We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Breakfast Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Belvidere Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Broadstairs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Belvidere Place
Ranked #12 of 26 Broadstairs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Breakfast Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

We arrived to a warm welcome from Jilly, and stayed for 3 nights enjoying our entire stay.

I came away for a break with my mum who is a carer for my nan, this break was much deserved for my mum and I was keen to let my mum totally relax and not have a worry in the world. Nothing was to much trouble for Jilly, who is fun, engaging and offers the best breakfast we have ever had! The decor of Belvidere Place is spot on, stylish, quirky and well put together.

Jillys son Guss is a pleasure! The room was stunning and as an insomniac I slept well for my whole stay, which proves the bed was comfortable.

Do not hesitate to go to Belvidere Place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Messybird1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Belvidere Place, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Oh girls, what a lovely review how kind of you to write. I so enjoyed you staying, I'm so glad you had a nice time with us, really looking forward to you coming back one day, I'll get the tomato soup and flask ready for your Mum! love Jilly xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    3
    2
    0
    4
See reviews for
21
99
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

Trying to decide on Whitstable or Broadstairs for a London escape, we plumped on Broadstairs, partly because there was a chance to stay at Belvidere Place, which looked both relaxed and stunning. Which it was. Beautifully done, artistic without being at all precious; tongues firmly in cheek - it's not often you get sense of humour and style ( it reminded me a little of Sketch in Conduit Street ), or a combination of comfort, very good food and zero pomposity. The owner Jilly has created a warm, open, stylish and fun place to stay. Relax, talk, read, walk....and in the morning enjoy the excellent breakfast, the most excellent breakfast, under the benign nose of the Pearly Queen.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TaketheATrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

We're just back from a wonderful 1 night escape in Broadstairs and feel thoroughly detoxed from London life. We were welcomed as long lost family by Jilly, possibly the friendliest and most entertaining hostelier ever (!), and given immediate run of the house. Our room at the front of the property was gorgeous, spotless, spacious (with lots of extra treats like kit kats and Green & Blacks) and we wanted for nothing. Tea and cake is available should you want it on arrival, and our breakfast was a complete body stopper...this alone was worth the visit and set us up for a bracing walk along the beach to Ramsgate before the train home.

Room Tip: Cream room with the big bath is a real treat
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loosecannonlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

Travelling on business you get used to a regular parade of mainstream box hotels, where the only differentiator is how many languages the staff speak displayed proudly on their badges.
So I'm in Margate on business without the usual chain for the PA to book me into, I took a chance and dipped into the seafront B&B expecting a frosty, starched sheet, in bed by 10 welcome.
Jilly soon dispelled that expectation, she called me John when I made the booking not Mr Smith (names changed to protect the innocent), welcomed me like an old friend and proceeded to show me round the wonderful place that is Belvidere Place.
Warm, exotic touches in all the decoration, great eye for all the detail to make it feel a home from home, and space like you wouldn't expect in a chain suite.
I will come back next time In Broadstairs, and I will come back on my own time, driving every one of those 300 miles looking forward to the warmth and personal engagement we all love.
I've got t mention Gus of course, (aka Noel Fielding) great host, good local knowledge and his own line of hand made clothes!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jillysharpe, Owner at Belvidere Place, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
So glad you found us and that you had such a positive trip.

When alone and away on business its important to find somewhere that feels friendly and comfortable to stay, I am glad you felt at home.

It is very very kind to find time to place this very generous message on Tripadvisor. It was a pleasure to meet you and we look forward to seeing you again.. lets hope the weather is better next time gosh we have had some rain this week. Good news is its sunny and just lovely again today.

Thank you John

Love Jilly and Gus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

Can't recommend Belvidere Place enough, though we have been trying! Jilly is a wonderful host, the breakfast was delicious, a three course breakfast that my girlfriend described as 'dining like the queen.' The rooms are furnished beautifully and have lots of space. It was just the ideal place to stay really. It was also very gay-friendly, we felt very welcome, safe and comfortable there as a couple. We're definitely planning to return.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jillysharpe, Owner at Belvidere Place, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Thanks so much for taking the trouble to write this, as we are all so busy these days
So kind and glad you had a great time.
Jilly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK/Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

We had a fantastic weekend in Broadstairs - not least due to our stay at the wonderful Belvidere Place. Jilly was a great host, welcoming us with tea and cake, and made us feel right at home upon arrival. The place perfectly blends vintage and contemporary furnishings in the most charming way and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. The house is within walking distance to the beach (2 mins) and is located right in the centre of the town. As others have said, the breakfasts are wonderful and definitely worth coming back for! We would certainly recommend Belvidere place and Jilly's hospitality to any traveller!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leadmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

This was without doubt the most delightful Bed & Breakfast we have ever stayed in anywhere. Every aspect of our stay was perfect, it's difficult to find different ways to say what has already been said below, but Jilly and Gus were the perfect hosts, the rooms were beautifully appointed and as for breakfast, never before have we been asked what colour of tomatoes we would like! Without doubt one of the most outstanding meals that we've ever eaten and it's not often you can say that about a breakfast. It goes without saying that The Belvidere comes highly recommended and we will definitely be back. James & Hollie. x

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KentHollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadstairs
0.1 mi away
Royal Albion Hotel
Royal Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadstairs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Yarrow Hotel
The Yarrow Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadstairs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Botany Bay Hotel
The Botany Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kingsgate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#4 of 9 in Ramsgate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
0.3 mi away
Broadstairs House
Broadstairs House
#5 of 26 in Broadstairs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belvidere Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belvidere Place

Property: Belvidere Place
Address: 43 Belvedere Road, Broadstairs CT10 1PF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Broadstairs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Broadstairs
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Belvidere Place Hotel Broadstairs
Belvidere Place Broadstairs, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing