We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful”

Review of Just Us Retreats

Bathsheba, our shepherd's hut, provides a glamping holiday in Devon with a personal touch.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bathsheba, our shepherd's hut, provides a glamping holiday in Devon with a personal touch.
This gives you an idea of the location of the site, in a corner of a 4 acre field...all yours! Relax and unwind inside the beautifully furnished 'Bathsheba' the Shepherd's hut.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Bathsheba, our shepherd's hut, provides a glamping holiday in Devon with a personal touch.
This gives you an idea of the location of the site, in a corner of a 4 acre field...all yours!
Relax and unwind inside the beautifully furnished 'Bathsheba' the Shepherd's hut.
The kitchen and fire pit and a small view of 'Tom Clarke's Hayfield'.
Enjoy the view, whilst washing up!
Experience a hot water shower in the great outdoors, under the Ash tree.  Screening offers privacy!
Relax and sip a glass of wine as the sun goes down...... perfect end to a perfect day.
Enjoy your complimentary Devon Cream Tea inside the Shepherd's Hut if the weather turns inclement
Enjoy a chilled glass of wine, in front of the open fire and relax whilst listening to the birdsong
The end of the lane, before you arrive at your private field, 'Tom Clarke's Hayfield'.
Anyone for tennis?  We have tennis rackets and balls for you to use if you forget your own.
The narrow lane coming into the farm.... nearly at an idyllic retreat.
Enjoy a cuppa the old fashioned way and boil the kettle on the wood burning stove inside the Hut
Baaaaa.....
Take a leisurely walk and enjoy the views of the beautiful Devon countryside.
Another lovely view of our farm and the surrounding countryside
Work off the Devon Cream Tea and march to the top of Raddon hill and look towards Exeter
View of 'Water Splash' and 'Straight Eight' fields on our farm
Resident hare.  We have quite a few on the farm.
Amazing view of our neighbour's farmhouse, from top of Raddon Hill towards Exmoor in the north.
View of 'Water Splash' field and the combine harvester.
Enjoy an unusual British experience of a hot water outdoor shower with plenty of privacy too!
Glamping loo in the heart-filled cabin-shed
The children helped me paint the inside of the loo shed (well, for 10 mins before they got bored!)
This is my husband Hugh, our children Edward and Rosie.  We welcome you to East Coombe Farm.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Shepherds hut -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Crediton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sarah M
1 review
“Beautiful”
Reviewed September 6, 2018 for a stay in September 2018

We spent a wonderful two nights in the Gabriel Bell tent and enjoyed every second. It was lovely to disconnect from normal life and take some time out in beautiful, peaceful surroundings connecting back to nature. Everything is catered for and Zara was so friendly and welcoming. A real treat and perfect place to take children. Can’t recommend highly enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie M
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Beautiful, cute & cosy”
Reviewed August 28, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

The Shepherds hut is in a beautiful location, in the corner of a field surrounded by countryside. One day we were there we had glorious sunshine, we sat out by the firepit and played games and drank wine. On the second day it rained all day, but all of the blankets, pillows and the log burner in the hut made it so cosy and lovely we could snuggle up and listen to the rain. Zara has thought of everything you may need, torches, kitchenware, marshmallows, blankets, cards, everything! It took me a little time to brave the outdoor shower but it was amazing, so warm I didn't want to get out! I would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a quiet outdoor getaway but wanting to avoid the horrible feeling of waking up slightly damp in a tent!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 28, 2018
Sophie, thanks so much for leaving your review and for your kind comments. We hope to see you both again another time :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickJ7...
Ampthill, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Everything glamping should be, but often isn't”
Reviewed August 21, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

My wife and I booked Bathsheba, the Shepherds hut for a long weekend from which we've just returned. Zara and her family made us very welcome - the site is beautiful - we had the whole field to ourselves with the Shepherd's Hut, a well-equipped field kitchen, a fire pit and a separate toilet and shower unit, in-short, everything we needed for a really relaxing weekend. The hut was kitted out with games, books, extra blankets for inside and out, cushions for the comfortable chairs in front of the fire pit. There was a welcome cream tea waiting for us and the cupboards were well stocked with all the basic essentials - just perfect! The farm is beautiful and we were able to go for long walks not seeing a soul for hours, we cooked in the field kitchen and on the fire pit and enjoyed great food bought from the local farm shop and from the Crediton Farmer's market. We ate out at a couple of local pubs - great food. The cool box even kept our champagne chilled! It seems to us that too many big operators have jumped on to the glamping bandwagon, so many so-called glamping sites are just rows of safari tents or yurts crammed in together like a Haven site with posh tents! This is genuine glamping; secluded, luxurious, romantic and beautiful. The farm is heavily committed to environmental issues, lots of the land is being managed to encourage wildlife with significant areas left as natural meadows or even seeded with wild flower mixes. I'm a bit of a bird watcher and in one short walk, never roaming more than a few minutes from the hut, I spotted Buzzards, Yellow Hammers, Spotted Flycatchers, a Tree Creeper, Nuthatches and Woodpeckers as well as numerous Blue Tits, Coal Tits and a Sparrow Hawk! Zara and her family could not have been more welcoming and friendly, but equally respectful of our privacy. If you're after an authentic glamping experience, maximum comfort, and beautiful surroundings - you really won't do better!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 28, 2018
Thank you Patrick for your lovely review. You have so eloquently expressed exactly what we hope to offer here. We look forward to seeing you both again another time :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tourist79...
1 review
“A magical blissfully enchanting holiday!!”
Reviewed August 10, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

The four of us stayed in Gabrielle Bell tent equipped with a wood burner a double bed (very comfy) and two spacious pull out futon beds for the kids. Our hosts provided all the comforts we would have struggled to remember to bring (thank you).

There is a sizeable outdoor kitchen with gas hobs, work surfaces, chopping board, pots, pans, utensels and more! The open air shower is gas heated and the loo is just a few yards from the tent, all and all the layout is very cosy. There is a fire pit outside and the hosts have provided all the wood we needed and matches!!

The farm itself is beautiful as is Exeter and the surroundings, we wished we had had more time to explore and to get to know our fabulous hosts! We recommend this tranquil get away and are so glad we found just us retreats, undoubtedly a cut above the rest!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 13, 2018
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your review and for your kind words - so glad to hear the bed was comfy! We hope to see you guys another time :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kibiza
Paston, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic little shepherds hut”
Reviewed July 16, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We stayed here in July for 3 nights and had a lovely stay. Nothing is too much for hosts Zara and Hugh and they make you feel very welcome on their farm. Everything is catered for and it's a fab place to escape from normal life. Highly recommend. We will definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 18, 2018
Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review and thanks too for your kind words. We very much look forward to seeing you both again :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa G
1 review
“A piece of heaven”
Reviewed June 24, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

This really is the most wonderful retreat- you’ll have total privacy. Gabriel’s tent is set in a private woodland with trees to climb fabulous hammocks and meadow to play in. There’s a fire pit, fully equipped kitchen and washing area and luxury tent where you can snuggle by the fire.You can relax in this beautiful eco friendly camp and reconnect with nature and enjoy time together. The attention to detail is amazing- this is a hidden gem-totally unique.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 26, 2018
Thank you Lisa, for your lovely review and kinds words. We are so glad that you guys enjoyed your stay, we hope to see you another time :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy J
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“The perfect getaway!”
Reviewed June 20, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Every detail was perfect. We loved the outdoor shower, and spent a lot of time by the campfire with our complimentary marshmallows. The owners had thought of absolutely everything, making for a hassle-free trip. The hut itself was beautiful, in a stunning location, and the outdoor kitchen was lovely. The outdoor toilet was a lot less scary than I was expecting - very clean and homely. Couldn't recommend this place enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 20, 2018
Thank you Amy for taking the time to leave us a 5* review :) we hope to see you another time, Zara
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing