We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Lunch”
Review of The Pickwick Inn

The Pickwick Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Bigbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $31
Cuisines: Italian, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Open for lunch and dinner seven days a week and throughout the afternoon on Saturdays and Sundays, The Pickwick Inn is a great treat for everyone, from those looking for a light lunch to those after a gourmet three or four course meal. Our fully stocked bar is also perfect for those wishing to sample a local real ale or to unwind after exploring the fantastic South Devon scenery.
Duns, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family Lunch”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Over the years we have seen the Pickwick Inn change hands several times, this time they have cracked it.
We have now been several times taking elderly parents to grandchildren to eat out.
The staff are polite, friendly, efficient & nothing is too much trouble.
The food is freshly cooked, to order, on the premises, with plenty of variety. The portions are excellent & there was no problem in taking excess food home as a carryout. Excellent value.
There is a good choice of wine, beer & soft drinks to suit all tastes.
One very small criticism is that, on a nice day we would like to eat in the garden, but, the small area provided overlooks the car park & the building site next door.
We have already booked in for our Christmas outing.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Petlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    108
    24
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Pizza!”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I am not one to usually write reviews but absolutely believe that this place certainly deserves one! I wish Dan and Matt (I picked up a card as I left after lunch on Monday) deserve to have great success with the Pickwick Inn.

We have been going to this part of Devon for many years and have seen the Pickwick Inn lie fallow or temporarily be open without any longevity to whoever the latest owners have been. It would be a total injustice if this restaurant did not now thrive and grow. The pizzas are among the best that I have ever tasted – the ingredients all tasted exceedingly fresh and to concur with other reviews, the atmosphere was relaxed and the whole place had a “lovely” feel to it.

We will definitely be going back and would urge anyone else to visit.

Very best of luck for the future Pickwick Inn.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A really nice place to eat”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Went here for a family meal on a Sunday as we were staying nearby and didn't really know where else to go. It was really very good. I usually find pizza and pasta and bit average but this certainly wasn't a chain Italian, the pasts dishes were really fresh and tasty and the garlic bread excellent.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CookandGreen_Tea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bucks
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice relaxed place to eat”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We saw a review for this pub and decided to give it a try, we were not disappointed, very relaxed, good food and friendly service, would definitely go back again

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice pub”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Very nice, only had a drink but food coming out to others looked good. Will try lunch next time we're down there.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lynnedilou59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pickwick Inn also viewed

 
Modbury, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to The Pickwick Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing