We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Country Pub/Restaurant”
Review of The New Inn

The New Inn
Ranked #18 of 35 Restaurants in Crediton
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bagshot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Beautiful Country Pub/Restaurant”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Only stopped for a Sunday lunchtime drink, but we could see from the most attractive garden and the flagstone main bar that it is a fine pub with excellent beers and no doubt a great dining experience. The talkative parrot would agree!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    14
    7
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
DERBY
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“so restful”
Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

Good all round,good parking, excellent room, we did not require dinner but every table was booked up, that speaks for itself, we had a great breakfast, and felt so rested, we were reluctant to leave, well done mine host, we shall return, regards johnp

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LITCHURCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plakias, Greece
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, good food”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We called in by chance on a Monday lunchtime. It has a beautiful setting - thatched roof, beautiful garden with a stream, exposed beams in the actual pub - everything... Very picturesque pub in a lovely village.

Neither of us was over-hungry, so we just had a snack. The woman who took our order was happy to discuss what we wanted, and seemed to know the food very well. Maybe the landlady? Very friendly and professional.

We'll go back. The lovely lady even gave us a card so we can phone ahead to see if they have moules 'on' next time we go. And we'll take friends.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cretamania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“New Inn, Coleford, Crediton, Devon”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Called in on off-chance on a Friday evening. Pleasant setting in hamlet surrounded by typical undulating Devon farmland. The food was very poor. Distinct impression that no one cared about the quality. Left wishing that we had gone home and made scrambled eggs on toast. At least it would have been freshly cooked.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Gillian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betchworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“good quality food”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We recentlyy had a holiday in Devon and by chance visited The New Inn for dinner. It's a hotel with a pub/restaurant. A very traditional pub decor with bar area and proper dining area. The food is of very good quality and presented nicely, like you would get in a proper restaurant. There is a parrot (Captain) who gave us (and our dog) some entertainment. Strongly recommend it!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martian172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The New Inn also viewed

 

Been to The New Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing