We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem”
Review of Royal Albion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Albion Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Broadstairs
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Stayed for four nights during half-term with two small children. Could not fault this hotel on anything - lovely clean rooms, comfy beds, friendly staff who could not to do enough to make us feel at home (even posting back a toy that got left behind when we checked out). It's in a lovely spot right by a great beach too.

Food was excellent in the evenings and the breakfasts are terrific. We booked to come back when we checked out. Perfect for families. Really made our holiday.

Room Tip: Sea view room well worth the money. Even on a wet day was just lovely watching the tide come in and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Surreymumm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    218
    75
    35
    25
See reviews for
121
298
26
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We spent 3 nights here.1st night room 24, then 28 wish we could have stayed another 2. Before I booked I did all the usall research then went to book on-line through "book hotels" was fully booked, But if you ring direct they keep 30% back for direct booking. so my advise ring the hotel. very helpfull and friendly. we spoke with Rosey. Very friendly and proffesional.

Location: Over looking the sea front, close to all restaurants. nice flat prommanard. a little step hill to the beach but nothing that would really put you off. worst case there is a lift to the beach.

food: we ate in the bar first night, lovely sweet potatoe fries. good bar menu prices around £7.95. There is a dinning room with really good choice but we like to explore outside. for dinning out. The bar & resturante over look the sea. if good weather great seating outside. many people use this as its the best place to be & the red wine is delish & the beer is even better. Breakfast you have a number of choices not just full english. eggs bennidict, kippers & veg options. set you up for the day

Room:24 over looking street & tops of the roofs. Queen size bed. modern decor,but has a cosy feel, very clean. big bathroom. bath with shower over, its a powershower boy do you feel clean after being under that.

Room 28: save the best till last. If you can request this room. Big room over looking the sea, you can sit up in bed & sea the waves coming in. plenty of light coming in, big thick curtains keep the light out. again queen size bed, feather duvets, fully pillows. sumptious bathroom .big deep bath, loads of lovely bath lotions to accompany. separate shower. again very powerfull. nice little touchs sewing kit & shoe cleaners.

I would not hestitate book the Royal Albion. Good location & best hotel. This hotel should be rated 4star.

Room Tip: Room 28, corner suite large & sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 911lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

3 nights in May in lovely room on the front with balcony + teenage children in sea view room above. Rooms compact but oh so comfortable; great beds, classy linen and towels and super bathrooms with lovely toiletries. Views stunning - great watching the tide coming in each morning. Only criticism are the showers. Both our rooms had very low water pressure and not enough hot water.
Delicious breakfasts with charming breakfast staff (couldn't be more concerned and helpful with a tray for my son who was unwell one morning). Didn't eat dinner as Broadstairs has so many good restaurants, but had 2 good lunches on the deck area.
Position of the hotel is excellent - you walk straight out of the back of the hotel onto a pedestrian walk along the top of the cliffs, with easy access to the beach and brilliant walks each way.
All staff friendly, welcoming and helpful and the hotel has a lovely atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolineWR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covent Garden
Level Contributor
163 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Fantastic views across Hope Beach, clean, very good restaurant food and excellent value. We only stayed the one night (Saturday) had a lovely meal, the pub is lively but not rowdy, we also stayed in Room 21, which, although not huge, has everything you require, including a lovely large bed. I cannot comment on the sounds from next door as previous guests have, as either it's not that bad, or there was no one staying in room 22!.
All in all, great value, lovely staff.

Room Tip: 21 was fine, if a tad small, not sure which is their creme-DE-la-creme room I'm afraid, however...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, welcoming and friendly staff wonderful break great food and stunning views of the bay.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emxa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012 via mobile

We have just spent two nights at The Albion and were really sorry to leave. We left it late to book so were lucky to get a room. The room was on the top floor but the view was so fantastic you soon forgot the amount of stairs it took to get there! The bed was very large and very comfortable. The two easy chairs by the window were great we could sit and watch the constant activity on the beach. Breakfast was tasty and plentiful. The staff were very friendly it felt as if nothing would be too much trouble. At first glance some of the hotel might appear old fashioned, who cares ....the experience we had was mainly due to the old fashioned values of good customer service. We would recommend this hotel for any age.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Magretha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Location Location Location - situated looking out over the main beach in Broadstairs (Viking Bay), the staff were very pleasant and helpful. The room however was well used with wallpaper coming off in a few small places and tears in the bed, creaky floorboards etc.

We had a sea view with a bay window, when we walked in i had to clean all the finger prints and grease marks off the window and what still bemuses me to this day is why was there's a massive lamp shade right in front of the bay window stopping you from seeing an uninterrupted view of the sea, which after all is what your paying for! And where was the switch to turn it on? under the bed maybe lol

Nice location, friendly staff but in need of renovation or a much lower price.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wheresmyhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadstairs
0.4 mi away
The Yarrow Hotel
The Yarrow Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadstairs
164 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Botany Bay Hotel
The Botany Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kingsgate
590 reviews
2.0 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#5 of 10 in Ramsgate
1,059 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
686 reviews
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Ramsgate Seafront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Albion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Albion Hotel

Property: Royal Albion Hotel
Address: 6-12 Albion Street, Broadstairs CT10 1AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Broadstairs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Broadstairs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Albion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape from the everyday and step into a beautiful Kentish seaside retreat. Standing proudly on the Broadstairs seafront since 1776 and a former residence of Charles Dickens, The Royal Albion offers much more than your average seaside experience. Steeped in history but featuring a 21st century approach to comfort, enjoyment and relaxation. With its elegant literary heritage, fresh sea air and awe-inspiring views, The Royal Albion creates an atmosphere that makes it the ideal place to unwind, rejuvenate and take time out. The Royal Albion has 21 elegant and spacious bedrooms to choose from. Whether you are looking out over the stunning Kentish coastline or the historic town of Broadstairs, the views are stunning. All the rooms are designed to ensure your break in this seaside destination is one to remember. When it comes to dining, you'll be spoilt for choice too. Enjoy freshly ground coffee and home-baked pastries throughout the day in Ballard's coffee lounge, and delicious dishes made using only the best locally sourced ingredients in the main bar featuring a large terrace and landscaped garden whilst enjoying commanding views across Viking Bay. For a more intimate dining experience, the a la carte restaurant with beautiful sea views, is the perfect place. With a menu based on the finest seasonal ingredients and freshly caught seafood, you can be assured of a dining experience to remember. The Royal Albion is in the ideal location from which explore the very best that the Kentish coast has to offer. Wander the beaches and clear the cobwebs just as Dickens did over 170 years ago, or simply take time out to appreciate your well-earned break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Albion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Albion Hotel Broadstairs, Kent
Albion Hotel Broadstairs
Hotel Broadstairs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing