We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Bay Tree Hotel(Broadstairs)
$202
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Broadstairs House(Broadstairs)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bleak House(Broadstairs)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belvidere Place(Broadstairs)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Viking Guest House(Broadstairs)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bayside Guesthouse(Broadstairs)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (184)
Filter reviews
184 results
Traveler rating
129
45
6
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
129
45
6
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewfamily run b bwelcoming familylovely family runlocal producestone baystayed here for three nightscliff topalready booked for next yearbreakfast was excellentfriendly ownerssmall hoteleastern esplanadecomfy bednothing is too much troublemini breakeach morning
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 184 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in July, whilst attending a wedding. We were made to feel welcome from arrival and given the guided tour. The room was everything we needed and expected from a B&B. Breakfast was superb and the service we received, perfectly acceptable. We enjoyed good chats with our hosts during breakfast and I can personally recommend the marmalades. We really enjoyed our stay and would happily return to The Devonhurst next time we visit the area.

Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank SteveBiker19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Maidstone, United Kingdom
2311
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

First of all, the write ups are not accurate as it isn’t a hotel, it’s a bed and breakfast, so no restaurant and few facilities. The room and circulation areas are very cramped and claustrophobic. Our room had a very very small shower room and the double bed was small, my feet hung off the end and the bed was extremely hard, giving us a really bad night as Hardly slept at all. Cut our stay short after one night and won’t be going back. I have to say the staff were friendly and understanding but I don’t know why they just don’t buy some decent mattresses.

Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew P, General Manager at The Devonhurst, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. Please let me respond as best as I can.

To address your first complaint, we do not advertise as a Hotel and we are not responsible for any reviews or "write ups" that claim that we are. We have no way of controlling the content of guest reviews and are unable to correct or change them. Unfortunately it seems that you based your booking decision on the content of guest reviews rather than any official advertising. We very clearly advertise as a Bed and Breakfast and show that here on Tripadvisor, on Booking.com and on our own website. We also very clearly state that we hold a 4 star Guest Accommodation rating and are a traditional, family run Bed and Breakfast set in a Victorian building.

For your second complaint, we are sorry that you did not find the bed to your liking. You selected the room via Booking.com and did not ask for a large bed. Again, our advertising clearly shows that the room you booked contains a standard double bed as does our confirmation email that guests receive after booking. All guests are also shown our 24 Hour guest bell and are told to ring it if they require anything at all, day or night. If we had known that you had an issue with the mattress then we would have offered you a memory foam mattress topper, a replacement mattress or another room.

When you informed us that you wanted to check out, you told us that you thought we were a Hotel and wanted to leave early. We were very surprised by this as it is not something you mentioned when you arrived despite the obvious signage that we are "Guest Accommodation" and the fact that you seemed very happy with your room. We would have been within our rights to charge the full amount for your stay as per our booking terms and conditions but, despite this being your mistake, we did offer to completely waive the bill. You insisted on paying the price for a 1 night stay.

It is unfortunate that you mistook us for something that we are clearly not and it is a shame that you have provided us such a low rating because of this.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in a front room with a balcony with dual aspect views of the cliffes & sea and it was just lovely.
Very comfy bed, followed by a scrumptious full English(if that's your choice). In fact the choice of food was really good and we would highly recommend a stay here- another advantage is it's on the Eastern Esplanade which is quiet but only 5 mins walk to town centre and beach.

Room Tip: Room 1- with balcony & best views!
  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeoconnor48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely family run B&B. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Great choice for breakfast. Spotlessly clean. Would differently recommend. Would like to return.

Parking can be at a premium but the family will do what they can to help. A couple of minutes’ walk from the harbour, therefore lovely location.

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank The-Mac's
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2018

This is a lovely spotlessly clean, family-run B&B, who couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful. Stayed in Room 1 with wonderful sea views and small balcony with en-suite shower room. Free parking right outside on the street, excellent breakfast, beautiful town - what more could you want?

Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank PAW465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews