We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of The Devonhurst

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Devonhurst
Ranked #4 of 24 Broadstairs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Very friendly welcome and well organised. We stayed on a special weekend rate of £99 including breakfast which was very good value. Our room faced the sea, which was great, but it was quite small and the walls are rather thin, we could hear coughing and talking in the next room. Breakfast is faultless with locally sourced items which tasted good. Local jams were good and available to purchase. Well positioned and easy five minute walk to the centre of Broadstairs.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew P, Manager at The Devonhurst, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2015

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and our locally sourced breakfast. We run special offers around twice per year so don't forget to keep an eye on our Facebook page to get another great deal!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
There are newer reviews for The Devonhurst
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 162 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2014

Our second visit to the Devonhurst for the Broadstairs Blues Bash. The room was nice with a sea view and a balcony. Breakfasts were fantastic, love the use of local produce. A nice addition is the option for food between 12-8pm each day however I think the owners need to work on this. The prices are v reasonable but quality is basic to say the least (I had sausage & mash with peas and onion gravy - sausages were nice but it was instant potato and instant gravy so rather disappointed with that), also, despite saying food is available with a possible 30 min wait at busy times we ordered about 6pm, there was no-one else in the hotel and we were told it would be an hour. So I don't really think they have geared up for this but we were out of season of course.
Over all a v friendly hotel and you can certainly make the most of breakfast!

Room Tip: Rooms 1 & 2 have sea view and balconies
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew P, Manager at The Devonhurst, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us for the Blues Bash weekend and that you enjoyed our award winning breakfast.

Thank you for the feedback about our small bar menu. We welcome all feedback as it is a new addition to our guest services and we always aim to improve. The sausages are the same ones that we use in our breakfast, sourced locally from an independent Broadstairs butcher. All of our mash potato is freshly made from real potatoes and we never use "instant mash". We use Maris Piper potatoes, pealed and boiled then mashed by hand with a small knob of butter and a splash of semi skimmed milk. Due to the small scale of the service, we use Bisto Best roast onion gravy made fresh for each order. I apologise for the wait but yes, we are at the very start of the season and you were the first customer of the year. Usually food is available within 30 minutes.

The Broadstairs Blues Bash is a great weekend and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We had a 4 day break, found the B & B to be near the center in a good position with excellent sea views. Suits older couples best. Very good attention from the family, room very comfortable and clean, well serviced. The breakfasts mainly using local produce were excellent. Good advice given on local attractions.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clive P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew P, Manager at The Devonhurst, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Thank you for your review. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you like our location. We try hard to make our breakfast one of the best in Broadstairs so its fantastic to hear that you enjoyed it.

We are always happy to give advice on the local attractions and, as we have been here for over 27 years, we know that area very well and can always provide a wide range of suggestions.

We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Fabulous view of the bay from a lovely and very clean room only a few minutes walk from the town centre. Very friendly and helpful and the breakfasts were great. I can recommend the haddock! Will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Home from home! Worth paying a little more for a room with a balcony overlooking the bay.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew P, Manager at The Devonhurst, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and the haddock! We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed here for two nights at the end of September and had a very enjoyable time.
All four hosts were very friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were delicious and we were able to enjoy a nice curry with a view one evening, as a bar snack, which solved the problem of having to find somewhere to eat on the Saturday night, as Broadstairs does get very busy and most restaurants need pre-booking.
The location is ideal for walking into Broadstairs and Ramsgate; we hope to return sometime.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaneMMB2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew P, Manager at The Devonhurst, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

We are glad that you had an enjoyable time with us in Broadstairs. Than you for your comments about our lunchtime and evening bar meals. All of our food is prepared fresh and is great for when you don't fancy a walk into the town to find a restaurant.

We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Just stayed for four nights at the Devonhurst. Our second time there the first back in Apr. 1988. Twenty five years later we thought it was time to return.Everything was five star even David. We had a sea view with balcony it was magic. The room was first class as was the breakfast all in all top of the pops.Wont wait another twenty five years to come back. Regards Geoff & Annette.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew P, Manager at The Devonhurst, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Thank you for a great review. We are so glad that we exceeded your expectations and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stumbled on this B&B by chance on the Internet. It is a real gem, close to the beach in Broadstairs and a short walk from all the main attractions. Very spatious and comfortable accommodation, run by a very friendly family team. But the highlight is the breakfast: a wide choice of locally sourced food, jams carefully selected by the owners, and perfect poached eggs (we got the recipe!).

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpinDoctorSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew P, Manager at The Devonhurst, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Shhh, don't tell anyone our poached egg secret! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadstairs
0.7 mi away
The Yarrow Hotel
The Yarrow Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadstairs
195 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Albion Hotel
Royal Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadstairs
640 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Botany Bay Hotel
The Botany Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kingsgate
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Travelodge Ramsgate Seafront
0.4 mi away
Copperfields Guest House
Copperfields Guest House
#2 of 24 in Broadstairs
138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bleak House
Bleak House
#5 of 24 in Broadstairs
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Devonhurst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devonhurst

Address: Eastern Esplanade, Broadstairs CT10 1DR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Broadstairs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Broadstairs
Price Range: $118 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Devonhurst 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Margaret, David, Matthew and Kadriye welcome you to The Devonhurst. We are a traditional family run guest house situated on the Eastern Esplanade enjoying a cliff top location and we offer 8 en-suite bedrooms including 4 with uninterrupted sea-views all equipped to a high 4 star standard.The Devonhurst had been a traditional family run guest house for over 25 years. We pride ourselves on providing a personal service and welcome you into our business and our home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Devonhurst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Devonhurst Broadstairs, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing