We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice”
Review of The Star Inn - CLOSED

The Star Inn
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“nice”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

nice surroundings, friendly staff, sunday lunch yum yum, choice of meats + we was allowed to go back for more including the meat, thats very rare in any restaurant. good value two course meal highly recommend you book first.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank thechipman0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    4
    2
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Valenza, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“My thoughts I'm from Italy stopped for lunch and had lasagna”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

The people in the pub were great nothing was to much the lasagna was great and for me coming from Italy it was a lovely surprise Went back another day for the carvery it was excellent . I have noticed in my visits that the owner has and is working hard to make this pub/ restaurant work in all ways he is working hard in the kitchen and also doing the place up he deserves a pat on the back well done from sunny ITalia
Linda

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindavidean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“wonderful carvery meal”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

we have been her on numerous occasions for Sunday lunch, which is a carvery. Succulent meats, carved in front of you, and a terrific selection of vegetables which you help yourself to. Yummy.
Veg includes roast potatoes, carrots, peas, greens, creamed leeks - oh and lovely Yorkshire pudding. The cost includes a dessert, too but we have never managed to order one yet - too full up. It gets busy in here, so always advisable to book

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rozdav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic value for money”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I was walking past this pub when i noticed a sign outside for a main meal and a drink for 5 pounds so i thought why not when inside i was greeted by extremley friendley staff and a lovely atmosphere i ordered a curry and a pint of fosters the curry was a decent size and nicely spiced plusit come with a popadum and a naan bread which for 5 pound was fantastic if you are ever in the area i strongly recomend you try this hidden gem of a pub

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kevin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Mother's Day Letdown!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Had phoned and made reservation , but on the day after waiting for table for an hour they couldn't find it. Barely an apology received, offered to be squeezed onto a table but then told did not want to ruin our experience so would not be served at all. Offered complimentary drink which was then nearly taken away. Overall not at all satisfied as then had to find somewhere else to eat!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John C, Owner at The Star Inn, responded to this review, December 8, 2015
The Star Inn is now under new ownership as of May 2015 and i thought i would update TripAdvisor and respond to old reviews

We have a proper booking system now and would and aim to avoid these kind of unacceptable visits from our customers

We are working hard to rebuild the reputation of this great community pub and would like you to have 20% off your meal

December Star Offers
WEEKDAY
*Two mains for £15
*Desserts 2 for £6
*Midweek Roast £5
WEEKEND
*Kids eat for a £1 with paying adult
*Sunday Roast 2 for £12
*Desserts 2 for £6
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Star Inn also viewed

 
Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing