We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok guesthouse”
Review of Merriland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Merriland
Ranked #11 of 24 Broadstairs B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Ok guesthouse”
Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

Stays at the guesthouse on the weekend I the Whitstable oyster festival. We booked the family room at the top of the house as it was one of the last rooms in Broadstairs available. The room had sloping ceilings which my 6'2 partner had a bit of difficulty with. The bathroom was really extremely tiny (unpleasantly cupboard like with no natural light). The bed for such a large room was a standard double, which my partners feet hung off. There was a tiny plug in fridge but it wasn't plugged in. (would have been nice to have proper milk in there). the breakfast was ok, although as the last to have it, I heard the ping of the microwave presumably heating up an already cooked breakfast while the eggs were being done. It only took a few minutes after ordering for the breakfast to come out. The beach was an easy 7 min walk away. Overall though, I strongly feel £90 should have bought more and seeing that other guests paid £35 for the same room is quite gutting.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SassyMarie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    8
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
23
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

I cannot praise this little home from home highly enough.
I booked a room here as part of a surprise, for my husbands 50th b'day. We were upgraded to one of the apartments, of which there are two, and have decided to book this room again, later in the year, to bring the children and grandchild.

Firstly I don't write long reviews, usually but feel this gem deserves exposure. And secondly none of this is based on the fact we got an upgrade. I would still love this place.

If you book an apartment they still come in and clean once a day. The attention to detail with their service and facilities is what makes this place faultless. Yes you can have their scrumtious breakfast every morning, or if in an apartment you can make your own in their impressive fitted kitchen/diner. Worried about the dog or baby? Dont! Dogs are welcome and they keep spare travel cots, blow up beds, ironing boards...
location, location, location, a moments walk from the sea, pubs, restaurants. I could go on. I know this has been a long review, but to have made it shorter would have been a disservice.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pratts-bananas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 18, 2012

I visit the Merriland twice a year, Annette is the most warm and welcoming host, nothing is too much trouble. All rooms that I have stayed in are spacious, extremely clean and comfortable. My family and I stayed in the superb apartment last year, two ensuite bedrooms, a fantastic kitchen and large living room with flat screen tv and dvd. We have booked the apartment again for this July (2012) and are looking forward to our stay. For great value, excellent accommodation and a really friendly welcome, the Merriland is the place to stay, I wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neiljeffery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

I stayed for one night on the top floor and was greeted with a glorious view, over the town, of a full moon hanging over the sea.

The room was very nice, a good size and comfortable and clean. The lady who greeted me (Annette?) was very friendly and helpful with directions for finding places to eat and I was only sorry that I didn't have more time to enjoy the place. For £35 a night, this was an absolute bargain and I was able to park outside the front door too.

Breakfast was very good and I WOULD certainly go back however.

Room Tip: I do have one suggestion if you stay for a longer time than I did: I would ask if they have cotton s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DocCrooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grobbendonk, Belgium
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2011

This was the second time we visited Annette at Merriland and once again Annette made us really welcome. We had the appartment this time as their were 4 of us. It was wonderful. 2 seperate bedrooms ensuite, A well equipte kitchen. and a large living with tv and dvd. Breakfast was more than enough. At Merriland you arrive the first time as guest's and then as friends. Clean, honest and friendly B&B.

Room Tip: Phone Annette
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krems an der Donau, Austria
1 review
Reviewed November 16, 2011

My husband and I spent our first holiday abroad with our 2-year-old daughter, Ellie, in Merriland! To begin with we were a bit nervous and had our qualms (our daughter was a bit under the weather), but Annette immediately made us feel at ease if not to say at home and was as helpful as could be! We were offered to use the kitchen facilities including the fridge and Ellie was provided with toys! Moreover she was allowed to play with and feed the "host dog", Paddy, in the courtyard, which definitely contributed to make it a memorable stay for her! The entire guest house was impeccable! Our spacious high-standard room was cleaned and tydied up on a daily basis and all the facilities both in our room and the dining hall were geared towards the needs of a toddler: high chairs, travel cot etc., were provided! Annette and her staff were always friendly and helpful and busy to meet everyone's needs! Being just a few walking minutes from both the most popular beaches/ harbour with all its attractions and the shops and restaurants, and still being situated in a comparatively quiet area, Merriland was THE perfect accommodation for our first family holiday! We're hoping to come back next year! :)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

A B&B we go back to time and time again,ANNETTE the owner is lovely nothing is too much trouble.The rooms and beds are really comfortable and spotlessly clean. the breakfast is good with plenty of choice.In very easy reach of the beach, restaurants and shops and if you do not want to use your car also very near bus stops for Ramsgate, Canterbury etc.The holiday appartment is first class with every modern conveinience. Broadstairs is a lovely chill out place to visit and in my opinion "THE MERRILAND" the place to stay. Hazel

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hazel h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadstairs
0.2 mi away
The Yarrow Hotel
The Yarrow Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadstairs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Albion Hotel
Royal Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadstairs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Botany Bay Hotel
The Botany Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kingsgate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
#9 of 10 in Ramsgate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.0 mi away
South Lodge Guest House
South Lodge Guest House
#9 of 24 in Broadstairs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.2 mi away
Copperfields Guest House
Copperfields Guest House
#1 of 24 in Broadstairs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merriland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merriland

Property: Merriland
Address: 13 The Vale, Broadstairs CT10 1RB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Broadstairs
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Broadstairs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Merriland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merriland Broadstairs, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing