We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Unique experience and a perfect weekend retreat!”

Review of Just Us Retreats

Bathsheba, our shepherd's hut, provides a glamping holiday in Devon with a personal touch.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bathsheba, our shepherd's hut, provides a glamping holiday in Devon with a personal touch.
This gives you an idea of the location of the site, in a corner of a 4 acre field...all yours! Relax and unwind inside the beautifully furnished 'Bathsheba' the Shepherd's hut.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Bathsheba, our shepherd's hut, provides a glamping holiday in Devon with a personal touch.
This gives you an idea of the location of the site, in a corner of a 4 acre field...all yours!
Relax and unwind inside the beautifully furnished 'Bathsheba' the Shepherd's hut.
The kitchen and fire pit and a small view of 'Tom Clarke's Hayfield'.
Enjoy the view, whilst washing up!
Experience a hot water shower in the great outdoors, under the Ash tree.  Screening offers privacy!
Relax and sip a glass of wine as the sun goes down...... perfect end to a perfect day.
Enjoy your complimentary Devon Cream Tea inside the Shepherd's Hut if the weather turns inclement
Enjoy a chilled glass of wine, in front of the open fire and relax whilst listening to the birdsong
The end of the lane, before you arrive at your private field, 'Tom Clarke's Hayfield'.
Anyone for tennis?  We have tennis rackets and balls for you to use if you forget your own.
The narrow lane coming into the farm.... nearly at an idyllic retreat.
Enjoy a cuppa the old fashioned way and boil the kettle on the wood burning stove inside the Hut
Baaaaa.....
Take a leisurely walk and enjoy the views of the beautiful Devon countryside.
Another lovely view of our farm and the surrounding countryside
Work off the Devon Cream Tea and march to the top of Raddon hill and look towards Exeter
View of 'Water Splash' and 'Straight Eight' fields on our farm
Resident hare.  We have quite a few on the farm.
Amazing view of our neighbour's farmhouse, from top of Raddon Hill towards Exmoor in the north.
View of 'Water Splash' field and the combine harvester.
Enjoy an unusual British experience of a hot water outdoor shower with plenty of privacy too!
Glamping loo in the heart-filled cabin-shed
The children helped me paint the inside of the loo shed (well, for 10 mins before they got bored!)
This is my husband Hugh, our children Edward and Rosie.  We welcome you to East Coombe Farm.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Shepherds hut -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Crediton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Holly B
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unique experience and a perfect weekend retreat!”
Reviewed June 30, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We stayed here for two nights and loved every moment! It was a truly unique experience, every detail has been thought of and the setting is beautiful, as well as really peaceful.
The setup is great with the large tent including a log burning fire and comfy double bed. There's loads of cushions, pillows and games to keep you warm and entertained outside by the fire pit.
The outdoor Kitchen is fully equipped and we loved cooking outside in the elements - nothing beats a barbecue over an open flame. Although upon arrival we didn't want to cook dinner after a long drive so we were able to order from the 'wife homemade menu' - delicious!
Glamping does not really do this site justice. It is a little peace of heaven and the most amazing part is it is all yours to enjoy with no neighbours!!
We came away truly relaxed and would love to visit again soon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 2, 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your review. It was lovely to welcome you both to the farm and we are so glad that you loved every moment. We hope to see you again :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carla01
UK
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing glamping in beautiful surroundings!”
Reviewed June 19, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We were lucky enough to spend 2 nights in the Shepherds Hut at Just Us Retreats in June.
The facilities are beautiful and comfortable. The hut is in a field of its own with gorgeous views of the surrounding countryside. The lovely owners have added so many thoughtful touches to the accommodation it means you don't have to pack everything but the kitchen sink to go camping.
We had such a chilled out weekend - thank you!
We will certainly be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 20, 2017
Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us 5* review. Thank you for choosing us - see you again :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam C
1 review
“Beautiful Private Glamping”
Reviewed June 4, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We stayed in the Shepherds Hut, and didn't ever want to leave! Our hut was situated in a private field- lots of peace and quiet, lots of space, and beautiful views that were all ours! It is the perfect place to get away from the hustle and bustle of life. It feels much more personal and private than a hotel, but far more luxurious than camping! Lovely little Farm Shop nearby for supplies, lots of restaurants to choose from locally, and a short drive into the town centre. If you are considering staying here- just do it! We are so lucky to have come across it, it's now one of our favourite places in the world, and we will be going back again soon!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 5, 2017
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review and for your very kind words. We are glad that it is one of your favourite places in the world and we look forward to welcoming you both back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marknclo
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Simply magical”
Reviewed May 16, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

I spent a night in the bell tent with my family and was simply amazed at the attention to detail. The tent is beautifully furnished with a proper double bed, the outdoors kitchen is well stocked and has a full size table
And chairs to use, the fire pit and barbecue are perfect for cooking tea and roasting marshmallows on. At night the tent looks evening more beautiful when lit by candle light and fairy lights. The outdoor heated shower is a delight and a real surprise! The kids loved the hammocks, the freedom of being unsurrounded by others and entertained themselves making hair garlands, finding wool and a discarded birds nest and having a game of tennis on the tennis courts. Words can not really describe how magical the location is. When the sun is coming through the trees and you can see dandelion seed pods floating all around it Was simply beautiful. The hosts are amazing, helpful but unintrusive. This is the height of luxury in glamping and I feel very lucky to have experienced it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 18, 2017
Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to write a review. We hope to see you all again here at East Coombe Farm. Best wishes, Zara
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ems B
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Heaven is a place called Bathsheba”
Reviewed April 7, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We have just returned from three blissful nights here. If you are looking for a relaxing, romantic break that gets you back to nature then this is the place. Zara has done a wonderful job creating a little piece of heaven. A beautiful shepherds hut with a log burner for snuggling up together in with a well equipped kitchen outside under a wooden gazebo. And a lovely campfire with wooden chairs and a table to sit round with a glass of wine watching the sunset or cook a steak or some fish over. The finishing touches and little treats from Zara just add to the enjoyment and comfort (I think I left loving the pink blanket more than my boyfriend!) All this in a 4 acre field all to yourselves.
I can honestly say, hand on heart that I have never felt so happy and relaxed.
If you are looking for a romantic glamping break to get away from it all and have a bit of time with each other, please please don't look any further. You will not regret it and will make a pact to return every year, as we have!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 8, 2017
Thank you for your kind and thoughtful review. It was a pleasure to welcome you both to the farm and we look forward to seeing you next year. Best wishes, Zara
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GraceD299
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The BEST Shepard's Hut!”
Reviewed September 11, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

If you wanrt a romatic get away, you must go here! We came to celebrate an Anniversary. A truly romantic and cosy shepard hut located in a private field - all to yourself! The hut has a little log burner to keep you cosy. There is an outdoor kitchen with everything you will need for your stay. Even the outdoor toilet and shower is lovely! little touches like a cream tea on arrival, and complimentary marshmallows to toast on the outdoor fire made everything feel very special. Thank you 'Just Us Retreats'.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the log burner in the hut
Liked least: that I had not been able to stay longer!!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 12, 2016
Thank you Grace for your kind words. We look forward to seeing you both again. Zara
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maddyjobb...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magical Week”
Reviewed August 28, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This blissful week was full of stargazing, wine by an open fire and beautiful countryside as far as the eye could see. The attention to detail made you feel like you were staying at a five star hotel rather than glamping! However, you still had that wonderful sense of privacy that made you feel like the farm was all yours.

I didn't want to write this review initially as it was such a special place when we visited that we didn't want anyone finding it, but it would be unfair to keep such an incredible spot a secret.

Zara and Hugh made us feel so welcome and I completely recommend this stunning location and the unforgettable experiences that go with it.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 1, 2016
Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you again next year :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing