We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Safe and sunny”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Viking Bay

Viking Bay
Ranked #1 of 27 things to do in Broadstairs
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Swanley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Safe and sunny”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Sandy beach. Shops and facilities nearby. Sea appeared relatively unpolluted.

you have to walk across a lot of seaweed

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hadley94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    358
    156
    26
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walton-on-Thames
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A beautiful, old English style beach holiday.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Viking bay is the main, central beach at Broadstairs. It can get busy, but it's always had space for us to spread ourselves out, dig big holes and build sandcastles... Even during Folk Week, when the town is rammed. Well looked after by lifeguards, and with loos and even a few changing cubicles it is also well served by refreshments and a beach bar. At the far end of he beach is a lift down from the promenade, and trampolines, swinging boats and a bouncy castle. There's also a man made tidal paddling pool, which is great for rock pooling when the tide is out. If Viking Bay is too lively for you, the quieter Stone Bay is a short walk.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AJCameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
242 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Beautiful bay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Loved sitting above the bay watching the world go by.
Well the weather was fab so the beach was fairly busy with families of all ages enjoying the day. The tide was out when we arrived so the sea pool was exposed and there was lots of activity around the rock pools.
As we had a sea view room we watched he beach being cleaned first thing in the morning ready for another glorious day be side the sea.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank boo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Just as good as in 1960's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

How it still retained the charm from 1960's where we holidayed as a family but would still be perfect for a family to enjoy in 21st Century.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank heather45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely beach. Great location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

We visited viking bay with our 3 young daughters. Lovely sand. A bit seaweedy but they didnt mind. A great safe beach i would recommend to any family.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank clairfclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Viking Bay also viewed

Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
 
Margate, Isle of Thanet
Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
 

Been to Viking Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing