We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant!”

Review of Hawthorns 1

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
4 reviews
Hawthorns 1 - Rear patio seating area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
6 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mojomack1
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Clean and tidy but basic.”
Reviewed August 7, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Spent two weeks in lovely Broadstairs with a family party of four adults and three teenagers. Hawthorns 1 was lovely and clean, had generous bedroom space, a sunny garden and parking for two cars. It was convenient for Westwood Cross shopping centre and major supermarkets, a cinema and chain restaurants (Harvester, Happy Horse, McDonald's, KFC etc).
However the accommodation is basic. All linens were changed on a weekly basis, but there were no spare sets (for emergencies), no extra pillows or blankets if it were chilly. The lounge/diner is a little small for the amount of people the house can accommodate. The kitchen was clean and functional but only had the very basics. There was a tub with sachets of coffee, teabags and UHT milk, but apart from that the cupboards are completely bare, so be prepared to bring everything you need with you (even down salt and pepper, a pair of scissors and a corkscrew!!)
The house is also a good, energetic 30 minute walk along busy roads from the town itself and the nearest beach, but there is a bus stop just around the corner from the house with a regular day time service into town and beyond.
First class customer service from the owners though, who responded to any enquiries very quickly and helpfully.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 10, 2016
Thank you for your review and we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay.
We offer complimentary tea and coffee so that at least guests can have a drink when they arrive. UHT milk is a must because it could be there a few days at a time.
All our properties have salt & pepper pots (filled), scissors and cork screw along with numerous utensils that you need. I have asked our service team to look in this property because they obviously need replacing which we dont always know until its reported. if we had known earlier we would have replaced them while you were there as you know we try to accommodate everyone as quickly as possible.

Thank you once again and we hope to see you again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim C
Greater London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed July 19, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Thoroughly enjoyed our family stay at the Hawthorns. this is our second year (last year we were at Maples), and we intend to make this an annual event.
The house was just what we wanted, Two double beds and four singles. The house has everything you need, a new and modern kitchen, lovely bathroom and separate shower room/ washing machine room, good TV and they even provide games for when its a little rainy.
its a bit of a walk from the beach but we quite enjoyed that side of things, however if you would prefer, you can drive and park for free on the Eastern Esplanade (above Stone Gap). I would book early if you are eating out, we find it really hard to find anywhere to eat after 8 pm, but I guess this is seasonal

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 14, 2015
Lovely, thank you. See you next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewart72...
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A very clean well situated property”
Reviewed July 16, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
5
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from a most enjoyable stay at this property, it was absolutely spotlessly clean, well situated and convenient to all amenities, shops, restaurants, and in a quiet location. We also found Beechesholidaylets very friendly and a good company to deal with.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very clean Property
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing