We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place in Crediton!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ashton's Coffee Lounge

Ashton's Coffee Lounge
Ranked #1 of 4 Coffee & Tea in Crediton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
488 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
“Best place in Crediton!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

We dropped in here yesterday as a group of 13 motorcyclists for tea and coffee. The place is very atmospheric and charming. The service is great, the refreshments super. Unfortunately as we had all had big breakfast we could not take advantage of the scrummy toasted teacakes on offer! Plenty of outside seating is available and there is lots of room indoors too. The owner is delightful and very friendly. They keep their prices down by not offering Wifi etc but who needs Wifu when you are having coffee anyway!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank perle369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    9
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely little place for Coffee and a Scone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

I came here last week and was really impressed, nice quirky café ok its not going to win awards for interior design but its charming. The staff are really welcoming and friendly and the menu has a great choice of things to order and the prices are so unbelievably cheap while still delivering quality. We ordered a luxury hot chocolate and a coffee and 2 scones with jam and cream all for £6.00! scones were fresh, hot drinks came with a Lotus style biscuits the attention to detail was greatly appreciated so much so we have frequented 2 days in a row! well worth a visit to your local café.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pittsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing atmosphere”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

I've visited this coffee shop several times now thinking I will give it another chance. I should just go elsewhere. The coffee and food is average. The food just lacks flavour. The cakes are the redeeming feature of the menu. What has truly put me off is the regulars. I come In alone with my baby and in each visit I have had regular customers make me move my pram whilst I am feeding or get loud. The staff seem to encourage these customers which has made me feel vulnerable. Do not recommend to mums alone with their young children.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank searchforflavour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cosy, friendly and faultless”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

In my opinion, it is the best coffee shop in Crediton!
Best for vaue, service, food and drink.
Always a friendly welcome and I will be going back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CharlieM1609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exeter devon
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A REAL GEM OF A CAFE.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

went in for a light lunch today, friendly staff, excellent food,and coffee which was only a POUND and 50 pence for a refill.nice decor, well worth a visit, if your in the area,car park just around the corner.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank devonwebby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ashton's Coffee Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Ashton's Coffee Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing