We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcoming & relaxing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Broadstairs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cloonlara Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 24 Broadstairs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Welcoming & relaxing”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in the Burgundy room in this lovely, welcoming B&B. It's beautifully furnished with great attention to detail. The breakfasts are really good with plenty of choice. Bernadette & Brian were on hand to give us local information and advice on where to go in the area. Once we'd parked the car on the drive we were able to walk everywhere as it's so conveniently positioned.
Ate in the local hotel, with sea views, on the first night, then went to the Italian next door (same views) on the second night. Had lovely meals in both places. All in all a very enjoyable break.

Room Tip: Burgundy room was very spacious and beautifully furnished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbiewEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cloonlara, Owner at Cloonlara Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you both for the lovely review, very much appreciated. So glad you enjoyed your visit to Broadstairs as it's such a lovely place to relax. It was great having you stay with us and hopefully we will see you again. Maybe when you get a chance to retire!

Regards
Bernadette & Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
87
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We have just enjoyed a perfect short break at Cloonlara, there were six of us (3 couples) in our family, so we occupied all three rooms. A warm welcome from Bernadette and Brian, who were very accomodating as we all arrived at different times. The rooms are beautifully decorated and fully equiped with comfortable beds, flatscreen TVs, tea and coffee making facilities and excellent en suite bathrooms. Breakfast is a treat, unhurried and relaxed in the immaculate dining room, and the fact that five of us were vegetarian, was no problem at all. Cloonlara is well placed for the seafront , shops and eating places, we also appreciated the two dedicated parking spaces as parking can be a little difficult in the town. Thank you, Bernadette and Brian, for a lovely short break.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siggydave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cloonlara, Owner at Cloonlara Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Just to say Thank You for the lovely review. It was great having all of you for breakfast. Hope to see you all again next year.

Kind Regards
Bernadette & Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Me and my 12 year old son arrived earlier then I had stated, but Bernadette was welcoming. The Louisa room was imaculate. We where shown the dinning room, which was also spotless. Breakfast was relaxing and lovely, Brian cooked a mean sausage.Wish we had more than a night there, I am hoping to return again this year. I would highly recommend staying here

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We received a very warm welcome and stayed in the very cosy and clean Victorian TULIP ROOM with a very comfortable bed and a spotless bathroom (incl. a powerful shower). The B&B is located very near to the town centre/sea front but still provides a quiet stay. During our one-night stay we enjoyed some nice chats with Bernadette and Brian, our very friendly hosts, and got some really helpful tipps (we will never forget the ale house you recommended to us). The breakfast was really delicious with a great variety of food. It is a pity we only stayed for one night, but we now know where to stop over next time we are around in Kent. Thank you very much for your great hospitality and for giving us a home-from-home feeling, Bernadette and Brian!
Michaela & Volker

Room Tip: All rooms are outstandingly clean and cosy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anglist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cloonlara, Owner at Cloonlara Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Hello to you both,

Thank you for the lovely review,very much appreciated. It was lovely to meet you and so glad you enjoyed everything that Broadstairs has to offer. I hope we will see you again (now that you can fly into Manston airport) and have a quiet and peaceful time in Broadstairs.

Kind Regards
Bernadette & Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thame, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We spent 3 nights in Cloon Lara and would unhesitatingly recommend it as a great place to stay. Bernadette welcomed us very warmly and gave us plenty of helpful information about the town. We stayed in Lousia room which was very tastefully decorated , spotlessly clean and had a view of the sea. The bed was beautifully comfortable with crisp white cotton sheets. The breakfast was excellent with a wide choice. Cloon Lara is situated within a few minutes walk of the sea front and an easy walk to pubs and restaurants.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HankEaling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cloonlara, Owner at Cloonlara Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Hi,

Thank you so much for your lovely review, it's very much appreciated by us. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and had a good time in the Thanet area.

Hopefully we will see you again in Broadstairs.

Kind Regards
Bernadette & Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
164 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We had a lovely, relaxing weekend staying in Cloonlara in Broadstairs. The B&B is beautifully decorated and is spotlessly clean and is in a great location.
We stayed in the Burgundy Room and the room is bright and airy. The hosts are so welcoming and friendly. The breakfast was delicious with lots of choice.
A really lovely stay - highly recommended.

Room Tip: Burgundy Room is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank visitor049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucks
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We have just returned from a brilliant weekend in Broadstairs. The Cloonlara is a wonderful place to stay, close to the sea, shops and restaurants. Bernadette and Brian are such friendly hosts who obviously believe in going that extra mile to ensure that guests' needs are accommodated and this was very much appreciated. Guests are able to use the pretty garden and there is a fridge for chilling drinks, a lovely touch and particularly handy during the sunny spell we were lucky enough to enjoy during our stay.

We stayed in the Louisa Room which is a lovely bright room facing the garden. It is also very quiet and we really slept well, helped by the fact that the bed and linens are of such a good quality. Both the bedroom and the ensuite are tastefully decorated and there was plenty of hot water and lovely fluffy white towels. Everything looks so freshly decorated and is spotlessly clean.

Breakfast was one of the best we have had. OH's full English was delicious as was my veggie option, the scrambled egg is really tasty and every item is perfectly cooked. Breakfast is served in a dining room with a view of the garden. Each table is well spaced out from other guests and, like the bedrooms, it is fresh, bright and spotlessly clean. Each table is laid with good quality cutlery and white table cloths and the teapots don't drip (a pet hate of mine!). It was nice to be able to eat at a more leisurely pace and not feel that we were being rushed out. We found the friendly and professional atmosphere at Cloonlara makes for a very relaxing break and it was lovely being able to take our tea outside and enjoy the early morning sunshine. We will definitely be staying here again and recommending to others.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank worn_0ut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadstairs
0.2 mi away
The Yarrow Hotel
The Yarrow Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadstairs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Albion Hotel
Royal Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadstairs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
2.1 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#4 of 10 in Ramsgate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Copperfields Guest House
Copperfields Guest House
#1 of 24 in Broadstairs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Broadstairs House
Broadstairs House
#5 of 24 in Broadstairs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.1 mi away
South Lodge Guest House
South Lodge Guest House
#9 of 24 in Broadstairs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cloonlara Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cloonlara Bed & Breakfast

Property: Cloonlara Bed & Breakfast
Address: 5 Ramsgate Road, Broadstairs CT10 1QQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Broadstairs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Broadstairs
Hotel Class:4 star — Cloonlara Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cloonlara Bed & Breakfast is a large Victorian house set back from the sea front and within five minutes walk to the beach as well as a short walk to a variety of shops, bars and restaurants. Our B & B is only a few miles from excellent golf courses and many sites of historic interest such as the Clinque Ports of Sandwich, Ramsgate and Canterbury. The Louisa room has a super king size bed and can also be converted into two single beds. The Lousia room also has a colour, flat-screen television with freeview, radio, tea & coffee making facilities, hairdryer and razor points as standard. Ironing facilities are available on request. Wireless Internet access is available. We provide a traditional Full English or Continental Breakfast. Special diets catered for by prior arrangements. Breakfast is served in our Dining/Lounge which can be used by our guests at anytime during the day. We provide free off-road parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cloonlara Bed & Breakfast Broadstairs, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing