We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Hidden Gem

I almost don't don't want to share anything about this beautiful little spot on the east coast of... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Julie C
A many-faceted jewel of the South Coast.

The South Coast of England has it all - chalky white cliffs, sandy beaches, history, great eating... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Globetrotter349
,
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Read all 757 reviews
  
Reviews (757)
Filter reviews
725 results
Traveler rating
474
201
35
5
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
474
201
35
5
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely beach ice cream sandy beach seaside resort cafes and restaurants lovely soft sand typical english seaside paddling pool summer months ideal for families life guards small harbour traditional beach deck chairs family beach bouncy castle sunny day
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 725 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago

I almost don't don't want to share anything about this beautiful little spot on the east coast of England. We spent a week in Broadstairs this past summer. Although the town is quiet, there are tons of really good restaurants, lots of cute shops and galleries and wonderful beaches. We walked the beaches to Margate one day and to Ramsgate another day. It's about an hour and a half drive into London or you can take the train from Broadstairs to almost anywhere in England. Shhh...please keep this to yourself...I would hate for this area to become too popular!

Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

The South Coast of England has it all - chalky white cliffs, sandy beaches, history, great eating places with a warm welcome, fun things to do, occasional festivals... and Broadstairs has all of these desirable attributes and more. Viking Bay is the centrepiece of Broadstairs, which has 7 sandy bays each with a different personality. Watched over by the castellated Bleak House (where Charles Dickens brought his family for long summer breaks), the sandy bay has lots of attractions for children in the summer yet comes into its own out of season. From the harbour car-park, walk up Harbour Street and just past the quaint Palace Cinema turn left to walk the clifftop between town and sea. You could stop for coffee and a nibble at Chiappini's Italian Ice-cream Parlour, although further along (past the rear entrance to several tempting restaurants) you will spot Morellis Ice Cream Parlour - still decorated in its original art deco style and a frequent winner in several classes, for its ambience and exceptional ice cream treats (This was the first of what is now a global ice-cream brand). The well-tended Victoria Gardens are named after the Queen who when a young girl spent some time living at Pierremont House, near the top of Broadstairs High Street. If you're lucky on a sunny Sunday, there will be an art display along the clifftop railings, or some free entertainment at the bandstand overlooking the bay. Viking Bay is a sheer joy and I never tire of spending happy hours soaking up the welcoming vibe.

1  Thank Globetrotter349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

The bay is the centre-piece of this delightful town. Spacious sandy beach, bordered by a quaint pier at one end and the cliffs at the other. One criticism, the car parking charges everywhere are astronomical. Ridiculous policy by the council. We would visit more often but they are preventative.

Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely beach,perfect location ,we have been visiting viking bay for seven years now,absolutely love coming to this beAch its very clean,we love the golden sand surrounding restaurants,pubs,cafes,shops ect.

1  Thank emloled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2018

It was excellent. Beach was great, playing area for kids was great, people where great. Nothing really to fault it. we had an amazing time.

1  Thank 624ozcant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

Always a great day when your at Viking bay. Kids go off and explore the prom and the local 'fun places'. Which gave me time to sit chill and relax with a coffee. I love Broadstairs even though i live here a day at the beach is always like a staycation.

Thank Kyla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2018

Girlfriend and I have been fortunate to stay in a hotel overlooking the beach both in peak and off season. It is the definition of a perfect beach.
It is very clean, has great attractions (peak season), paddling and swimming facilities, easy access to the town and very good sand. On the latter, I’ve been told by an expert that you need to go to the water’s edge to get the best damp stuff for castle building!
Fortunately/unfortunately dogs are banned during the summer months. I am not going to enter that debate!

Thank Pickwick53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2018

Lots of little shops for ice cream and gifts. A lovely sandy bay for families with a square cut off section of water for children.

Thank Dawn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2018

Spent a few hours on the beach pottering about in the sunshine. Lots of seaweed, the council had been scooping it up and taking it away in lorry loads the days before. I spent hours on the beach as a child and there are still lots of rock pools with crabs and shrimp-like creatures so still fun for youngsters (and adult wildlife photographers!).

Thank jab744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2018 via mobile

We stumbled upon this bay, as we were visiting beaches across Thanet. Plenty facilities at the bay, and plenty of lovely restaurants nearby. Nice sandy beach, and a lift (10am to 6pm) for those who require extra mobility. Right next to the bay, a well cared garden with an excellent view of the beach and shops. A great place to visit for all ages . Charles Dickens house is also a stone's throw away, facing the bay.

Thank 581iliasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews