We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B&B Bliss”
Review of Cables B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cables B&B
Ranked #1 of 7 Matlock Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“B&B Bliss”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We spent a lovely couple of nights at this brilliant B&B. We decided to escape to the country for a well deserved break and celebrate our anniversary. I read the reviews on tripadvisor and decided that The Cables would be perfect for us. And it really was perfect. We received a warm welcome with tea and cake by the fire, then we were shown to our room. It was so perfect: Rose petals on the four poster bed, heart shape balloons and cushion, towel swans and signs wishing us a happy anniversary. It was such a lovely personal touch that meant the world to us. We had full english breakfasts both mornings and they were delicious. We were sat at the table by the window and had a lovely view of High Tor. We enjoyed some time in the cosy lounge and the fire was most welcome on a cold January eve. Roger and Maureen were very welcoming and were keen to help in any way. The B&B on the whole was very comfortable. I would highly recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    35
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
62
302
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We spent a wonderful weekend here. The dinner on the Friday night was beautiful, including locally caught Derwent Trout.
Roger and Maureen made us feel very welcome and our room was gorgeous including a four poster bed.
They went out of their way to cater for our every need too.
Very highly recommended - especially the hot tub which is in the garden surrounded by fairy lights.

Room Tip: We stayed in the smaller four poster bedroom and it was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Queenbetsyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

this b n b is a little haven! a warm welcome on arrival with coffee n cake and the room (number 1) was lovely, clean and had everything you need such as toiletries and lovely fluffy nightgowns. I was surprised by a marriage proposal during my visit and when we got back to our room Maureen and Roger had decorated the room with lovely romantic little touches and put a bottle of bubbly on ice for us...I was touched by the personal touches! the hot tub looked immense although we didn't book it this time we defo will next time! the lounge had a lovely log burner which was beautiful after a nippy afternoon. located bang central to matlock and matlock bath, a short walk to either. breakfast was gorgeous and plenty of it...we booked to come back before we left and so was another couple at the same time who had their honeymoon there which shows how lovely this place is...highly recommend to anyone who wants a little break away!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youlgreave, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 24, 2013

We have just had our honeymoon night @ the cables. From the moment we entered we were made to feel very special and welcome. The room was beautiful with balloons, rose petals, swan towels, lovely messages on chalk boards....we were so touched! The breakfast was just amazing! Very friendly and very clean little place. We didn't have the chance to use the hot tub, due to our late arrival after our wedding, but we will definitely try and return for another stay and maybe experience the delight of the hot tub! we would really recommend this beautiful B & B xxx

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

A perfect retreat from the busy world was how we described this lovely b an b. The extra touches ie the welcome sign and the birthday banner and balloon , made the weekend perfect. The attention to detail in the rooms cannot be faulted , we feel lots of other b and bs could learn a lot from here. We didn't try the hot tub but maybe next time....... The breakfast was cooked to perfection with plenty of choices available. In short a lovely place to stay with welcoming owners including Max !! The only problem.....when can we go again.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebel72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Best B&B we have ever stayed in!

Roger and Maureen are so welcoming, the food was excellent, the room spotless and the hot tub was fab!

They really did make a special weekend so memorable - we arrived to rose petals on our bed and banners up for our anniversary.

Could not recommend enough!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandM024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at this excellent b & b starting with a lovely warm welcome continuing with a relaxing time in the candlelit hot tub followed by an excellent meal-perfect! We were also given the four poster bed room- very romantic. Beautifully furnished with lots of lovely touches-all to the highest standard and cleanliness. All in all a memorable stay with lovely hosts.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicky g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock Bath
0.8 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
241 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
363 reviews
1.4 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
High Tor Hotel
High Tor Hotel
#3 of 7 in Matlock Bath
313 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riverbank Guest House
Riverbank Guest House
#4 of 51 in Matlock
301 reviews
0.8 mi away
Castle Green B&B
Castle Green B&B
#1 of 51 in Matlock
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cables B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cables B&B

Property: Cables B&B
Address: 182 Dale Road, Matlock Bath, Matlock DE4 3PS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Matlock Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are perfectly located between Matlock and Matlock Bath with a 10 min walk to both. We offer a friendly service and pride ourselves on offering lots of little extras. Relax by the log fire on the patio or in the hot tub with a glass of wine and have your pizzas cooked in our out door oven.(april to sept) We focus on special occasions with lots of surprises to make your time memorable we are licensed with room mini bars and source all our food locally, with homemade bread, yogurt, preserves, compote and lots more. With lovely scenic views, you can't fail to have a relaxing time at the Cables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cables B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cables Bed And Breakfast
Cables Hotel Matlock Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing