We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Taw Vale

Taw Vale
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Taw Vale
Ranked #4 of 8 Crediton B&B and Inns
UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed for one night whilst visiting relatives en route to Cornwall. What a gem we have discovered in that Sylvia and Peter made us feel so welcome, our room was spacious and comfortable (with lovely little touches) and the breakfast was divine. We will return!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
16
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
373 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Sylvia was very welcoming on arrival and made us tea and coffee with biscuits when we arrived in the morning before we headed off to the train station to Barnstaple & Exeter (about a 2 minute walk away). We stayed in the annexe with a door out to a small courtyard covered with a large vine and with a view of their impressive veg patch. Room was clean but perhaps just slightly dated with an en suite wet room with tea/coffees/biscuits and a nice touch of 2 bottles of mineral water and there is even an emergency torch on the wall. Good choice of breakfast(which we had ordered the day before) and Sylvia kindly let me know that she was remaking my scrambled eggs as she said they weren't up to scratch (not something many b&b's would do). Excellent loganberries from their garden and some nice homemade jams. Location was perfect for us for one night and if you want to go into the centre of Crediton it is about half a mile away. It was surprisingly quiet in the annexe even though we were close to the main road.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fetcham Surrey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Only stayed for one night but the accommodation is very homely right next to the station snd if you call Sylvia when you arrive she will walk down and meet you

Our room was in the courtyard with its own patio so lovely if the weathers good and your staying longer - ensuite and plenty of storage

A short 10/15 min walk to town so close to the shops etc

Breakfast is lovely a selection of cereals, fruit then a choice of full English, scrambled egg and salmon or kippers all using local produce

A really lovely place run by very pleasant people and as we have an office in Devon we will be back

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calypsocoolers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Definitely excellent value for money. Very welcoming and helpful hosts, and a comfortable well appointed room. A charming house and only about a 3 minute walk from the station, so very convenient if travelling by train.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alastair F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

The hospitality and comfort at Taw Vale exceeds all expectations. Not only a beautiful house, most comfortable beds and a breakfast that tempts all tastes that is surpassed by ' Mine Hosts' welcoming and caring manner. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rodwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

I have just had a 4 night stay at TawVale. This was the best B and B I have stayed at. Good value for money, excellent friendly service, beautiful setting, very clean and so many little extras in your room, such as a few biscuits, shoe polish, hot water bottle, sewing kit and a torch. The beds were lovely and comfortable, and the pillows were soft and not lumpy as they often are.. Excellent breakfast with such a choice and home made jams and marmalade. I defy anyone to find fault here. I will definately be returning!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleyofsuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totnes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

I have stayed at the Taw Vale twice; the first time in a twin room and the second in a delightful annexe with it's own patio. Both rooms are lovely, with blissfully comfortable beds and all the comforts you could wish for. Sylvia made me feel completely at home - as if I were staying with friends, and breakfast was wonderful! A mountain of perfectly cooked mushrooms on toast followed by homemade marmalade and really good coffee. Perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueGrantham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crediton
3.9 mi away
Fingle Glen Golf Hotel
Fingle Glen Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tedburn St. Mary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
12.5 mi away
Fox and Hounds Country Hotel
1.9 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#1 of 3 in Sandford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Combe Lancey Farmhouse B&B
7.8 mi away
Waie Inn
Waie Inn
#2 of 8 in Crediton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
4.3 mi away
The New Inn Coleford
The New Inn Coleford
#1 of 1 in Coleford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taw Vale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taw Vale

Property: Taw Vale
Address: 2 Taw Vale Terrace | Station Road, Crediton, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Crediton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Crediton
Hotel Class:3 star — Taw Vale 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taw Vale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing