We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Packed as usual”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Morelli's

Morelli's
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Broadstairs
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $58
Cuisines: Italian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Morelli's family, have been making ice cream for over 100 years. With years of experience and product knowledge the Morelli's family created nothing but the best gelato. This has been achieved through generations of hard work, long hours and dedication to a product that they love.
East Sussex
Level Contributor
356 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 364 helpful votes
“Packed as usual”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

Being the week of the Folk Festival, Morelli;s was crowded as usual. The noise level inside was horrendously loud but the ice creams were good as usual. Not cheap but reasonable value.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank John_the_Cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    326
    200
    91
    41
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Ice Cream and family friendly”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

Ice cream was lovely and the atmosphere was very family friendly. The décor was very authentic in the sense that felt as if you were stepping into the 70s again. The only thing I would say is the choice of ice cream isn't great and the prices are a little steep for what you get.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cameraguydave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
248 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Tasty Ice Cream but expensive and after a long queue”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

The ice cream was good but was £2.20 for a small scoop.

The serving counter was a scramble with 2 queues - one outside down the street and the other inside the parlour. That was bad enough but others were trying to push in because the queue inside the parlour was not clearly defined. Quite why the server had to walk half the length of the parlour to fetch vanilla ice cream was unclear.

For such a large, very long established ice cream parlour/restaurant having just one shared WC for both men and women is unacceptable.

You have to really want a Morelli ice cream to put up with such poor service



Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank EssexRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
82 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Scarily spenny ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

We had 2 sundaes & 2 kids one scoops - which came to just shy of £18. By the time we got to the table approx 3 mins after being served we were mostly eating milkshakes not ice cream.

Whilst the taste was delicious (especially the hot fudge sauce) I don't feel like I'd go back in a hurry. I generally felt like for that cost I should be able to sit & enjoy my treat not be trying to shovel it in ASAP to avoid having to drink it.

I'd generally advise people not to bother in summer!! Perhaps winter is better :-/

Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not cheap, but delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

Lovely atmosphere from a truly vintage venue. The gelato is scrumptious with efficient service. Fans of fifties kitsch will feel very much at home.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morelli's also viewed

Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
 
Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
 
Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
 

Been to Morelli's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing