We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very enjoyable stay at an unusual place.”
Review of Bleak House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bleak House
Ranked #6 of 24 Broadstairs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“A very enjoyable stay at an unusual place.”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Our family very much enjoyed our visit to Bleak House & were made to feel very welcome by Nicola & her team.
The beds were comfortable & views across the jetty & Viking Bay stunning. Our breakfasts were tasty & nicely presented (apart from the dyed kipper)!
We hope to pay a return visit in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivien W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_H_M_12, Manager at Bleak House, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Bleak House.

It is always so nice and rewarding to all who work here that

Your stay was enjoyed so much.

Thank you

Very best regards

Nicola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    40
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
30
99
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We didn't arrive until 2pm and the Charles Dickens suite was not ready yet, so we were shown into the lounge. The most uncomfortable, bleak (yes) and depressing room, with plastic ivy over some modern mirrors, a huge flat screen t.v. and a collection of mis-matched tatty old furniture with no charm or warmth whatsoever. There was a little sign saying you could help yourself to sherry, but there was no sherry. Quick to retrieve us of our money before we even got to the room we found that the bathroom and loo were not ensuite but if this was to be how Charles Dickens lived then thats ok. Although if this was how Charles Dickens lived, with a bed that Queen Victoria had slept in, what on earth was a modern chrome floor standing uplighter doing plonked amongst the antique furniture. There was absolutely no class to this hotel anywhere, the furnishings were badly mis-matched with no flowers, thought for ambience at all.
The use of Charles Dickens library was a joke, a collection of wonky badly framed pictures hanging and furniture which you are not allowed to sit on. The decorations at this hotel are a travesty and while the staff 'tried' they were out of their depth and amateurish. For £250 per night this was not what you expect and we would rather have gone somewhere else. Even the entrance gate should have rung alarm bells, an old anchor which someone has wrapped in grubby fabric on one corner and an arrangement of plastic flowers. This place needs a total overhaul by The Hotel Inspector or whoever has given it 5 stars.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catlady534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_H_M_12, Manager at Bleak House, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Very disappointed in your comments it's seems that you came to
Bleak House without looking at our website. I could respond to every comment.!!!
Bleak House
Is not to your liking. You can not please everyone.
Regards
Nicola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We decided to get married at Bleak House as soon as we stepped through the door. The staff were lovely and Nicola was fantastic in every way. She helped us plan our special day from day one and we never worried about a thing. The House was beautiful and the rooms/facilities were superb. Our guests commented on the beautiful venue and all commented on the delicious food that was served. We would recommend Bleak House as a wedding venue or just a short break to anyone!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_H_M_12, Manager at Bleak House, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments. For your wedding day to be enjoyed by all
And that your day was so special. Bleak House holds special memories of your wonderful day.
A lovely couple and family.
Kindest regards
Nicola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed in the Copperfield Suite after our Wedding. The House has a lovely feel to it, and more impressive than in the pictures. Our Suite was fantastic - a large bedroom with full length windows over looking the bay, a huge bathroom with large sunken bath and a terrace to sit out on over looking the bay - and an additional dressing room with wardrobes and dressing table. We had fab weather, attentive staff, pristine room and good recommendation for a local restaurant. The House was filled with fresh flowers and smelt beautiful. Really enjoyed our stay at this quirky property, full of history and mis-matched furniture - stay here for quirky luxury and something a bit different :-)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_H_M_12, Manager at Bleak House, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for visiting Bleak House and writing such a nice review
And that your stay with us was enjoyed so much. We hope to have the opportunity to meet you again in the near future .

Kind regards

Nicola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Ok, positives first...
The staff are very courteous and helpful. The rooms are very clean. And apart from a luke-warm kipper that was quickly put right without a fuss, the breakfasts are very good indeed. Now for some home truths...
We booked two nights in the Charles Dickens 'suite' for a special anniversary break. It was discounted from £225 a night to £200 - still expensive but we were happy to take the gamble. Bad decision. This is not a suite at all in the conventional sense but a spacious double room with a private bathroom (no shower) and separate toilet that can only be reached by stepping OUT of the room to pass a public access staircase and crossing the landing. The rate is also supposed to include use of a study Charles Dickens used to work from - but how can anyone use it when the room is a museum piece that includes two chairs with notices asking you not to sit in them?!
After complaining, the manager, Nicola - to her credit - apologised and offered us the three-bedroom suite upstairs that DID have an ensuite. We were given the master bedroom (with the best views from the house) while the other two bedrooms were understandably locked. However, the shower in this ensuite was a hose-type attachment on a pole above the narrowest spa bath I have ever seen. Now, I could do with losing a few pounds but I am far from obese and there is no way I could have sat down in that bath without the fire brigade being called to extricate me from it. It is so cramped that even standing up to take a shower, you feel that if you inhale too quickly, the plastic bath curtain will be sucked into your face.
Again, to the manager's credit, she let us have this for £150 a night instead of the usual £280 or £300, depending when you stay. But in my view, even £150 is expensive for an average room with ensuite (albeit with a view) in what is essentially a bed and breakfast that is trying to charge a premium for the fact that Charles Dickens used to stay there for a few weeks once a year in the 19th Century.
My wife and I ended up paying £175 a night and for one of those nights we had to cross the landing to use the bathroom - and that price was discounted!
And one more thing; the establishment has a very impressive entrance hall - except that you can't use it to either enter or exit! Instead you come and go through a back door which takes you through the café and kitchen area.
I am clearly in the minority here because this establishment has overwhelmingly favourable reviews. Perhaps these people stayed in different rooms to the Charles Dickens 'suite' and three-bedroom apartment?
Don't get me wrong - if the rates were 50 or 60 per cent less, I would be saying this was a very good bed and breakfast. My point is that it's woefully overpriced.
To put things into perspective, a new hotel has opened in nearby Margate that is charging £180 a night for a brand new seafront double room with private balcony, climate control air conditioning and an ensuite bathroom with a SEPARATE bath and cubicle shower.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_H_M_12, Manager at Bleak House, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Very sorry that Bleak House did not live up to
Your expectations. Bleak House is very unique and very special, we do not offer a modern B&B, Bleak House is a historic house and must be kept as it was in Charles Dickens time spent at his
Favourite house.
Happy to hear that you enjoyed Margate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Just had a super relaxing 2 night stay, we were made to feel welcome from the start and nothing was to much bother especially from Geoff. We had a fabulous room with a sea view. The cleanliness was superb and the breakfast very nice with quality ingredient. The location was perfect only a two minute walk from the sea front and many restaurants and bars. We visited the museum which is in the basement and is very informative. Will be visiting again.
Thank you for helping to make our 20Th Wedding Anniversary special.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toni_lindley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_H_M_12, Manager at Bleak House, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your great comments on Bleak House and the team .
We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We attended a small wedding reception at Bleak House and had a fantastic time. Everything was superb, the venue, location, food and service. Nicola and her team were friendly, attentive and very welcoming. For those guests that stayed they found the accommodation to be great, comfy beds, wonderful views from the bedrooms and an excellent breakfast each morning.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Birch03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_H_M_12, Manager at Bleak House, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your great review, we are all very proud and especially happy to be part of such a special day and for Bleak House to to be enjoyed as a venue and accommodation provider.
Compliments to our chef who takes so much pride in her cooking and locally sourced.
Once again.

Nicola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadstairs
0.1 mi away
Royal Albion Hotel
Royal Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadstairs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Yarrow Hotel
The Yarrow Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadstairs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Botany Bay Hotel
The Botany Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kingsgate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
2.1 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
0.5 mi away
Broadstairs House
Broadstairs House
#5 of 24 in Broadstairs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bleak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bleak House

Property: Bleak House
Address: Bleak House Fort Road | Kent, Broadstairs CT10 1EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Broadstairs
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Broadstairs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bleak House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set above the English Channel overlooking Broadstairs and Viking Bay, Bleak House was the summer home of arguably Britain's greatest author, Charles Dickens, from where he wrote "David Copperfield". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Bleak House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bleak House Broadstairs, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing