We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good position”
Review of Bleak House Museum

Bleak House Museum
Ranked #13 of 28 things to do in Broadstairs
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The summer home of Charles Dickens, where he wrote his famous novel "David Copperfield".
Reviewed September 20, 2012

It was such a surprise to be able to enter Bleak House as it used to be closed 30 years ago! One first steps into a tiny cafe. There was no friendly greeting. There were a few miserable pastries on view in a cabinet. When I saw the scones I declined them. However, we noticed later that visitors were having afternoon tea in the adjoining dining room which looked ok through the open door. However, when we eventually asked if we could see any rooms, we were told that if we paid for "the tour" we could start in the cellar. This was extremely well done and I enjoyed the dark atmosphere, the various things in the museum, the connections with smuggling and the well labelled and presented exhibits. After that, we were shown up to two upper rooms with connections to Dickens. I would say it's definitely worth going but don't bother about tea or coffee.

2  Thank Clonark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_H_M_12, Public Relations Manager at Bleak House Museum, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2015

I am sorry to hear you did not get to enjoy our afternoon tea or was not able to be shown the rooms unless you pay, we have taken your comment into consideration and hopefully will be some changes made.
Kind Regards
Nicola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 78 of 81 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2012

Recently visited Bleak House and took the tour of the smugglers caves and then into the house. Very informative in the caves although a little claustrophobic if you don't like low ceilings and dark places. The narrative which accompanied the exhibits was very well written and bought it to life. Continuing into Bleak House we visited Dickens study and finished the visit off with a glass of champagne and afternoon tea in Dickens dining room. Parking within 100 yards and wonderful views across the sea made it a very special afternoon. A tucked away attraction which should be supported.

2  Thank SandyRoger_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_H_M_12, Public Relations Manager at Bleak House Museum, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2015

Thank you for your kind words of your afternoon here with us at Bleak House. We are pleased to hear the afternoon was more than welcoming for you.
Kind Regards
Nicola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We had booked a tour and afternoon tea... The tour consisted of being shown the stairs to the cellar with some pretty grim displays (someone certainly had fun modelling the faces of the "people"). Then back to be shown the stairs to 2 upstairs rooms, I don't think anyone would be able to imagine Dickens writing whilst balanced on a wooden box without room to move his chair. The second upstairs room was essentially a sales pitch as the TV in the corner and the tea trolley showed.
Afternoon tea with a glass of bubbly.... Well the bubbly was horrid, the sandwiches thick with cheap margarine with egg mayo and cucumber & cream cheese not exactly inspiring. Scones (1 each)overcooked, jam not enough and cream probably from a spray tin. Sorry but not worth it.

2  Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_H_M_12, Public Relations Manager at Bleak House Museum, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2015

Thank you for you comment of your afternoon at Bleak House. We are sorry to hear the afternoon was not that great for you, but I can insure you we use the best margarine and other facilities for our customers attending afternoon tea.
Kind Regards
Nicola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We were welcomed and informed of how the tour would take place.
All was very interesting, especially regarding the smuggling at the time. Avoiding taxes is nothing new then!
With the view from his window I'm amazed that Charles Dickens could concentrate on his writing and not be looking out of the window all day. This comparatively new venture should do well,
but a better way from the basement to the upper floors should be found. I was also disappointed to find that Charles Dickens' room was now being used as a B and B as it had a teasmade in it along with other modern items.

1  Thank Pam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_H_M_12, Public Relations Manager at Bleak House Museum, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2015

Thank you for comment of your tour at Bleak house. We always take our viewers comments into consideration and we are very sorry you feel that way about the house now being a b n b.
Kind Regards
Nicola.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Currently privately owned, we didn't know this, they were still using the original adverts out the front for entrance to the house.

Not impressed, we expected what we got 7 years ago - to see the basement, the smugglers access and the whole house - not what we got at all.

Not entirely happy about paying that much and feeling like you are snooping around somebody's home, although we were made to feel welcome it just felt strange

A lovely home, that will no doubt be loved, but its not a public 'visitors' / 'touris' house anymore

3  Thank writefresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_H_M_12, Public Relations Manager at Bleak House Museum, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2015

Thank you for you comment of your tour at Bleak House. We are very sorry to hear you felt uncomfortable as we try and make our customers feel very welcome.
Kind Regards
Nicola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bleak House Museum also viewed

Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
 
Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
 

Been to Bleak House Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing