We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of The Devonhurst

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Devonhurst
Ranked #4 of 24 Broadstairs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed for one night on the 20 July as we were meeting family in Broadstairs for a birthday celebration. The welcome was fantastic and the family were extremly helpful and friendly. Rooms were basic but adequate and very clean. Breakfast was fantastic using local produce.

We hope to back next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MBM11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew P, Manager at The Devonhurst, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for your review. It's always great to hear that our breakfast is well liked as we have spent a long time refining it to make it one of the best in Broadstairs. It would be great to see you next year but remember to book early to avoid disappointment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    38
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
20
98
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed 2 nights with my sister in a Seaview room. Wonderful. Very clean, comfortable, and excellent hosts. Very friendly and helpful. Breakfast plentiful, cooked just how we liked it and bacon best I've had. We had waited 63 years to come back to Broadstairs to stay after spending our early childhood at St Peters and so glad we found the Devonhurst. Broadstairs is such a lovely place with wonderful beaches, very friendly people and plenty of good places to eat out.

Room Tip: Seaview room worth getting. Lie in bed and watch the sea. We had the room with the webcam on outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 642Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew P, Manager at The Devonhurst, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and are very happy that your reunion with Broadstairs went well. Just to clarify, the webcam (as seen on our website) is actually on the second floor and points out towards North Foreland and the North Sea. Thank you for your review and we would love to see you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheerness, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This was our third time staying at the Devonhurst and was warm and welcoming as always.
The Payne family are now getting bigger and still continue with their great standards of wonderful breakfasts and comfortable clean rooms. The new bar in the lounge is a good idea if you want a night cap or two before retiring to bed, also if you do not feel like going out for your evening meal they have started to do light meals in the evening.
Thanks again to David, Margaret and Matthew.
Best Wishes, John & Gina from Minster on Sea x

Room Tip: Balcony rooms at the front of the building give lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew P, Manager at The Devonhurst, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Hi John and Gina. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very happy when guests return and are glad that you still enjoy staying with us and visiting Broadstairs. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2013

As others have said, very welcoming, very friendly, nothing too much trouble. Breakfasts excellent - didn't need any lunch afterwards! I am a vegetarian and they catered well for me, lots of choices. No trouble parking on the road outside, even on a sunny weekend. Didn't use room service, but I am sure if we had wanted anything it would have been provided promptly and cheerfully.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew P, Manager at The Devonhurst, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Hi Jill and thank you for your review. We are very proud of our breakfast menu and are currently the only Guest House in Broadstairs that have a Kent Breakfast accreditation. Most of our food is sourced locally from independent butchers, fruit growers and farms. We hope so see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed here last week. Broadstairs is a lovely town and this is a very convenient location. It's only a 2-minute walk from town but very quiet. Parking is easy and the best thing is that the sea is just over the road, so you can hear it all night and see it when you wake up in the morning. The family who run this b&b are very friendly and helpful, and we had a lovely cooked breakfast each morning. We would certainly recommend it for a lovely stay in beautiful Kent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew P, Manager at The Devonhurst, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us. You are right, our location is just right to be nice and close to the town but far enough away to be out of the noise. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Traveled from Bristol over the Bank Holiday. A superb location the view was beautiful just a few minutes walk into town, spotless room and very welcoming hosts. Breakfast was fantastic. We would definately stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew P, Manager at The Devonhurst, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for your review Wendy. We are glad that you enjoyed the fantastic view of the sea that we have here at The Devonhurst and would love to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We spent a 4 day break in May in this lovely B&B. Our room was spotlessly clean and all very comfortable.
The breakfasts were delicious and nothing was too much trouble, the service was very good and the owners were very friendly and gave us a warm welcome.
I would recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew P, Manager at The Devonhurst, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadstairs
0.7 mi away
The Yarrow Hotel
The Yarrow Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadstairs
163 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Albion Hotel
Royal Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadstairs
597 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Botany Bay Hotel
The Botany Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kingsgate
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Walpole Bay Hotel
Walpole Bay Hotel
#2 of 12 in Margate
492 reviews
0.4 mi away
Copperfields Guest House
Copperfields Guest House
#2 of 24 in Broadstairs
127 reviews
0.6 mi away
Broadstairs House
Broadstairs House
#5 of 24 in Broadstairs
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Devonhurst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devonhurst

Property: The Devonhurst
Address: Eastern Esplanade, Broadstairs CT10 1DR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Broadstairs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Broadstairs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Devonhurst 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Margaret, David, Matthew and Kadriye welcome you to The Devonhurst. We are a traditional family run guest house situated on the Eastern Esplanade enjoying a cliff top location and we offer 8 en-suite bedrooms including 4 with uninterrupted sea-views all equipped to a high 4 star standard.The Devonhurst had been a traditional family run guest house for over 25 years. We pride ourselves on providing a personal service and welcome you into our business and our home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Devonhurst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Devonhurst Broadstairs, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing