We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service B&B”
Review of The Devonhurst

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Devonhurst
Ranked #4 of 24 Broadstairs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent service B&B”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Very friendly B&B with the personal touch. Excellent breakfasts with locally sourced produce. Good location on the seafront within an easy walk of the town. We had two nights there and the bed was very comfortable. Slight downside was the showerhead was limescaled up and I had to give it a bit of a clean before it would run properly and the hot water in the shower took an age to run through - so long we didn't think it was working at first. Hot water in the tap came through quickly though. Any little niggles were more than made up by the friendliness and the food. Would definitely go back, hopefully for the Blues Bash next year if not before.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew P, Manager at The Devonhurst, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. We always love to receive feedback and are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in Broadstairs.

I am sorry that you had a small issue with your showerhead. We would have happily replaced it for you if needed. We seem to be having an ongoing issue with limescale in the past few months so we have introduced a weekly descale for all rooms and are looking at updating our water supply system.

We would love to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    39
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
21
102
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

We drove into Broadstairs looking for a place to stay, just about everywhere we looked was booked out but we found this B&B through the lovely ladies at the information booth at the beach. The house is in a great spot within easy walking distance into town and the beaches. The hosts are friendly and the room was comfortable and certainly had everything we needed, including wifi. It didn't have a view, but that was okay. I think some of the other reviewers mentioned the shower...unfortunately we had the same very low pressure problem as well, but since we have experienced bad plumbing all over England and Europe we didn't think to mention it. Glad that the owners say that they have fixed the problem since. Overall we enjoyed our stay, and Broadstairs is such a beautiful place, one of our favourite spots we visited in the UK. I have to mention that the Spanish restaurant called Albarino in the town is to die for...we went there both nights we stayed in Broadstairs for dinner, we loved it that much ... And easy walking distance from The Devonhurst!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CCQ01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew P, Manager at The Devonhurst, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We wanted a traditional, seafront B&B and the Devonhurst was exactly what we were looking for.
Whenever we have a break anywhere, the most important criteria for us is; location, cleanliness and good toilet/shower facilities. The Devonhurst is no more than a 4-5 minute walk from the central bay of Broadstairs and yet, is still in a quiet location. Parking out the front was plentiful, even though we stayed during the weekend of the Food Festival, and the views from the front bedrooms are stunning. Our room (along with other bedrooms we had a sneaky peak in) were well furnished and spotlessly clean, along with all public areas. The shower room and toilet were compact but big enough. If I had anything negative to say, it would be that the showers are electric and consequently seem weak if you are used to power showers, however, they are perfectly adequate and up to the job.
The bed was plenty big enough and comfortable; I would say that the mattress could be described as ‘medium to firm’. Being a small B&B, the walls were a little thin, we could hear next door snoring and upstairs walking about and talking, but this was not loud enough to be intrusive. Also, the owners are discerning as to who they book in, so it is almost certain that you will be staying among like minded, considerate guests.
The hosts could not be more welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. One afternoon we were offered hot drinks and home made scones with jam and cream in the lounge. There is a huge choice for breakfast with complete flexibility to choice and quantity. Food is cooked fresh to order and only quality bacon, sausages, etc. are provided.
In summary, this is not a funky, modern hotel but a traditional English B&B with a traditional feel, family run; spotlessly clean with great breakfasts and welcoming hosts. If that is the experience you are looking for, then you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms are great for sitting outside and are on the first floor. The quietest rooms (from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Purrfecttune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew P, Manager at The Devonhurst, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and took a good look around the building!

Just a note on the shower, most of our rooms are equipped with mains fed mixer showers and have an additional pump to control the flow of hot water . We only have 2 rooms that contain electric showers.

Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We spent two nights in a well-appointed room with double sea views and balcony. The most comfortable bed with cosy pillows; spotlessly clean and everything one might expect to find. David and Margaret were welcoming and friendly and dietary needs were catered for without any problem. The breakfast menu is wide-ranging and flexible. We also noticed the attention to detail and that our food and drink preferences were remembered. The hotel is ideally situated on the seafront within easy walking range of the many restaurants in Albion Street. Highly recommend to anyone looking for B & B accommodation in Broadstairs.

Room Tip: Worth paying a little extra for the balcony and sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew P, Manager at The Devonhurst, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for your great review. We always love to receive feedback and are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in Broadstairs. We would love to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex, england
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Our stay was for 2 nights & was excellent. David & Margaret are a lovely couple & nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was scrumptious with a very big choice. Location - right opposite the beach what more could you want. Parking was no problem. Room was very very clean & a good size with everything you could possibly need. We are already looking to book our next stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine_B_12847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew P, Manager at The Devonhurst, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
What a fantastic review. Thank you for taking the time to write it. We always welcome feedback and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed for four nights in August. Margaret and David catered for all our needs. The breakfasts were superb and it was so nice that we were close to the beach enabling us to enjoy sea walks before breakfast. We have already booked for next year and we are looking forward to coming back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brambles-dossier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew P, Manager at The Devonhurst, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We always welcome reviews and are very happy to hear that you had a great time with us.

Thank you for booking with us again for next year when we will be delighted to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesowen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed here for three nights. We could not fault our stay. David and Margaret are excellent hosts, very thoughtful and all our needs were catered for. The breakfasts were yummy and you could order what you wanted from a wide range of choice. The location is superb with the town and lovely beach a short stroll away. We would definitely recommend this guest house and we hope to return next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew P, Manager at The Devonhurst, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Many thanks for your review. We are always delighted to receive good feedback and like to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadstairs
0.7 mi away
The Yarrow Hotel
The Yarrow Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadstairs
183 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Albion Hotel
Royal Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadstairs
623 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Botany Bay Hotel
The Botany Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kingsgate
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Travelodge Ramsgate Seafront
2.7 mi away
Walpole Bay Hotel
Walpole Bay Hotel
#3 of 12 in Margate
517 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
#9 of 10 in Ramsgate
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Devonhurst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devonhurst

Property: The Devonhurst
Address: Eastern Esplanade, Broadstairs CT10 1DR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Broadstairs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Broadstairs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Devonhurst 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Margaret, David, Matthew and Kadriye welcome you to The Devonhurst. We are a traditional family run guest house situated on the Eastern Esplanade enjoying a cliff top location and we offer 8 en-suite bedrooms including 4 with uninterrupted sea-views all equipped to a high 4 star standard.The Devonhurst had been a traditional family run guest house for over 25 years. We pride ourselves on providing a personal service and welcome you into our business and our home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Devonhurst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Devonhurst Broadstairs, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing