We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Acknowledge historical hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Albion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Albion Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Broadstairs
Certificate of Excellence
Broome, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Acknowledge historical hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2011

My wife & I stayed here along with another couple in late August 2011. Initially we were surprised with the reception area just inside the front entrance. It was very small and seemed quite old but at the same time when you looked around the foyer area you were immediately struck by the fact that the hotel is historical. It dates way back to Charles Dicken times and even before that. He stayed here for some time prior to him purchasing Bleak House which is visible situated on the headland along to the left from the hotel.
We were taken up to our room on the 3rd floor. We had requested a sea facing room and were not dissapointed. You can view the whole promenade of Broadstairs from the window.
Upon entry the age of the hotel struck home. The floors are uneven and slope to different quarters of the room. The bed was queen size and very comfortable.The bathroom was more than adequate and the shower efficient. All of this added to the enjoyable historical flavour of the hotel.
There is also a terrace area at the front of the hotel facing the sea. This is frequented all day and provides meals.
We opted to include breakfast. This was available in the main dining room. There was a large selection of buffet food inlcuding cereals, rolls, bread/toast, juices etc. Much to our great surprise we were also presented with a full menu to select a wide and plentiful selection of fully cooked breakfast. This was in addition to the buffet. When it arrived it was huge and certainly set you up for the day ahead.
You can walk out along a pier to the left of the hotel and enjoy all kinds of seafood, fast food and snacks.
We also enjoyed a very good meal for lunch one day at the Pavilion also to the left of the hotel along the beach front.
Staff within the hotel were very capable and made us feel very welcome. Check in and check out was fine and we had no dificulties. Car parking is available free of charge but it is in an open air public car park about 50m down the main street. Vouchers are provided by the hotel.
Enjoy this hotel and dwell in the atmosphere of history still in the making.

Room Tip: Request a seafacing room. It is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BroomeAussies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    216
    70
    32
    22
See reviews for
108
289
25
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

We booked here for our anniversary, and although the room was small, the decor was lovely and the view amazing. The staff were great (especially the cleaning ladies who could not do enough to help, and showed us other rooms as we spoke about coming back again). The bar staff and breakfast staff were lovely too.
Broadstairs is lovely, lots of ice cream parlours and places to eat and drink coffee!
We were ready to book for next year when we checked out but the prices have jumped up for 2012 and the woman on reception was terse and slightly disinterested that I wanted to book again. I didn't - which is a shame as she was the only person who made us feel unwanted.
Overall I recommend this hotel and for somewhere to eat, it has a great atmosphere and amazing surroundings.

Room Tip: Room 14 is very compact. Try and book room 15 it has a roll top bath & a balcony area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Treeborker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

We stayed here in a twin room for three nights and it was all super. The staff were smashing, the room was lovely and the location is fantastic. At the rear of the hotel is a terrace and patio garden overlooking Viking Bay and the beach where you can have all meals including breakfast, or a drink, or just sit and admire the view.
You can get good drinks, snacks and meals at anytime from the hotel's cafe/restaurant and even though not included they will happily provide a latte etc for your breakfast drink.
The room was very nicely appointed and clean with a light and spacious bathroom, all facilities were in excellent working order.
A great base for visiting the Thanet area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hot-Jinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
191 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

The hotel is really charming and set right on the sea front. We had a room looking out on to the high street, which is really quaint and being on the first floor we were at a good height to people watch. The room was cosy, and immaculately clean but what really made our stay was the breakfast- continental selection of pastries, fruit, cereals etc and then on top of that a menu with cooked options like Full English. It was delicious!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank killtacos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

I stayed here for three night's from Thursday 21st Breakfast was gorgeous eggs benedict. On Fri we had a group of 25 friends and family back for a wedding breakfast. Wonderful food and good service we were given the dining room with a beautiful flower arrangement on our table which was later placed in our room.The next night our family who had also stayed had champagne and cupcakes on the amazing terrace watching the sunset. Our room was large well decorated, with an ipod dock, huge roll top bath & walk in shower. Perfect place, perfect weekend.! X

Room Tip: Book a sea view its beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SIOBHAN R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

We stayed here in early July for a three night stay. We had lovely rooms with sea views on the first floor. It was surprisingly peaceful even though it was summer and the bar and garden at the back of the hotel is open to non-residents. Although there is a good choice of restaurants in Broadstairs we ate each evening in Ballards which is part of the hotel but not the dining room. The menu provided a good range, especially for vegetarians and there was also a vegan option. The hotel rang us a few days beforehand to say that the decking on the first floor was being renewed but had taken longer than expected and we would therefore not have access to the balcony. This was very disappointing but in the event the builders managed to work mainly when we weren’t in our rooms and the hotel also made a very generous adjustment to our bill. I found all the staff friendly and helpful. One evening my TV wasn’t working properly and this was dealt with on the same day.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rivermedway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

We stayed in the Royal Albion for 2 nights.

Fantastic location overlooking the bay, couldnt be better.

The hotel has a bar with food that is open to non-residents and I felt that this business was more important to them than their residents.

Breakfast finished at 10:00 - which I thought was a bit early and seeing that they serve all day breakfasts to non-residents they could have been a bit more flexible with this. We were not offered any more tea or toast and had to ask the waitress, a smile from her would have been nice!

The terrace was lovely to sit out on and there were some heaters for chillier evenings.

We went with another couple and the husband ordered a bagette which was advertised as coming with a side salad, when it arrived without the salad, he asked where it was, the waitress replied with "oh, do you want me to go back and get it?" - we couldnt work out whether she was joking or not!

The room we had was lovely. We had a balcony room, which we paid extra for, but unfortunately work was being carried out on the balcany, which the hotel had rung and warned us about beforehand, so they only charged us for a standard room which we appreciated. The shower room was clean and well decorated. We were very pleased with the rooms that we had.

Checking in was friendly and helpful, we collected our voucher for the car park before checking in. The car park was a 2 minute walk down the road.

I felt that the price was a bit expensive for Broadstairs - especially as the bar closes at midnight and there is no room service but as there is no competition in that area I suppose they can charge what they like.

I would stay there again as, like I said, there is no comparable hotel in the area, but if I could find a cheaper alternative I would try that.

Room Tip: Ask for a Balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarz5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadstairs
0.4 mi away
The Yarrow Hotel
The Yarrow Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadstairs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Botany Bay Hotel
The Botany Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kingsgate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
2.3 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#4 of 9 in Ramsgate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
0.1 mi away
Copperfields Guest House
Copperfields Guest House
#1 of 26 in Broadstairs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Albion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Albion Hotel

Property: Royal Albion Hotel
Address: 6-12 Albion Street, Broadstairs CT10 1AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Broadstairs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Broadstairs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Albion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape from the everyday and step into a beautiful Kentish seaside retreat. Standing proudly on the Broadstairs seafront since 1776 and a former residence of Charles Dickens, The Royal Albion offers much more than your average seaside experience. Steeped in history but featuring a 21st century approach to comfort, enjoyment and relaxation. With its elegant literary heritage, fresh sea air and awe-inspiring views, The Royal Albion creates an atmosphere that makes it the ideal place to unwind, rejuvenate and take time out. The Royal Albion has 21 elegant and spacious bedrooms to choose from. Whether you are looking out over the stunning Kentish coastline or the historic town of Broadstairs, the views are stunning. All the rooms are designed to ensure your break in this seaside destination is one to remember. When it comes to dining, you'll be spoilt for choice too. Enjoy freshly ground coffee and home-baked pastries throughout the day in Ballard's coffee lounge, and delicious dishes made using only the best locally sourced ingredients in the main bar featuring a large terrace and landscaped garden whilst enjoying commanding views across Viking Bay. For a more intimate dining experience, the a la carte restaurant with beautiful sea views, is the perfect place. With a menu based on the finest seasonal ingredients and freshly caught seafood, you can be assured of a dining experience to remember. The Royal Albion is in the ideal location from which explore the very best that the Kentish coast has to offer. Wander the beaches and clear the cobwebs just as Dickens did over 170 years ago, or simply take time out to appreciate your well-earned break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Albion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Albion Hotel Broadstairs, Kent
Albion Hotel Broadstairs
Hotel Broadstairs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing