We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting”
Review of Bleak House Museum

Bleak House Museum
Ranked #11 of 28 things to do in Broadstairs
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The summer home of Charles Dickens, where he wrote his famous novel "David Copperfield".
Cranleigh
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Based in the cellars of Bleak House small and interesting facts about smugglers and Charles Dickens .

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrsp050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_H_M_12, Public Relations Manager at Bleak House Museum, responded to this review, November 3, 2015
Thank you for your comment of your tour at Bleak House.
Kind Regards
Nicola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    24
    6
    11
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Waste of money”
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

What a waste of time and money. Very little to see and the smugglers cave area downstairs smelled musty and had the most disgusting toilets I have seen in long time - water (at least I hope it was water) all over the floor and sodden wet toilet roll left on the floor too. This was first thing in the morning so they obviously don't clean it before they open. The puppets in the smugglers area are dated and don't seem to be looked after particularly well. It seems to all have just been left to rot - where is the entrance money going? Certainly not maintenance. Not recommended.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank mspzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_H_M_12, Public Relations Manager at Bleak House Museum, responded to this review, November 3, 2015
Thank you for your comment of your tour at Bleak House. We are sorry to hear it was not to your expectations. The toilet is rarely used by guests as the main toilets are by reception.
Kind Regards
Nicola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“cream tea and a tour”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We had a lovely experience. The cream tea was tasty and the little smuggler's tunnel exhibition was informative.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank mrs_oreilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_H_M_12, Public Relations Manager at Bleak House Museum, responded to this review, November 3, 2015
Thank you for your lovely review and your kind words of your time here at Bleak House.
Kind Regards
Nicola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Absolutely lovely”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We decided to stop and look at Bleak House and what a delight it was. The gentleman gave us a brief history and we saw the cellars where all the smuggling took place. We had a peek into Charles Dickens study and this was amazing so lovely and delight well worth the money

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_H_M_12, Public Relations Manager at Bleak House Museum, responded to this review, November 3, 2015
Thank you for your lovely comment of your tour at Bleak House!
Kind Regards
Nicola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksboro, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely delightful!”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We had lunch and were treated like absolute famliy. The house is beautiful and the owners were so welcoming and friendly. The admission price was very reasonable. I would go back and take friends to see this. So very glad we decided to stop in.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank rachelbyrge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_H_M_12, Public Relations Manager at Bleak House Museum, responded to this review, November 3, 2015
Thank you very much for your lovely review of your afternoon at Bleak House. We hope you decide to visit us again or maybe even stay in one our beautiful rooms.
Kind Regards
Nicola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bleak House Museum also viewed

Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
 
Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
 

Been to Bleak House Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing