We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty food, exclellent value!”

Albarino Tapas Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #6 of 135 Restaurants in Broadstairs
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tasty food, exclellent value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

We love this restaurant. It is small and offers a cosy intimate atmosphere. The service is always friendly and informative but most importantly the food is really tasty, cooked fresh to order.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steph T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    281
    70
    18
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Must have picked the wrong night!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

I was really looking forward to visitng this place. The four of us were sat on a very un-comfortable table. Service was O.K. The food was under average. I was surprised at the cost, I will always pay good money for good food that satisfies me. This did not. You have to order quite a few dishes to feed four. By the way, went here on a Friday night a few weeks ago and it was shut, no sign in the restaurant window to say they were closed??

  • Visited November 2012
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven D, Owner at Albarino Tapas Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry that you did not enjoy your visit at albarino tapas.
We have taken out the banquette seating in an effort to give people a bit more space and make things a little more comfortable for diners. Of course, being a tapas bar we will never have the space of larger fine dining restaurants.
We do not believe that you have to order a lot of food which would make your visit an expensive one. Being a tapas bar there are no guidelines on what you have to order, you can order as little or as much as you like. Our menu prices range from as little as £3.50 to the most expensive tapas being £7.50. Using the quality ingredients that we do, we feel that this is real value for money. Unlike many restaurants there is no pressure from us for customers to spend a minimum amount, after all, we are just a tapas bar!
As you give no details on what you felt made your food under average, I can only apologize and hope that in the future you give people the opportunity to correct any issues with your food at the time.
We did close for two weeks in November for vacation, we put the closing dates on our website as well as a message on our answer phone. We did not put a sign in the window advertising our closure just as I did not place one in my home window. The police advised us that doing so would be a security risk.
Many thanks for your comments.
Steven dray.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Really tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Unusual tapas selection.18£ set menu v hood value,,chef willing to substitute some dishes.definitely try the chickpea chips,delicious

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank moosuddeea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Tapas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Visited with a group of friends on a Saturday night. Staff were friendly and attentive. Food was good quality with good selection, promptly served, tapas style. Kitchen in full view and the chef on the grill. Would return.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ty68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent service and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

This place is fairly new I believe but it is a real find. The service was very friendly and efficient and the food tasty and well cooked. A very pleasant evening and we'll certainly recommend.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank loversofgrandturk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Albarino Tapas Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
 
Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
 

Been to Albarino Tapas Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing