We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal Albion Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Albion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Albion Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Broadstairs
Certificate of Excellence
Cheddleton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Royal Albion Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Nice hotel. Staff are friendly and helpful. The breakfasts are good with a wide choice of different breakfast items.
Family room small but comfortable. Bathroom seemed bigger than the bedroom!
The only downside is parking, as there is no where to park next to the hotel. A voucher is given so that you do not have to pay for parking.

Room Tip: Have a room facing the sea or you will have a town out look
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    216
    70
    32
    22
See reviews for
108
289
25
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Just spent two nights at the Royal Albion - all staff very friendly, helpful and just overall extremely pleasant! Hotel was full, but did not feel overcrowded in any way. For us, it was great having the pub/restaurant on the ground floor as there was "life" going on all around us all the time, as it's clearly a popular place for non-residents.

Very clean bedding and room - tea/coffee replaced each day. Glorious view from one of the first floor rooms with (shared) balcony advertised as "sea view" (Room No. 11). Worth paying a bit more for that. Slightly sloping floors and quirky bits add to the interest. Hotel is in a terrific location and Broadstairs is a perfect retreat from the stress and anxieties of every day life. Lots of nice, reasonably-priced restaurants. Music in pubs some nights. Lovely little cinema... like going back in time. Would jump at the chance of going again (although book early if you want this hotel!).

Ask about parking before paying for more than an hour - they give you a voucher for free parking in a local car park once you've checked in (and car park is close by).

Room Tip: Definitely choose a room with a sea view if possible (and those on first floor have access to shared...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4Jayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

On second floor!! must be fit! but the room clean and modern with great views over the harbour if the scaffolding had not been up the outside of the hotel for repairs. Hopefully it has now been taken down!! Oh my god what a breakfast! sitting on the terrace overlooking the sea and harbour with the sun out - it felt as if we were abroad.

Room Tip: rooms facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank CoralColin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Just come back from a weekend away at the Albion... Had a lovely stay. Staff are polite and rooms are clean. I would advise paying a little extra for a room with a sea view over Viking Bay.

We stayed over a busy weekend with fully booked hotel. However the room was quiet and we had a sound sleep.

All in all, a very pleasnt stay

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riksta79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Warm welcome.
A wonderful way to start our wedding anniversary celebrations.
Breakfast selection great and brilliantly prepared and presented.
Can't beat the central location.
Even the stairs are worth the climb.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alf051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

We had a comfortable stay here. We had the 'family suite' - two adjoining rooms which worked well for our family. The rooms were a bit small, but clean and nicely furnished in modern style. The views over the bay were lovely. It is in a prime spot in the middle of Broadstairs and you need to book well in advance for peak times. It was a healthy hike up the stairs, but the ability to get a decent pint in the bar and take it upstairs is not to be underestimated! Food is at the better end of the pub food scale and staff throughout were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Facing the sea is best, obviously. I suspect the higher up you go the more you compromise space in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Montydoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Accessd to the rooms are up some very windy staircases, but as its an old building this is to be expected.
I felt the rooms need some updating, our bathroom shower went very hot or cold, I can only assume depending on who was using water elsewhere.
The breakfast was massive, on speaking to the waitress she was very accomodating and made a suggestion for my breakfast order which was the right choice for me. (the hollandaise sauce in a dish on the side) and home cooked ham instead of smoked salmon. The breadfast room looks out towards the sea which i love, and to step outside straight after to go for a sea front walk is just wonderful.
I would stay here again for the location, which i feel is there best assett

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank coz500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadstairs
0.4 mi away
The Yarrow Hotel
The Yarrow Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadstairs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Botany Bay Hotel
The Botany Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kingsgate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
2.3 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#4 of 9 in Ramsgate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
0.1 mi away
Copperfields Guest House
Copperfields Guest House
#1 of 26 in Broadstairs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Albion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Albion Hotel

Property: Royal Albion Hotel
Address: 6-12 Albion Street, Broadstairs CT10 1AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Broadstairs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Broadstairs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Albion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape from the everyday and step into a beautiful Kentish seaside retreat. Standing proudly on the Broadstairs seafront since 1776 and a former residence of Charles Dickens, The Royal Albion offers much more than your average seaside experience. Steeped in history but featuring a 21st century approach to comfort, enjoyment and relaxation. With its elegant literary heritage, fresh sea air and awe-inspiring views, The Royal Albion creates an atmosphere that makes it the ideal place to unwind, rejuvenate and take time out. The Royal Albion has 21 elegant and spacious bedrooms to choose from. Whether you are looking out over the stunning Kentish coastline or the historic town of Broadstairs, the views are stunning. All the rooms are designed to ensure your break in this seaside destination is one to remember. When it comes to dining, you'll be spoilt for choice too. Enjoy freshly ground coffee and home-baked pastries throughout the day in Ballard's coffee lounge, and delicious dishes made using only the best locally sourced ingredients in the main bar featuring a large terrace and landscaped garden whilst enjoying commanding views across Viking Bay. For a more intimate dining experience, the a la carte restaurant with beautiful sea views, is the perfect place. With a menu based on the finest seasonal ingredients and freshly caught seafood, you can be assured of a dining experience to remember. The Royal Albion is in the ideal location from which explore the very best that the Kentish coast has to offer. Wander the beaches and clear the cobwebs just as Dickens did over 170 years ago, or simply take time out to appreciate your well-earned break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Albion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Albion Hotel Broadstairs, Kent
Albion Hotel Broadstairs
Hotel Broadstairs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing