We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel overlooking the sea”
Review of Royal Albion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Albion Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Broadstairs
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Clean and comfortable room - Lovely long weekend- perfectly situated within walking distance of shops, sea and walkway. Friendly staff.
Good choice of food available. Lovely relaxed atmosphere -perfect for getting away from it all.
Would definitely go back

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank LesleyO76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (701)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

490 - 496 of 701 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2013

My wife and I got to know this lovely Hotel properly when we stayed across a period of months earlier this year. The staff then, as now, were very attentive, friendly and efficient. The choice of restaurants provide what you and when you need it - spot on. The prices and value are good - very good. The quality of the food even better. Now the Hotel has had benefit of a refurbishment
with the outside painted and the lovely old sash window frames brought up to standard once again.
The views of Viking Bay are of course without doubt the best you can find.
Well done Royal Albion - its good to know you are there!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

This is great hotel with lovely rooms and amazing views over the sea, a brilliant central location. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Albion with amazing food and great service all be it a bit pricey!

The only down side was the lack of air conditioning which made the rooms very hot in our scorching July this year and the fact that I needed to keep the curtains drawn all the time because my room was facing the main road which was noisy at night and full of holiday makers during the day. The rooms are quite pricey when all things are considered and if they came in below the £100 threshold I think this would be better value for money.

That said I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fudge200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We had a great weekend in August in a sea view room at the top of the hotel, have to say serious stairs. However lovely hotel excellent service from friendly staff and would not hesitate to recommend it. We will be going back and look forward to it.

Room Tip: Room with sea view a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Pat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Had tried to book a superior room with sea view for ages and finally got the chance in March 2013 for a short stay. We stayed in Room 19 which was a very nice modern room although smaller than we expected for a superior, the view of the bay would have been great if there were no fog as we experienced. The hotel had just been taken over but this did not affect our stay which was very enjoyable, the evening meals were excellent and we certainly intend to return during the Summer months.

Stayed: March 2013
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed for our wedding night we were late arriving and someone was there to great us and service was excellent we even received a congrats card great food beautiful rooms huge bath lovely decor best pub in broadstairs

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NaomiFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Nice hotel. Staff are friendly and helpful. The breakfasts are good with a wide choice of different breakfast items.
Family room small but comfortable. Bathroom seemed bigger than the bedroom!
The only downside is parking, as there is no where to park next to the hotel. A voucher is given so that you do not have to pay for parking.

Room Tip: Have a room facing the sea or you will have a town out look
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadstairs
0.4 mi away
The Yarrow Hotel
The Yarrow Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadstairs
258 reviews
2 mi away
The Botany Bay Hotel
The Botany Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kingsgate
676 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#4 of 10 in Ramsgate
1,141 reviews
2 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Ramsgate Seafront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Albion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Albion Hotel

Address: 6-12 Albion Street, Broadstairs CT10 1AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Broadstairs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Broadstairs
Price Range: $142 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Albion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape from the everyday and step into a beautiful Kentish seaside retreat. Standing proudly on the Broadstairs seafront since 1776 and a former residence of Charles Dickens, The Royal Albion offers much more than your average seaside experience. Steeped in history but featuring a 21st century approach to comfort, enjoyment and relaxation. With its elegant literary heritage, fresh sea air and awe-inspiring views, The Royal Albion creates an atmosphere that makes it the ideal place to unwind, rejuvenate and take time out. The Royal Albion has 21 elegant and spacious bedrooms to choose from. Whether you are looking out over the stunning Kentish coastline or the historic town of Broadstairs, the views are stunning. All the rooms are designed to ensure your break in this seaside destination is one to remember. When it comes to dining, you'll be spoilt for choice too. Enjoy freshly ground coffee and home-baked pastries throughout the day in Ballard's coffee lounge, and delicious dishes made using only the best locally sourced ingredients in the main bar featuring a large terrace and landscaped garden whilst enjoying commanding views across Viking Bay. For a more intimate dining experience, the a la carte restaurant with beautiful sea views, is the perfect place. With a menu based on the finest seasonal ingredients and freshly caught seafood, you can be assured of a dining experience to remember. The Royal Albion is in the ideal location from which explore the very best that the Kentish coast has to offer. Wander the beaches and clear the cobwebs just as Dickens did over 170 years ago, or simply take time out to appreciate your well-earned break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Albion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Albion Hotel Broadstairs, Kent
Albion Hotel Broadstairs
Hotel Broadstairs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing