We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Cables B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cables B&B
Ranked #1 of 8 Matlock Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Best B&B we have ever stayed in!

Roger and Maureen are so welcoming, the food was excellent, the room spotless and the hot tub was fab!

They really did make a special weekend so memorable - we arrived to rose petals on our bed and banners up for our anniversary.

Could not recommend enough!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MandM024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (465)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 465 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at this excellent b & b starting with a lovely warm welcome continuing with a relaxing time in the candlelit hot tub followed by an excellent meal-perfect! We were also given the four poster bed room- very romantic. Beautifully furnished with lots of lovely touches-all to the highest standard and cleanliness. All in all a memorable stay with lovely hosts.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicky g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Just come back from a lovely weekend stay at the cables b&b. The owners make you very welcome, and there are lots of nice little touches for guests, including a welcome sign with our name on it, and the offer of a drink after a long drive.

The room was en suite, well appointed with lots of little extras including a very well stocked mini bar with soft and alcoholic drinks and snacks, all reasonably priced with an honesty box system. The ensuite had a range of toiletries available in case we had forgotten anything.

There was a wide variety of Breakfast items to choose from, all freshly cooked by the owner - I can recommend the whisky porridge! Lovely, whilst hubby enjoyed the full english. I've marked down slightly the sleep quality, only because we had a 4'6" bed but we are on the large size - bit snug! Lol!

Would definitely book again and definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We were looking for a small guest house close to chesterfield due to some family issues and we were lucky enough to stumble across this little gem; who also btw are dog friendly....
We stayed next door to the cables in stone lodge and it was very nice, lovely spacious room and amazing breakfasts. The guest house is located half way between matlock and matlock bath, both within easy walking distance. We were not lucky enough to sample the apparently amazing evening meals but, according to another couple they live up to their reputation. We ate at the fish pond in matlock bath, good food and reasonably priced.
The reason for the title of my review is that we needed to extend our stay due to circumstances beyond our control and Roger and Maureen could not have been more helpful. Would love to go back one day. Thanks for everything.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamara1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

My fiance and I stayed a night here for his birthday in October before going to Alton Towers the next day. First of all, the location is amazing. It is in the outskirts of the cute little town of Matlock, between forest cliffs and a river. The scenery is so pretty!! We didn't notice that evening as we arrived at 9pm, but it was so nice to wake up to the next morning. The whole place itself is really pretty, perfectly furnished and nothing looks old fashioned / tacky (like pretty much every other B&B I've stayed at has...). Roger goes above and beyond to make your stay comfortable. He decorated the room with birthday decorations for my fiance, it was such a nice touch! Even down to the smell of the rooms, everything was perfect. The shower room was also really modern, and had spare toiletries (eg. toothpaste, deodorant, facewipes, etc) which was really helpful if you had forgotten anything. The room itself was really pretty, and the four poster bed was amazing. The minibar was all at normal prices too, it was like having a little convenience store in your room!

One of the selling points for me was the outdoor hot tub, and it well surpassed my expectations!! At night it looks like a magic grotto, with a miniature waterfall, lights, etc. it is all screened in too so you are in complete privacy, it's great.

I couldn't recommend this place enough! Such good value. I will definitely be staying here again and am recommending it to anyone who will listen!

Room Tip: You are able to book a dog friendly room here if you want to bring your dog along.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JurassicCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We went wanting a romantic break and that's exactly what we got. We was greeted by Roger who was the perfect host.The room was beautiful and the food was first class. The icing on the cake was the Hot Tub, a truly memorable experience in the middle of winter. Highly recommended. Jo and Danny

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johann4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I brought my granddaughter here for a three day break over half term. Roger met us and knew us by name. He gave us a hot drink and generally made us feel extremely at home, without being gushing. We had everything we could possibly wish for in our room and if we didn't, I'm sure every effort would have been made to find it for us! Roger's cooking is superb; I would definitely recommend eating here, rather than taking pot luck locally. No driving either! My granddaughter absolutely loved the hot tub which was well maintained, with rules being strictly adhered to. In short, we cannot fault this b and b and will certainly be back. Thank you Roger and Maureen.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock Bath
0.8 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
330 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
386 reviews
1.4 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
High Tor Hotel
High Tor Hotel
#3 of 8 in Matlock Bath
326 reviews
0.8 mi away
Castle Green B&B
Castle Green B&B
#1 of 53 in Matlock
442 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riverbank Guest House
Riverbank Guest House
#4 of 53 in Matlock
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cables B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cables B&B

Address: 182 Dale Road, Matlock Bath, Matlock DE4 3PS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Matlock Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock Bath
Price Range: $78 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are perfectly located between Matlock and Matlock Bath with a 10 min walk to both. We offer a friendly service and pride ourselves on offering lots of little extras. Relax by the log fire on the patio or in the hot tub with a glass of wine and have your pizzas cooked in our out door oven.(april to sept mon/wed/fri) We focus on special occasions with lots of surprises to make your time memorable we are licensed with room fridges, USB points and coffee machines, we source all our food locally, with homemade bread, yogurt, preserves, compote and lots more. We have special arrangements with pubs and restaurants including pick up and return and discounts. With lovely scenic views on the side of the river derwent, you can't fail to have a relaxing time at the Cables. Local attractions for young and old alike with numerous walks and activities. Garage available for bikes and classic cars and dogs accepted by prior arrangement. All dietary requirements catered for. We hope you come soon!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cables B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cables Hotel Matlock Bath
Cables Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing