We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Spacious cottage, lovely location”
other travelers have booked this property
Artists' Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Artists' Cottage
Artisits' Cottage Front garden with seating
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
18 reviews
Artists' Cottage
Artisits' Cottage
Front garden with seating
View from Cottage High Tor. Dare you to walk up and look out!
Local area to walk
Living Room with wooden floor
Living Room with open fire
Living Room
Open fire in living room
Dining Room with wood burning stove.
Bedroom One with beds that can be zipped together for a Superking
Bedroom One left as single beds
Bedroom Two Dual Aspect windows
Bedroom Two FANTASTIC VIEWS !!!!!
Bedroom Three single
Well equipped Kitchen
Bathroom with power shower over bath
Views from the back Garden
Overlooking the rooftops from the back garden
High Tor opposite house can be walked up!!
Monsall Head views
Picnic by the water or bbq at monsall head
Monsall Head by the water
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Matlock Bath, Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
gracemcsh...
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Spacious cottage, lovely location”
Reviewed April 7, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This was a surprisingly large cottage, with more than enough space for our party of 3 adults, a toddler and a dog. The cottage was clean, well equipped and had a lovely view. It was very well located for exploring: a short walk along the river to the shops (co-op, m&s food, sainsburys as well as local high street shops) and the park, with other sights easily driveable. The kitchen and spacious dining room meant we could comfortably self-cater, and we loved that the cottage was dog-friendly. The bathroom seems new and, again, the bath and separate shower (which was lovely!) were fantastic for our family visit. If you are looking for a clean, inexpensive and well-located place to stay, we would definitely recommend Artist's Cottage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 9, 2017
Thank you grace for your review. Yes you are correct the bathroom has just been completely refurbished we are glad you like it, and thank you for your all round lovely comments we hope you would like to come again one day we would live to have you stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R
Stourbridge
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Half term mini break”
Reviewed February 24, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Great accommodation in a perfect location! So much to see and do all within walking distance so we never needed to move the cars.
The cottage was a good size and, after a minor blip with the boiler (resolved quickly by Carol) it was extremely cozy.
We'd love to return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 3, 2017
Thank you Kate for your review. We would love to have you come and stay again. Carol
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 17, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Bathroom
Liked least: The Hill!
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 19, 2016
Thank you Anna for your review I am glad you enjoyed your stay and you found the bathroom to be "fantastic" hope to welcome you again Carol
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Christoph...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent base for a walking holiday”
Reviewed July 11, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

4 'mature' males on a 4 day walking break using the cottage as a base. Lots and lots of positives about the cottage - very spacious, all amenities and resources required, free wi-fi (a must these days), TVs in every room, very clean, accessible by road to all major local attractions, within walking distance of Matlock and Matlock Bath, welcome pack including bottle of wine.
As mentioned in the details, difficult access for less mobile people including the drive up the road to the cottage so bear this in mind if considering.
Would definitely recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fact that everything was there and the locality to Matlock
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 11, 2016
Thank you for your feedback Christopher I am glad you had a good stay hope to welcome you back another day. Carol
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleP...
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Just perfect!”
Reviewed June 10, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Great location, cottage was so lovely, we couldn't fault anything and will definitely stay again, welcome pack was a lovely touch, thank you.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 12, 2016
Thank you very much I am pleased you loved the cottage we would love to have you stay again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vicky g
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super Cottage”
Reviewed April 4, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Just returned from a lovely weekend stay at Artist's Cottage. The rooms were all a good size and comfortable. The heating was effective, which made the cottage very warm. Stunning views from the front and terraced back garden, and great location for circular walks . Simply perfect for a weekend break with the family and the dogs.

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 10, 2016
Thank you Vicky
I am pleased you and your family enjoyed your astray hoipe to see you again. Carol
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter Ohi...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“perfection simplified, awesome!!!”
Reviewed August 7, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Simply awesome location, very good to relax and a good get away from everyday stress. lots of attractions all in a walking distance from cottage. All you want for a cool family holiday.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 9, 2016
Thank you Peter we are pleased you enjoyed your break and hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing