We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for ice cream by the sea!”
Review of Morelli's

Morelli's
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Broadstairs
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $57
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: The Morelli's family, have been making ice cream for over 100 years. With years of experience and product knowledge the Morelli's family created nothing but the best gelato. This has been achieved through generations of hard work, long hours and dedication to a product that they love.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect place for ice cream by the sea!”
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

At roughly £2 for an ice cream, with a multitude of flavours, I doubt any family would grumble about choice and value...you'd pay more than that from an ice cream van!

Very family friendly with a jukebox, it's a lovely end to an afternoon walking along the front.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Localgirl1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    207
    95
    42
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
230 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Great ice cream - but pricey!”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

A trip to Morelli's has been a treat for me, ever since my childhood. The ice cream and the coffee are out of this world. Unfortunately, the staff seem to (in some cases, understandably) regard the customers as a necessary evil, to be ignored, sulked at, or unintentionally misled, according to circumstances. The queuing system is like something out of Monty Python - one has to queue for ice cream, and then queue again for coffees. Also, the toilet is not very nice. It's a great shame, as if you got what you paid for, this would be a remarkable experience. The good areas (coffee and ice cream) are VERY good, but the service, toilets and the high prices let it down. A shame.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardG-L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“delicious icecream”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

the outside temperature was freezing, we were the only patrons eating the fabulous icecream sundaes. really, you have to, the best icecream i have had outside italy :) and i loved the retro look.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyHEmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainham
Level Contributor
110 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Nice Place for Morning tea.”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stay in broadstauirs every year for Folk Week and always use this place at least 3 times during our weeks stay, typically early morning on way to get paper.
Choice of ice cream very good, and the hot chocolate is a favourite of my wife and daughter.
One down side is the early closing time, given it is a Folk Week festival, it would be good to still get tea / coffee / hot chocolate @ 10:00 of an evening.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
125 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A blast from my past!”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Visited today first time since the 60's and........ yep it is still fab. As a child I remember the wonderful ice cream selections, I loved it then and I love it now. Lovely furntiure and decoration. Really really lovely ice cream, great staff and loved the whole feel of the place. Was busy today (a Sunday in February) and I should imagine it does well all year round. Just hope I can re-visit again and again. Thank you for a great experience in my childhood and today.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MAGHAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morelli's also viewed

Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
 
Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
 
Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
 

Been to Morelli's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing