We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great guest house one of the best I have stayed at.”
Review of The Devonhurst

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Devonhurst
Ranked #4 of 24 Broadstairs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great guest house one of the best I have stayed at.”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed at the Devonshire on the 30th Aug to 1st Sep enjoyed it so stayed an extra day as it was so nice . We had a sea view with balcony it was magic to wake to the sound of the sea it was that near the beach. Food was great the family running the guest house were so sociable and friendly. Will go back again soon . Thank you again for our stay. Ron and Marie

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 have balcony and sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew P, Manager at The Devonhurst, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for your great review. We try hard to strike a balance between being friendly and not getting in the way so it's great to hear that you felt at home. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    38
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
21
98
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grantham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed at the Devonhurst, for the second time, in August. Once again, we were reuniting with family visiting Broadstairs from Australia. The Devonhurst is an excellent place to stay. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and the breakfast was superb, using local Kent produce. There was an excellent choice of cooked breakfast items and the toast and home-made jams were a real treat. We couldn't choose a favourite; they were all lovely. We were warmly welcomed by David, Margaret and Matthew, who has recently joined the business. We are definitely going back and hope that by now Margaret's wrist and Kadriye's toe are much better now. Best wishes to you all. Janet & Dennis

Room Tip: The front two rooms on the first floor have a balcony and wonderful sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew P, Manager at The Devonhurst, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
It was great to have you back with us and thank you for leaving us a review. Margaret and Kadriye are both much better and fighting fit! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

A lovely b + b in a lovely location right opposite the sea so nice to hear the sea when you wake up. Had a lovely stay august bank holiday. Margaret was a lovely friendly host and the kent local produce breakfast was wonderful. Throughly recommend and will be returning again in the very near futurexxx c + jxx

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clarea1Home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew P, Manager at The Devonhurst, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I agree, you can't beat waking up to the sound of the waves crashing on the beach. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and it's great to hear that our Kent Breakfast made with quality local produce was well received. Margaret and the family look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stayed 3 nights hosts were so helpful and friendly breakfast was fantastic our room was very clean and comfortable very close to beach and shops The Devonshire was ideal for all our needs lovely place to stay can't wait to go back Thank you again for helping me in my hour of need.Best wishes from Marion Brenda & Daniella x

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew P, Manager at The Devonhurst, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed for one night on the 20 July as we were meeting family in Broadstairs for a birthday celebration. The welcome was fantastic and the family were extremly helpful and friendly. Rooms were basic but adequate and very clean. Breakfast was fantastic using local produce.

We hope to back next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MBM11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew P, Manager at The Devonhurst, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for your review. It's always great to hear that our breakfast is well liked as we have spent a long time refining it to make it one of the best in Broadstairs. It would be great to see you next year but remember to book early to avoid disappointment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed 2 nights with my sister in a Seaview room. Wonderful. Very clean, comfortable, and excellent hosts. Very friendly and helpful. Breakfast plentiful, cooked just how we liked it and bacon best I've had. We had waited 63 years to come back to Broadstairs to stay after spending our early childhood at St Peters and so glad we found the Devonhurst. Broadstairs is such a lovely place with wonderful beaches, very friendly people and plenty of good places to eat out.

Room Tip: Seaview room worth getting. Lie in bed and watch the sea. We had the room with the webcam on outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 642Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew P, Manager at The Devonhurst, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and are very happy that your reunion with Broadstairs went well. Just to clarify, the webcam (as seen on our website) is actually on the second floor and points out towards North Foreland and the North Sea. Thank you for your review and we would love to see you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheerness, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This was our third time staying at the Devonhurst and was warm and welcoming as always.
The Payne family are now getting bigger and still continue with their great standards of wonderful breakfasts and comfortable clean rooms. The new bar in the lounge is a good idea if you want a night cap or two before retiring to bed, also if you do not feel like going out for your evening meal they have started to do light meals in the evening.
Thanks again to David, Margaret and Matthew.
Best Wishes, John & Gina from Minster on Sea x

Room Tip: Balcony rooms at the front of the building give lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew P, Manager at The Devonhurst, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Hi John and Gina. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very happy when guests return and are glad that you still enjoy staying with us and visiting Broadstairs. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadstairs
0.7 mi away
The Yarrow Hotel
The Yarrow Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadstairs
175 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Albion Hotel
Royal Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadstairs
611 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Botany Bay Hotel
The Botany Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kingsgate
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Walpole Bay Hotel
Walpole Bay Hotel
#2 of 12 in Margate
501 reviews
0.6 mi away
Broadstairs House
Broadstairs House
#5 of 24 in Broadstairs
158 reviews
0.4 mi away
Copperfields Guest House
Copperfields Guest House
#2 of 24 in Broadstairs
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Devonhurst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devonhurst

Property: The Devonhurst
Address: Eastern Esplanade, Broadstairs CT10 1DR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Broadstairs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Broadstairs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Devonhurst 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Margaret, David, Matthew and Kadriye welcome you to The Devonhurst. We are a traditional family run guest house situated on the Eastern Esplanade enjoying a cliff top location and we offer 8 en-suite bedrooms including 4 with uninterrupted sea-views all equipped to a high 4 star standard.The Devonhurst had been a traditional family run guest house for over 25 years. We pride ourselves on providing a personal service and welcome you into our business and our home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Devonhurst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Devonhurst Broadstairs, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing