We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A restaurant that is living on its reputation and resting on its laurels”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Peens Gastro Bar

Peens Gastro Bar
Ranked #71 of 135 Restaurants in Broadstairs
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, International, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A restaurant that is living on its reputation and resting on its laurels”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

We had heard a lot about Peens and so we booked a table in order to avoid missing out on 'the jewel in Thanet's crown.' The food was fairly good, although the sea bass with noodles was served with literally 10 noodles! The staff were extremely laid back and appeared to be having a better time than the customers; with the exception of the blond waitress they were not proactive and did not really attend to our needs. The worst part of the evening was when they announced that their credit card system was not working due to a computer fault; apparently they did not have a back up manual machine. Their solution to the problem was to send us to the cash machine to withdraw cash to cover the bill! There was an apology but no offer of a complementary coffee or any concession whatsoever. We will not be returning to this complacent restaurant; there are far better places in Broadstairs such as the excellent Posillipo or Wyatts

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 41Hank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    42
    20
    11
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
227 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Excellent food, but VERY crowded.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

My wife and I went there one Saturday evening. We could barely get in through the door. It was that crowded. When we finally managed to get a table, we were seated right next to another couple, who were talking very loudly about a number of subjects that were of interest to them. When the food arrived, it was excellent. One of my guilty pleasures is hamburgers, and Peen's do one of the best. Take my advice - fight your way in, sit down if possible, and enjoy the experience.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank RichardG-L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Food good, acoustics bad.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

As it's a restaurant and bar, it can be a little loud. shame as food deserved a better ambience! Staff attentive though.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank slackym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Great place to visit for relaxed drink and light food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Visited after arriving back to Broadstairs after a cold snowy visit to London. As ever the reception was warm and friendly. We enjoyed a bottle of the house white wine, which was an excellent Chilean Sauvignon Blanc, and a selection of snack dishes. The dishes were simple and excellent.
Have been many times before and will certainly be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clive H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor service, worst Welsh Rare it ever and rude owner”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Terrible night out attempted at this failing wine bar.
On arrival to a reserved table it wasn't possible to pull chairs out sufficiently to sit down. On pointing this out to staff, they were at first bemused and then moved 2 other kind diners so we could have their table. On sitting at this new table, one of the cheap chairs collapsed.
So we ordered, and only 3 out of 4 starters arrived. On pointing this out to the waitress (a kind young lady with a scared look in her eyes) she went away, then came back and acknowledged the 4th starter had not been prepared. She asked if we still wanted it and we said yes. 5 mins later, she was back saying the mains were ready (still no 4th starter) so did we still want the starter. It was the latest of a series of blunders, we said no, just bring the mains. 2 mins pass and she returns with the 4th starter. We all look at here bemused. She now denies the mains are ready. The starter ordered was Welsh Rarebit but what was served was a slice of brown bread with some sort of cheese flavoured peanut butter on top, grilled and burnt round the edges. I wish I'd taken a picture. We briefly exchanged our different views of reality, she clearly didn't want to go back to the kitchen and had been told to bring out the starter so we could be charged for it while our mains sat waiting. As you can imagine, we were pretty angry by now, and on tasting the Rarebit (rank) we decided to give up and leave. Before walking, we offered to settle for our drinks to the waitress. She looked more scared than ever, so we offered to talk to her boss - thinking she would refer us to another, clearly senior member of waiting staff who had spent much if the last 30 mins talking with punters at the bar. We all had assume she must be the owner, as little work was being done.
But no, this person ignored us, so we left.
5 mins later as we walked down the Hugh street in search of somewhere to save our evening, a man in chef's smock hails us as he runs towards us - demanding we pay out bill. We try to explain why that is unreasonable and he says 'yeah, really sorry but we're doing our best'. He refuses to listen to our feedback, is clearly losing it and threatens to call the police, so we offer to pay for our drinks. He accepts and goes back to his kitchen, where God knows what is happening in his absence.
Truly awful, shocking, rude and very low quality. AVOID - it'll be out of business before Easter...

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew P, Owner at Peens Gastro Bar, responded to this review, November 17, 2015
How could we forget you! you came in and straight away started shouting that we had two many tables in the restaurant. I admit we made a mistake with your starters and one was missed but then you got up barked at the girl behind the bar that you was leaving and if we wanted our money you would be in the pub down the road. So you thought it was ok to walk out without paying a £70 bar tab as we missed a starter? And when i (yes the chef who is the owner!) chased you down the street to pay your tab you did so because you knew that your had stolen and was caught. Failing wine bar? we had been there 8 years by that point and still rammed all the time. dont ever walk in again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peens Gastro Bar also viewed

Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
 
Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
 

Been to Peens Gastro Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing