We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value, highly recommended.”
Review of Green Dragon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Green Dragon
Ranked #1 of 1 Welton B&B and Inns
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic value, highly recommended.”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Having read some of the previous reviews we were a bit apprehensive about our stay, particulary the quality of the food. On arrival we were shown to our room which was just delightful. A four poster bed and a jacuzzi bath ... (all for £69.95 including a full cooked breakfast). We were visiting friends in the area so didn't have an evening meal here but we did have lunch and the food was lovely. The steak sandwich was delicious and cooked as requested - medium. There was plenty of choice on the breakfast menu from a full cooked breakfast through to toast and cereal. All good quality food. Just wanted to balance out some of the negative reviews on the Green Dragon, we will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chriswarby_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    63
    32
    19
    11
See reviews for
44
82
15
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Reading the other reviews I was worried but had actually stayed here before and it was ok then,
I stay in so many with work I thought I had got it muddled up.
Single room good size, large bathroom with a bath which is a bonus to me. Very quiet Room 8.
staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast fine.
Will definitely stay again when i am next working in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andypandypuddin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Ferriby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I wanted a small place to hold my wedding breakfast - and choose the Green Dragon - there was a big problem 3 weeks before - the manager walked out - Matt was drafted in and suddenly found himself responsible for our special afternoon, with no information except our names ans phone number. We met him and low and behold on the 10th August 2013, Matt and his fabulous team pulled off an amazing afternoon, where 40 guests arrived and all were catered for. The afternoon was brilliant, we have since been in for food and it is always excellent. Our guests all raved about the food and service that they received.
I stayed in Room 2 on the Friday night nothing was too small for me, On the morning of the 10th August 2013, everything I needed was there, and unknown to me, many of the guests who were staying on the Saturday night, were allowed to book in early so they could change from their travelling clothes into 'best'.Matt had ensured this was an option by having all the rooms cleaned and ready early.
The guests who stayed over night all said they had at least a good nights sleep if not better and that breakfast was as good as the food the previous afternoon.
Well done Matt and your brill staff THANK YOU X

Room Tip: NONE to add - perfect place, perfect food and perfect hospitality
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We ordered 3 items of the specials board...£11 for a giant yorkshire pudding, filled with sausages, seasonal veg and gravy. After 45 minutes, the food still had not arrived. Our toddler was becoming upset because she was so hungry. We used to be regulars at the pub, as we live in the village, however, the food being served up recently is beyond laughable. The food eventually arrived after asking twice when it would be served. We were served burned hard yorkshire puddings, the sausages were hard as if microwaved, the mash had a skin on the top of it, the seasonal veg (in august), consisted of mushy cauliflower, frozen runner beans and mushy courgettes. And when we returned it, the assistant managers cocky attitude left little to be desired.
Please return the green dragon to its former glory and GET A NEW CHEF WHO CAN COOK!!!! Please also note, that a free round of drinks is of no consolation when the food served to you is consistantly poor. How about taking notice of the complaints and making changes???? Charging extortionate prices for appauling food will simply make sure the locals will go elsewhere, as we intend to from now on. Gutted.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank westrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Found this as a handy place to stay for a couple of nights while traveling for a wedding. The staff is Friendly. Breakfast is a more than adequate "full English breakfast". Rooms are basic but quite adequate.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

My partner & I stayed at the Green Dragon for one night on a pub stay gift that had been given to him for his 40th birthday.
We chose this place as it was a reasonable drive from home & we wanted to go to Whitby whilst we were on the east side of the country.
Our first impression was ok, checked in with no issues and staff were polite and welcoming.
The room was in one block which I assume we're stables or such in by gone days.
On entering the room you were hit with a strong musty smell from the bathroom which wasn't exactly pleasant. The carpet was plain and stained but the bed was comfy and clean as was the bathroom - which makes you wonder about the smell.
Later in the day when getting ready for dinner, we discovered that the electric shower had a mind of its own, the tap hose wouldn't work unless you kept the lever pulled out by constantly holding onto it, the toilet seat was broken on one hinge meaning it slid to one side, and the bin lid wasn't actually attached to the bin (pedal bin). Trying to get out of the bath/shower was interesting as you have to navigate over the toilet to make it back onto the floor!
We ate in the restaurant that evening & I'm sorry to say that the food was fairly mediocre. I had duck which was as tough as old leather.
The pub itself was quiet and lacked atmosphere. Considering the history of this place, we were bitterly disappointed at the total lack of soul - one tiny bit of original stone work high up the wall was all you could see of the old place - no big real fireplace, no real comfy seating - very clinical and food orientated. We would have thought a quiz nite or similar may have been going on for a Saturday but sadly not.
Breakfast filled a gap but it wasn't great. The jug of orange juice remained empty whilst we ate which wasn't the best considering there were only 4 diners.
All in all this place could do far far better in all aspects.
The village of Welton is gorgeous and our day at Whitby was wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jojo583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escucha, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
654 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I have stayed here a few times on business, only just a few times as they claimed not to have my booking.
Staff were friendly, sometimes rushed off their feet due to lack of them.
Rooms quite nice with very comfortable beds.
Restaurant compact but with a nice menu, very full breakfast.
Two minutes from the main road into hull which dependant on time of day can be 15 mins away

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taffyby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welton
3.5 mi away
Cave Castle Hotel & Country Club
3.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Hull
Hallmark Hotel Hull
#1 of 1 in North Ferriby
1,031 reviews
4.6 mi away
Travelodge Hull South Cave
Travelodge Hull South Cave
#2 of 2 in South Cave
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Rowley Manor Country House Hotel
Rowley Manor Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Weighton
974 reviews
5.8 mi away
Village Hotel Club Hull
Village Hotel Club Hull
#3 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
1,129 reviews
6.6 mi away
Ferguson Fawsitt Arms
Ferguson Fawsitt Arms
#1 of 1 in Walkington
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Dragon

Property: Green Dragon
Address: Cowgate, Welton HU15 1NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Welton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Welton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a new year and a fresh start a warm welcome awaits you by the management & team at The Green Dragon, a 17th century coaching house in the picturesque village of Welton. The pub plays its part in history and the highwayman Dick Turpin frequented the establishment before his capture. The Green Dragon has 11 en-suite hotel rooms located in the external stable block and all are comfortably furnished and homely. The heart and soul of the hotel remains the pub itself and we are sure you will enjoy our friendly bar and quality food & Beer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Green Dragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Dragon Hotel Welton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing