We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely quaint museum though on the small side.”

Dickens House Musuem
Ranked #1 of 22 Shopping in Broadstairs
Certificate of Excellence
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely quaint museum though on the small side.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

I took the children round and it was nice as the man on the till told us about the history of broadstairs. It was small but hardly anybody there so we really took our time. My daughter was very happy eith her quill pen also.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PoppyABC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    35
    8
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beguiling”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Enthusiastic, knowledgeable guides!
Some interesting Dickens and other Victorian memorabilia, for the most part well presented.
Doesn't warrant a massive detour, but well worth a visit if you're in the area.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank BobJamesP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
227 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“A must for Dickens fans.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

If you are a fan of Charles Dickens, and I know that a lot of people are, visiting Broadstairs really is a must. The Dickens House, and nearby Bleak House, are like time capsules to take you back to the time when Dickens lived here. Very interesting, and well worth a visit.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank RichardG-L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex,England
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Mean”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

£3.50 is not a lot of money these days but the content was poor and although the actual building and its history are interesting we were disapointed

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BobSussexEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good knowledge”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

The guides had excellent knowledge and good communication pitched at the right level. Despite Dickens not actually sleeping here he was a visitor and this was all explained. Small but well designed unless you cant climb stairs

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dickens House Musuem also viewed

Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
 
Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
 

Been to Dickens House Musuem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing