We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ashdale Guest House
Ranked #2 of 8 Matlock Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2012

hello all i would recomend this guest house to anyone.we have just spent to days in matlock and stayed here the rooms are very clean and the breakfast is very well cooked barry is a wealth of knowlage about the area and as i said linda cooks a great breakfast will stay again next time in matlock thanks barry and linda.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank troy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
There are newer reviews for Ashdale Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 139 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2012

When we visited Ashdale guest house a year ago i wasn't on Tripadvisor then and so we have decided to give the Ashdale a review as we had stayed there and both Barry and Lindy couldn't have been more helpful as they kindly let me park my motorcycle around the back of the house so that it was safe.

The room we stayed in was absolutely spotless and we had one of the most enjoyable stays to date in a guest house and they do look after you even if you are a motorcyclist and the breakfast that we were greeted by in the morning was excellent to say the least a 5 STAR rating for accomodation, friendliness and or course that lovely breakfast which was lovely considering my other half is a very fussy eater.

If you ride a motorcycle then this is the place for you as they are very friendly towards motorcyclists and they will make your stay most welcome indeed.

It's a pity that some of the other hoteliers and b & b owners can't seem to get it right and i can heartily reccomend this place as you will not be dissapointed with your stay. (5 STARS for Barry and Lindy) Thanks Julie and Richard, Suzuki Bandit (BLUE - BT56VNM) Thanks again for a lovely stay.

Yours sincerely

Richard and Julie from Birmingham

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pixator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Very big cofortable family room, lovely breakfast and very friendly owners. Right on the main street of Matlock bath which was great for us as it meant less walking for gran which was good at night when we came back after dark from having dinner.

Room Tip: Room 3 converted into four single beds (one being a small campbed suitable for young children) which...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracey l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Would recommend Ashdale Guest House to everybody looking to stay in Matlock Bath - spent two nights here over the Bank Holiday with my two children and my parents and we all thought Barry & Lindy were a lovely couple, keen to accomodate any request. Location is PERFECT, rooms are well sized and well stocked, breakfast extremely generous...all in all it made for a fantastic mini break!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank filomena13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

fantastic welcome on turning up. nothing is too much for barry and lindy if there is any thing you need or want. rooms are very big, bed are lovely, just a shame about all the traffic all night and lorries early mornings :( the smell of a cooked breakfast and home made bread in the morning is to die for. just sorry the place is up for sale

Room Tip: try to get the down stairs back room if poss
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank satansmother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Ashdale Guest House is ideal for anyone wishing to explore Derbyshire and who would like to stay in a comfortable, friendly, clean b & b with excellent amenities. Off street parking and use of wi-fi are both available, and the breakfasts are fab - the bread is home baked - with good choice of menu. Barry and Lindy do all they can to make their guests' stay as enjoyable as possible; they suggest places which they feel are suitable to the visitors' needs and are always helpful and amicable without being overbearing! We have stayed here twice and would highly recommend this lovely guest house to other people.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kitlette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Barry and Lindy are genuinley lovely people and we were greeted to a very warm and freindly welcome, even though we were over an hour later than planned, the breakfast was to die for, with locally sourced and fresh ingredients our room was clean and comfortable and would happily reccomend ASHDALE to others.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patrickronan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock Bath
0.4 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
308 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
378 reviews
7.9 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cables B&B
Cables B&B
#1 of 8 in Matlock Bath
462 reviews
0.6 mi away
High Tor Hotel
High Tor Hotel
#3 of 8 in Matlock Bath
325 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stone Lodge
Stone Lodge
#5 of 8 in Matlock Bath
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashdale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashdale Guest House

Address: 92 North Parade, Matlock Bath, Matlock DE4 3NS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Matlock Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock Bath
Price Range: $96 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our house was built in 1847, is early Victorian, built in the Georgian style in the centre of the village of Matlock Bath which was developed as a spa. There are still some natural thermal springs and a petrifying well. There are four spacious en-suite rooms, three of which are family rooms. A cot is available. All rooms have access to wireless broadband, TV kettle etc. The house is situated immediately opposite the Victorian Jubilee bridge, which is a footbridge over the River Derwent. This bridge gives access to walks, an informal riverside park with childrens play area and attractive fountains and pools. There are walks up by the river and up the wooded hillside to extensive all-round views. Within walking distance are Gulliver's Kingdom (Childrens theme park), Cable Cars to Heights of Abraham, (where you can visit to old lead mines), the Museum and Aquarium with the petrifying well, the Mining Museum, and an assortment of restaurants and pubs with regular live music. Masson Mills (shopping village and museum in Arkwright's historic mill) is 10 minutes walk and there are many small, interesting shops both in Matlock Bath, and within nearby Matlock & Cromford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ashdale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing