We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent base for a walking holiday”
other travelers have booked this property
Artists' Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Artists' Cottage
Artisits' Cottage Front garden with seating
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
18 reviews
Artists' Cottage
Artisits' Cottage
Front garden with seating
View from Cottage High Tor. Dare you to walk up and look out!
Local area to walk
Living Room with wooden floor
Living Room with open fire
Living Room
Open fire in living room
Dining Room with wood burning stove.
Bedroom One with beds that can be zipped together for a Superking
Bedroom One left as single beds
Bedroom Two Dual Aspect windows
Bedroom Two FANTASTIC VIEWS !!!!!
Bedroom Three single
Well equipped Kitchen
Bathroom with power shower over bath
Views from the back Garden
Overlooking the rooftops from the back garden
High Tor opposite house can be walked up!!
Monsall Head views
Picnic by the water or bbq at monsall head
Monsall Head by the water
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Matlock Bath, Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Christoph...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent base for a walking holiday”
Reviewed July 11, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

4 'mature' males on a 4 day walking break using the cottage as a base. Lots and lots of positives about the cottage - very spacious, all amenities and resources required, free wi-fi (a must these days), TVs in every room, very clean, accessible by road to all major local attractions, within walking distance of Matlock and Matlock Bath, welcome pack including bottle of wine.
As mentioned in the details, difficult access for less mobile people including the drive up the road to the cottage so bear this in mind if considering.
Would definitely recommend.

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fact that everything was there and the locality to Matlock
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 11, 2016
Thank you for your feedback Christopher I am glad you had a good stay hope to welcome you back another day. Carol
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle...
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Just perfect!”
Reviewed June 10, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Great location, cottage was so lovely, we couldn't fault anything and will definitely stay again, welcome pack was a lovely touch, thank you.

Date of stay: June 2016
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 12, 2016
Thank you very much I am pleased you loved the cottage we would love to have you stay again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vicky g
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super Cottage”
Reviewed April 4, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Just returned from a lovely weekend stay at Artist's Cottage. The rooms were all a good size and comfortable. The heating was effective, which made the cottage very warm. Stunning views from the front and terraced back garden, and great location for circular walks . Simply perfect for a weekend break with the family and the dogs.

Date of stay: April 2016
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 10, 2016
Thank you Vicky
I am pleased you and your family enjoyed your astray hoipe to see you again. Carol
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterohio...
Rorbas, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“perfection simplified, awesome!!!”
Reviewed August 7, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Simply awesome location, very good to relax and a good get away from everyday stress. lots of attractions all in a walking distance from cottage. All you want for a cool family holiday.

Date of stay: July 2015
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 9, 2016
Thank you Peter we are pleased you enjoyed your break and hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen B
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A cosy cottage, especially in very snowy weather”
Reviewed January 1, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The weather was very bad on arrival so as said in previous reviews the road up to the cottage was even more treacherous, very icy and slippery. The car was not used during our stay but as the town is within walking distance, even for a 2 yr old it did not spoil our stay. Lovely and warm with plenty of space for us all. Would love to return when the weather is warmer and enjoy the area more.

Date of stay: December 2014
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 9, 2016
Thank you Maureen for your review I am glad you had a lovely stay despite the weather (we all know what local authorities are like for gritting)!!!! We would love to see you again in better weather .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry C
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A Delightful cottage”
Reviewed October 21, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Booked a long weekend at Artists Cottage with my girlfriends for a relaxing break from husbands and kids. The cottage is old but lovely and has everything you need. Great location with a short walk in Matlock and to Abraham Heights. Be prepared for a hefty walk up hill or the slippery steps to get to the cottage and parking is not available outside the cottage as it is a very narrow single lane road. Bedrooms were all great size but nobody wanted to sleep in the room with the spooky windows leading up to the dark attic ;)
The welcome pack was a wonderful addition to our stay too. I would have no trouble booking again and will also recommend to friends and family. Thank you Carol for a lovely stay.

Date of stay: October 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 10, 2016
Thank you Kerry for your review I am pleased you had a relaxing break. I promise there is nothing in the attic (but its fun!) We would love to welcome you to stay again. Carol
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandra961...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“What a delight”
Reviewed October 6, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Stayed at this quaint cottage for a weekend whilst attending a wedding in Wirksworth. Oh how I wish we had had more time to explore. The cottage was lovely, very clean and comfortable. Parking is a bit of an issue particularly if you have a disability like me but it was worth the struggle. I adored it. Came with my two sons and partners and they also love it. Every convenience and the welcome pack (including wine and chocolates is so lovely). The owners are so helpful and responsive. I would love to revisit in the summer but also think it would be amazing in the winter with the log burner going. The cottage is very good value for money. Would highly recommend.

Date of stay: October 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Waking up and walking down the lane to silence !! The view and sun shining was a bonus.
Liked least: Parking
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 10, 2016
Thank you Sandra for your review. We would love to have you stay again.
Carol
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing