We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hornsea Lakeside Lodges
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Hull North Hotel(Kingston-upon-Hull)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cornmill Hotel(Kingston-upon-Hull)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (342)
Filter reviews
343 results
Traveler rating
198
91
27
15
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
198
91
27
15
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdovetail lodgelog burnerhot tubwashing up liquidupstairs bedroomon arrivalrelaxing breaknumber plate recognitionlovely lodgeoven glovesliving spacelarge tescowasher dryerfridge freezertea towelsdish clothdecking area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
295 - 300 of 343 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from these great lodges. We stayed in Dovetail and it looked exactly as it did in the pictures beautiful. Really spacious lodges.

Check in was simple and the guy was friendly helpful and popped round to check we were OK with everything.

The site is fairly new so in a few years the plants will come to life. Lakes are nice with plenty of wildlife through thd day and night. Take a torch for the wild rabbits. Open your patio doors and the Ducks will come to see you.

I have got a few niggles but only little gripes and nothing to put anyone off, blinds were a bit dusty, pans were cheap but more than adequate to knock up a good meal. I would have liked WIFI etc but absolutely nothing to put anyone off.

The lakes are fishable but there is no specific info as to what is in there, Carp Tench, Barble and Perch I believe. There are platforms to fish off and I get the impression that it is not a prolific fishing venue.

Freeport shopping is close by and a 10 min walk. I walked in the Hornsea everyday in 15-20 mins and I walked to the seafront.

Whiteheads chippy is well worth a visit great food lovely staff and a steady trade (order your fish as you go in!)

Great place and would go back tomorrow. Great place to relax and escape.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Jimmytreatingtons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

me and my boyfriend both went to these lodges for valentines day and stayed for 4 nights in dovetail lodge 6. the place is easy to find as it is just of the through road in hornsea. when we first pulled up we thought wow. but i remember being a little worried that it was just off of the main road.. however we never noticed that again. if anything we was grateful as we visited east coast towns each day. we pulled up to a tiny cabin which was the reception where my debit card was swiped just in case of damages.. nothing was ever deducted from the account so your safe there! we went to our cabin which was the one nearest the road.. but we never heard cars or traffic. the only thing you would see were rabbits hopping around at night :) inside the cabin is so much better than the photos you will see! we were so pleased everything was immaculate and the hot tub was hot on arrival. the village of hornsea is lovely and there's a beautiful restaurant 5 mins drive from the lodges. every night we were in the hot tub. there wasn't a lot of noise so i wouldn't recommend it to parties or groups of people. the hot tubs weren't completely private but we just stood the cover up against the tub which made it completely private. the bed upstairs is HUGE! everything was perfect. the only reason i gave a 4 star and not 5 was purely for the service. the times we did interact with people at reception they were very polite however we was there Monday to Friday and they were the only times we could get in contact with anyone... when we checked in and checked out. on the Wednesday we called the reception all day for some instructions but they never answered. when we checked out on Friday we mentioned it and get said they had been there all day... i don't think so :/ so when i say peaceful i mean peaceful. but it was perfect and wouldn't stop me from returning :)

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fairycake1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Spacious immaculately kept lodge, perfect to get away from it all, amazing jacuzzi, amenities ten minute drive away,neat and tidy grounds with lakes . Lovely and peaceful. Could do with Internet access :)

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mississippi99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The accomodation and furnishing were nice, it would have been better if if there were more facilities on the site but we still enjoyed our stay. We went to cafe Chocolate almost every day and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jane h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a lovely 3 night weekend break at Hornsea Lakes. We stayed in a Dovetail lodge (2 bedrooms) which was surprisingly cheaper at the time of booking than the 1 bedroom lodge.
After a long and draining journey (public transport!) we arrived around 3pm and were allowed to check in a little early which was nice as it was a rather chilly day. Reception was pleasant, well located at the entrance to the park and I was greeted almost straight away by a friendly gent who took a swipe of my card for £100 pre-auth in case of damages. I don't mind doing this normally, but I was not pre-warned of this. Maybe a quick email highlighting this from Hoseasons would've done the trick and I'd have brought along the credit card instead? Anyway, no issues and I didn't mention this as we just wanted to get out of the cold and relaxed.

On arrival at our lodge (no 4) which was nicely located between two other Dovetails, facing a small lake littered with ducks, gulls and a few ravens swooping by we were greeted by the low, watery sunshine streaming into the lodge as if to welcome us. First impressions were that the lodge was large, airy and open plan and also very modern with a nice brown leather sofa/chaise and armchair in the lounge, modern LCD tv, large 6 seater table, coffee table and mini hi-fi system all overlooking the lake from the spacious decking to which you can access via the double doors. This would be gorgeous in the summer months-opening the doors to the decking and letting the fresh air in.
To the left was a spacious kitchen with all the mod cons-proper oven and hob, dishwasher, washer/dryer and microwave and all utensils/pot and pans. The finish on the oven was worn away and blistered at the bottom of the door and the markers for the knobs on the hob were worn away, making it difficult to predict which was 'on'. There were also watermarks on the black tiles-not a major issue but worth mentioning from a cleanliness point of view. Thankfully we brought along a few dishwasher tablets and some washing detergent, but no dishcloth as we'd have expected one to be provided! Ho-hum, he just used the dishwasher instead.
Directly in front was a lovely set of carpeted stairs onto the mezzanine floor, housing a double bedroom with deep, rolltop bath, sink and toilet and a seating area. The seating area is open and located directly above the lounge area. There's a lovely view of the lake from up here. Unfortunately the bed was not made up for us as we'd have liked to spend our evenings up here and have the choice of bedrooms rather than them making the assumption that we'd have the master bedroom downstairs.The thermostat for the heating was also located on the stairs.
The master bedroom is located off the lounge, with a coat cupboard to the left. There is a large closet (handy!) rather than a wardrobe and a lovely bathroom. A door leads out onto the decking and the outdoor hot tub. The decor overall was nice and modern with heavily patterned wallpaper on the headboard wall and nice contrasting cushions an throws. The en suite bathroom has a jacuzzi bath (more a bath with 6 weak jets within it, but still fun) however unfortunately the shower head is not fixed to the wall, making showering rather difficult, especially as there was no shower curtain. It does get rather messy! Top tip: the long mirror in the bathroom rotates to expose a series of shelves. Handy!
In regards to the outdoor hot tub, it was steaming warm and ready for us by 6pm on the day of arrival. Removing the cover is a bit of a pain (a 2 person job) but once its off its ready to jump in to. There were no temperature controls unfortunately (I do like my hot tubs hot) but the jets were easy to operate and there are a series of options in the tub to get comfy. My fave was the one in the far corner-a cradle with 3 jets on the upper back and neck and 4 jets to massage the thighs and calves. We had a lovely clear evening on one occasion to watch the stars with a bottle of wine.
We were subject to some very high winds indeed whilst in the lodge as it is a rather exposed area of the East Coast. The constant whistling and rattling of the chimney woke us up on several occasions-I thought I'd mention this as it is incredibly noisy. Although the lodges are very sturdy, on a few occasions I really did feel like we were about to take off or the roof would at least! The hot tub cover also blew off on 2 occasions through the night too-despite the safety bar across the centre and strapping (2 of these were broken btw). Thankfully it was held in place long enough for us to rescue!
Finally, although the lodges are located around 10-15m apart the hot tubs are occasionally overlooked at various angles. We were subjected to a lot of noise from one lodge in particular as they partied away to loud music and heavy drinking on the Saturday evening but the residents did not hassle us in any way personally and we left them to get on with it. Thankfully the loud music didn't go on too late. Again, I'd like to mention this as some people's idea of a weekend break often equates to a loud hot tub party rather than a chilled relaxing break as per our own tastes.
Distance/times to local attractions on foot (we walk everywhere when we can!): Hornsea Golf Club is literally opposite the lodges in the village, approx 5 mins on foot. Hornsea Freeport Shopping Outlet 10-15 mins walk through the village. Hornsea Mere 20 mins. Hornsea Tesco 30 mins walk. Hornsea town centre approx 40 mins on foot. A taxi costs £4 anywhere in Hornsea with a company called Purdys, which we used on one occasion to collect groceries from Tesco and on a couple of occasions when we went into Hornsea for a meal and again with or luggage to get our bus on departure.
There really is nothing much in Hornsea, apart from a really good chippy (Whiteheads) a fairly decent beach, a few amusements and some pubs but its a typical, quaint seaside town and perfect at this time of year when the families and bucket and spade brigade are at home and you can enjoy peaceful walks along empty beaches whilst breathing in the sea air. In regards to cliff walks, the cliffs in this area are rapidly crumbling, despite the sea defenses and most of the coastal paths have crumbled into the sea long ago. There is little access to Hornsea from the lodges themelves along the cliffs-trust us we tried! We eventually got there (determined as we are!) through boggy fields and scrubland, over trenches and through caravan parks but its really more hassle than its worth! Next time we'll try the other way towards Withernsea.

Overall a lovely break in a modern, spacious lodge. No major issues but a few niggles as mentioned. The evening temperatures really dropped too and we could find no way of controlling when the heating came on which should be sorted-its not nice to be cold! We will return, but we sincerely hope that the little details are addressed soon to make this perfect!

Room Tip: All lodges are located around the lakes, however the smaller 2 person lodges appear to be more private and set back from the others. The larger lodges have a more typical 'log cabin' design too.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews