We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service, worst Welsh Rare it ever and rude owner”
Review of Peens Gastro Bar

Peens Gastro Bar
Ranked #52 of 139 Restaurants in Broadstairs
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Peens Bar & Restaurant boasts lovely food, a variety of drinks and incredible seaside views
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Terrible night out attempted at this failing wine bar.
On arrival to a reserved table it wasn't possible to pull chairs out sufficiently to sit down. On pointing this out to staff, they were at first bemused and then moved 2 other kind diners so we could have their table. On sitting at this new table, one of the cheap chairs collapsed.
So we ordered, and only 3 out of 4 starters arrived. On pointing this out to the waitress (a kind young lady with a scared look in her eyes) she went away, then came back and acknowledged the 4th starter had not been prepared. She asked if we still wanted it and we said yes. 5 mins later, she was back saying the mains were ready (still no 4th starter) so did we still want the starter. It was the latest of a series of blunders, we said no, just bring the mains. 2 mins pass and she returns with the 4th starter. We all look at here bemused. She now denies the mains are ready. The starter ordered was Welsh Rarebit but what was served was a slice of brown bread with some sort of cheese flavoured peanut butter on top, grilled and burnt round the edges. I wish I'd taken a picture. We briefly exchanged our different views of reality, she clearly didn't want to go back to the kitchen and had been told to bring out the starter so we could be charged for it while our mains sat waiting. As you can imagine, we were pretty angry by now, and on tasting the Rarebit (rank) we decided to give up and leave. Before walking, we offered to settle for our drinks to the waitress. She looked more scared than ever, so we offered to talk to her boss - thinking she would refer us to another, clearly senior member of waiting staff who had spent much if the last 30 mins talking with punters at the bar. We all had assume she must be the owner, as little work was being done.
But no, this person ignored us, so we left.
5 mins later as we walked down the Hugh street in search of somewhere to save our evening, a man in chef's smock hails us as he runs towards us - demanding we pay out bill. We try to explain why that is unreasonable and he says 'yeah, really sorry but we're doing our best'. He refuses to listen to our feedback, is clearly losing it and threatens to call the police, so we offer to pay for our drinks. He accepts and goes back to his kitchen, where God knows what is happening in his absence.
Truly awful, shocking, rude and very low quality. AVOID - it'll be out of business before Easter...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew P, Owner at Peens Gastro Bar, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2015

How could we forget you! you came in and straight away started shouting that we had two many tables in the restaurant. I admit we made a mistake with your starters and one was missed but then you got up barked at the girl behind the bar that you was leaving and if we wanted our money you would be in the pub down the road. So you thought it was ok to walk out without paying a £70 bar tab as we missed a starter? And when i (yes the chef who is the owner!) chased you down the street to pay your tab you did so because you knew that your had stolen and was caught. Failing wine bar? we had been there 8 years by that point and still rammed all the time. dont ever walk in again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
There are newer reviews for Peens Gastro Bar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 111 of 152 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2013

I love the atmosphere of this place and it is often my first choice to meet up with friends for a good catch up, some nice wines and if we are hungry you can either dine out or just have some tasty snack dishes - Something for everyone but I have to say I save it up for a good natter with friends.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bloomelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Good buzz about the place at busy times - excellent breakfasts - always gorgeous watiresses!!
A great place for a relaxed breakfast - lots of locally sourced produce and coffe with the Times newspaper just how much more civilised can you get!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank simon y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

mainly middle aged older couples seem to frequent on a regular basis, the bar itself is quite modern and cosmopolitan but each time we went in the atmosphere was a bit boring and lack lustre

2  Thank stella59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very comfortable and relaxing atmosphere. Wine is expensive for
a large glass but worth it. Good Food served also

Thank Orford54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peens Gastro Bar also viewed

Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
 
Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
 

Been to Peens Gastro Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing