We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“too many people to cope with i think”

ASK Italian - Westwood Cross
Ranked #42 of 139 Restaurants in Broadstairs
Price range: $9 - $17
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: ASK Italian in Westwood Cross is a place for great food and warm service. Think fresh bread made to tear and share. A glass of fine wine worth deserving of your time. Delicious main dishes prepared the traditional way. Everything we know and love about Italian food is served straight to your table. Take a look at our Westwood Cross menu and, if you like what you see, book a table.
Thanet
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“too many people to cope with i think”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

visited with a group of friend, but every thing seemed a bit tired and slow. Food wasn't up to the usual standard i had experienced previously

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Julie-JX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    76
    45
    30
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Thanet, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“ASK - classic italian chain store restaurant”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Been here on a number of occasions, each one has been average.
Despite having several tables free the staff saw fit to sit 4 of us at a table in the middle of the restaurant that should have only been sitting 2! When we asked to move the woman serving us didnt return for so long that we just gave up and ordered drinks instead. Starters nice but a bit stingy, drinks averagely priced and food overpriced for what essentially is a glorified microwave meal.
Each time I've been we've ordered drinks and food with one waiter/waitress, had drinks bought over by another, food bought over by someone else and been cleared by another! And then the bill delivered by someone else - didn't know who to tip!! Despite this, most of the staff were friendly and service was relatively quick - that's not saying much though as we were the only ones left in the restaurant by this time!!

The only time I go to ASK is when I have vouchers: credit to them, they usually always have a set menu for £12 or a similar price or a decent voucher just type in 'ASK vouchers' into Google. Wouldn't recommend going if you're paying full price, bit of a rip off!!

Suitable for couples, family, friends and business.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jess c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We booked as a family of 5 one of them a 9 year old. We were seated at a round table in a bay, colouring sheet and crayons were provided. I love the fact that the children's meals are so attractively presented. Carrot and cucumber sticks with a dipping sauce and garlic bread for a child's starter, what a healthy change to the usual children's menu. We found the portions a good size, at the service was friendly and efficient. The restaurant was almost full, with a sizeable group on one table, atmosphere was lovely and not overly noisy.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sfh36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Small portions”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Small portions for not small money, I ordered the pasta bolognaise and couldn`t believe the small portion, when queried with the manager he found it quite amusing, but i`m amused now as I shall not be returning.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“good food, great service.”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Lovely Sunday evening meal out at Ask. Great starters of calamari with dipping sauce and i had the funghi al forno.Could not fault main course of pizza and sea bass. Very attentive waitress called Emma, all in all a very good meal.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bifron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ASK Italian - Westwood Cross also viewed

 

Been to ASK Italian - Westwood Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing