We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Torwood is Tops”
Review of Torwood House

Torwood House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Broadstairs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Torwood House
Ranked #13 of 24 Broadstairs B&B and Inns
Herts
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Torwood is Tops”
Reviewed November 2, 2009

Plenty of space in the Victoria Suite and a very comfortable four poster bed fridge in room is a good idea as we were able to have some wine which was kept lovely and chilled it is within easy walking distance of Broadstairs and there are some nice places to eat we enjoyed our breakfasts and Zoe and Alan were lovely hosts very helpful and very attentitive we will visit again

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lou09Herts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
37
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2009

Torwood House was a lovely stay and our room was very spacious with a four poster bed! We thoroughly enjoyed our Full English breakfast and the warm baked bread was a scrummy delight.

Zoe was a great host, friendly and warm and made us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HolGalLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2009

This was a gem of a find. Torwood House has been reburbished to a very high standard in terms of decoration, furniture and furnishings, and the en-suite bathroom was larger than those usuually found in B&B's. Zoe was a most accommodating hostess, the personal touch made it a stay to remember. Lovely breakfast menu, cooked to everyone's personal taste - homemade bread pudding left in the room for afternoon tea! Also, a fridge in the room where we were supplied with fresh milk for tea and coffee.
Situated a few minutes from the main beaches in Broadstairs, a lovely location.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthWalesSuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2009

Pleasant enough - but an exaggeration for the B&B to be rated as '5 star'. TV in room not very good, over-bath shower inadequate (shot off the wall-fitting) and bath slippy, I would expect a better quality of breakfast ingredients from '5 star' (i.e. not sliced bread etc.)
Bit overpriced for what it was.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kp1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zoehol, owner at Torwood House, responded to this review, October 27, 2009
We are proud to have a 5* Visit Britain award for our Bed and Breakfast, which we were awarded in December for the second year since opening two years ago. The award takes into account the quality of every aspect within the B and B, including service, cleanliness, quality beds, bedding, towels, soft furnishings, quality and choice of breakfast etc. The tv's in all the rooms are new flat screen tvs. If we were informed of a problem, the tv would have been replaced immediately. As is clearly stated on our website and during the booking process, two of our rooms offer luxury en-suite showers, one offers a good sized bathroom with shower head ideal for hairwashing. A new wall attachment has however been fitted. Although the surfaces of the bath and showers are within requirements for the Visit Britain Quality assessment, we also have non slip mats available for each room. We offer a very generous and varied breakfast using top quality local produce whenever possible with freshly prepared fruit, fruit juices, yoghurt, porridge, full english breakfast, smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. We cater for vegetarians, vegans, coealics, gluten free. In the past we used a variety of good quality sliced bread, and bakery bought bread throughout the week to offer variation to our customers. I am proud to say that we now make all our own bread. Our prices start at a very reasonable £75 per night for a double en-suite inclusive of breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadstairs
0.2 mi away
The Yarrow Hotel
The Yarrow Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadstairs
175 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Albion Hotel
Royal Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadstairs
611 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
#9 of 10 in Ramsgate
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Copperfields Guest House
Copperfields Guest House
#2 of 24 in Broadstairs
128 reviews
0.2 mi away
South Lodge Guest House
South Lodge Guest House
#9 of 24 in Broadstairs
87 reviews
0.2 mi away
Broadstairs House
Broadstairs House
#5 of 24 in Broadstairs
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torwood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torwood House

Property: Torwood House
Address: 41 West Cliff Road, Broadstairs CT10 1PU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Broadstairs
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Broadstairs
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Torwood House Broadstairs, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing