We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely break in Broadstairs”
Review of The Devonhurst

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Devonhurst
Ranked #4 of 24 Broadstairs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely break in Broadstairs”
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Just got back from a lovely four day break which was our second visit to The Devonhurst, had a lovely sea view from our balcony. The room also had a choice of soft or firm pillows, with a lovely shower and toilet facilities. The fridge was a little noisy but just switched it off through the night... Sorted !!!
We had a large menu to choose from at breakfast and knew we only had to ask if we wanted something a bit different. Margaret and David made us feel VERY welcome and each morning had a laugh and a chat with us. We really do think they do a great job and make you feel welcome... Well done you two.

Room Tip: Strongly reccomend rooms one and two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanandDawn_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
priory68, Owner at The Devonhurst, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Thank you for your review,I think you want to recommend the ensuite sea-view double rooms with a balcony which are room numbers 1&9.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    38
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
21
98
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed January 21, 2012

I feel i have to respond (having read previous reviewer) my family and i were treated with the same warmth and hospitality as if we had been family. Clean, comfortable rooms (ours with view of sun rise over the channel), a wonderful selection at breakfast, served with conversation and humour. What more could you ask of a sea-side B&B!
Mr A Penrose

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashpenSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

I have stayed in about 6 or 7 bed and breakfasts in Broadstairs and this was the only one I have felt the need to write a review about. I was only staying for one night, on a Wednesday. We had to get up early to leave the following morning, but no offer was made to make us breakfast at a time to suit us. It was 8.30 in the morning, or nothing. Bit of a problem, when I had to catch a train at 7.55am. Other B&B owners have got up early to accomodate us.

The door on our room didn't shut properly. The pillows were like concrete and the bed was too small. Trying to sleep in a room where the buzzing fridge turned itself on and off every five minutes was torturous. In the end, I got up at 3am to unplug it. The shower was hidden away behind the door, and when we went to have a shower, the shower head emitted two dribbles of very cold water. I could have slept in my car and felt better to be frank.

All in all, definitely not worth £80 of my hard earned cash. In fact, I kept repeating to my partner "£80 for this?". Strange too, the tray of tea and coffee on the side table also had a full bottle of washing up liquid !! How bizarre.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pspec878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Owner at The Devonhurst, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
I must apologise to this guest for not giving him an early breakfast. We are a family run B&B and had recently lost our last parent, this was the day reality set in and all we wanted to do was keep out of the way so our grief was not evident. We did not think it was fair to tell our guests and tried to carry on as best we could. We did get up early the next morning to offer a breakfast but our guests checked out before 6.45 am.whilst we were out shopping.

As for the other comments, the fire door closes properly and always has done, pillows like concrete very strange no-one else has ever complained. The bed is the normal 4 ft 6inches as required by the Hotel Inspectors. The fridge can be easily turned off if you can hear it, you do not have to wait until 3am to do it, it is a guest amemity so we can give our guests fresh milk for the hospitaliy trays as an alternative to UHT. The shower is situated to the right of the room door and works perfectly well just one control left to right for temperature and in and out for volume.
The small bottle of washing up liquid goes with the J cloth and tea towel we supply our guests so they can wash the cups up if they wish to have another drink without resorting to soap and tissues.
To put the record straight on breakfast times we usually serve between 8.30am and 9.30am and guests can if they like pre-order their breakfast and tell us what time they would like it.

We are sorry we did not give these guests a breakfast, it is the only time in the 25 years we have been here that we have let someone down.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

We stayed two nights and had a small but very comfortable bedroom. Everything had been thought of, we wanted for nothing. The breakfasts in the morning were excellent with very friendly service. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KFCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

A very late booking so all the rooms with a view were gone. However we had the window seat for breakfast which was very good and cooked to order (pre order the night before).

Very friendly service. The building is of an age before fire doors were compulsory so stairs are a bit cramped and may not suit the very elderly.

The room was bijou before the ensuite was shoe horned and perhaps the room rate could have been adjusted for this room.

If your room is on the first floor it is possible to hear movement from the floor above. Only a concern if you were expecting a lie in and the upstairs guest are packing early to leave.

Recommend you take your own pillow. I always do wherever I go. If you like a firm pillow no problem.

traditional B&B and good value if you can get the sea view rooms.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rustpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed here for a long weekend. Last minute booking throught Thanet Tourist Board. What a great recommendation. The staff treated us like family. Nothing was too much trouble. The hotel has so much character. Views are to die for!!! We stayed on the top floor in room 5 and had not one but 2 sea views. Waking up in the morning with the sight of the waves lapping on the shore was unbeatable! We had the most amazing chilled out weekend and will definately be back. The lady who serves breakfast is an absolute gem. Works her socks off to make you happy. Well done to all of the staff for helping us to have a fab weekend. xxx

Room Tip: Room 5 has 2 sea views! Each one stunning. Top floor though so no good for disabled or elderly visit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pink41fairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Free parking outside was great when we arrived. David made us very welcome and the requested extra pillows and the skimmed milk were ready for us in our room which had a little fridge for uour drinks. We had room 8 which overlooked part of the back garden. (Hotel was so busy all the seaview rooms had gone!) We were just 5 mins walk from the centre of lovely Broadstairs - a traditional resort for bucket and spade holidays or just relaxing. Lots of lovely restaurant and 2 great ice cream palours and no fast food joints in sight! We were asked to pre-order breakfast from an extensive menu so as we were not kept waiting in the morning which was fine. There was everything you could want and the full english was delicious. Sylvie was very attentative throughout the meal. The big pot of coffee went down well too. There's a lovely patio front garden overlooking the sea where we sat and enjoy our 2nd cup of coffee and chatted to Maragret - a keen gardener who has worked hard to make to the hotel front very welcoming and full of colour. Both David & Maragret made time to chat, give ideas to where to eat in the evening and even looked up some gardening info for us to take home.. It's 50+ years since I was last in Broadstairs and it's as lovely as I remember it and David & Margaret ensured we had a great stay.We returned home happy and relaxed and will definately be back to Broadstairs & The Devonhurst Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinaandBillSymmonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadstairs
0.7 mi away
The Yarrow Hotel
The Yarrow Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadstairs
177 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Albion Hotel
Royal Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadstairs
613 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Botany Bay Hotel
The Botany Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kingsgate
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Walpole Bay Hotel
Walpole Bay Hotel
#2 of 12 in Margate
502 reviews
0.6 mi away
Broadstairs House
Broadstairs House
#5 of 24 in Broadstairs
158 reviews
0.4 mi away
Copperfields Guest House
Copperfields Guest House
#2 of 24 in Broadstairs
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Devonhurst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devonhurst

Property: The Devonhurst
Address: Eastern Esplanade, Broadstairs CT10 1DR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Broadstairs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Broadstairs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Devonhurst 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Margaret, David, Matthew and Kadriye welcome you to The Devonhurst. We are a traditional family run guest house situated on the Eastern Esplanade enjoying a cliff top location and we offer 8 en-suite bedrooms including 4 with uninterrupted sea-views all equipped to a high 4 star standard.The Devonhurst had been a traditional family run guest house for over 25 years. We pride ourselves on providing a personal service and welcome you into our business and our home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Devonhurst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Devonhurst Broadstairs, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing