We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WINDY DAYS” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hornsea Mere

Hornsea Mere
Ranked #4 of 17 things to do in Hornsea
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Largest freshwater lake in Yorkshire and listed as one of the Severn Natural Wonders of Britain. For boating and sightseeing of nature
worcs
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“WINDY DAYS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

We went here when most of Yorkshire was under flood water.
It was very windy but there is a lovely cafe to warm up with a lovely hot drink (& homemade custard slice)
defo worth a visit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cas1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    72
    38
    10
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Could do with sprucing up”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

The mere is well worth visiting for the views and wildlife, the cafe is basic but clean and down to earth with reasonable prices. Boating looks to be a good idea but it was a bit cool and breezy on the day we went; The only thing I dont understand is the very poor way in and out of The Mere, the whole thing needs marketing properly, tidying up a bit and better access and signage.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank assamhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
172 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“A fun afternoon at the mere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

A large mere with lots of wildlife making it nice for walking. We hired two rowing boats and went out on the mere for an hour. Had lots of fun on the water. There are lots of ducks and swans who come after you for food! There is a small steam boat for rides on the mere and also sailing boats. The rowing boat was £3 per adult. The cafe looked ok, but we just bought ice creams- Mr Moo's which are delicious.
Would recommend spending a couple of hours here, especially on a sunny day.

Helpful?
1 Thank nbape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Withernsea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Shame about the cafe”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Lovely to visit, to feed ducks and take a boat trip. Toilets need cleaning more often and the cafe could do with a face lift

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Minx02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingston upon Hull
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Favourite place ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

I love it I love it I love it.
What a beautiful tranquil surrounding, I spend lots and lots of time in this setting and hope that it never changes.
The cafe has recently been taken over and what a friendly group of staff with excellent food.


Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sally p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hornsea Mere also viewed

Hornsea, East Riding of Yorkshire
Hornsea, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Hornsea, East Riding of Yorkshire
Hornsea, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to Hornsea Mere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing