throughout the day in Ballard's coffee lounge, and delicious dishes made using only the best locally sourced ingredients in the main bar featuring a large terrace and landscaped garden whilst enjoying commanding views across Viking Bay. For a more intimate dining experience, the a la carte restaurant with beautiful sea views, is the perfect place. With a menu based on the finest seasonal ingredients and freshly caught seafood, you can be assured of a dining experience to remember. The Royal Albion is in the ideal location from which explore the very best that the Kentish coast has to offer. Wander the beaches and clear the cobwebs just as Dickens did over 170 years ago, or simply take time out to appreciate your well-earned break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Albion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Albion Hotel Broadstairs, Kent
Albion Hotel Broadstairs
Hotel Broadstairs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing