We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely accommodation, lovely people including their dog Max”
Review of Cables B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cables B&B
Ranked #1 of 8 Matlock Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We spent the weekend in a family room, which was adequate size for 2 adults and one child. The hosts were more than accommodating including their little dog Max who kept our little girl entertained. Roger cooked home-made pizzas for us in his garden pizza oven, they were the best. The breakfast was plentiful, spoilt for choice, i had the sausage platter which was lovely. There is no negative points about this place, its lovely, very easy walking into Matlock Bath and i would thoroughly recommend, it is well worth the money.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BASmith66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (467)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 467 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2013

What can I say apart from you MUST stay here, MUST have your evening meal here (restaurant quality in taste and presentation) and MUST spend time in the hot tub! The breakfast definitely sets you up for the day...home made granola, yoghurt, fruit compote, jams, marmalade and bread...an extensive breakfast menu as well as the Full English...yum! Nothing is too much trouble for Roger and Maureen...you cannot ask for the wrong thing, it's all about the little extras and finishing touches! All the comforts of home and more! Definitely will be going back! Fantabulous!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShellsPorter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Only been to Matlock Bath for a couple hours at a time so we decided to spend a few days there as a base to roam around the Derbyshire attractions. Roger and Maureen even had our names written on a welcome sign outside by the front entrance. The usual stuff is there like tea/coffee, but there is also a full range of toiletries, A loyalty fridge full of chocs and wine, Food cooked to perfection, Breakfast bar choices would beat any hotel. The accommodation is excellent - 5* service in a 4* B&B how good is that?

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maurice373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

our annual stay at the cables .... just gets better we celebrated my husbands 60th birthday and our wedding anniversary . Roger put banners and balloons in our room the little touches that make it even more special. we cant find a single fault with the cables and cant wait to return

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mo f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

just come back from a weekend break at the cables .roger and maureen where great host given us great information about the local attractions and area.the rooms where beautiful and clean with little extras nice touch.a most is to have an evening meal the food was excellent lots to choose from the breakfast again excellent great value for money.the hot tub was brilliant with dressing gowns provided .there a lovely seating area to sit outside and enjoy the view

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank queenscunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I spend quite a bit of my time in Matlock and had always admired the Cables from afar. My partner was coming home from Afghan so we booked a night there. The four poster bed room was spacious comfortable and very clean, we started our evening with a Jacuzzi experience it was lush with the sun shining  The evening meal was well presented and very tasty, the ambiance and personal feel of the Cables made our night’s stay special we couldn’t have asked for more.
Thank you to Rodger and Maureen for your kind hospitality, we will definitely be back 

Room Tip: Spoilt for choice - Enjoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Friendly welcome with tea and cake. A good nights sleep in a comfortable room and a great breakfast. Easy walk into Matlock. Didn't have supper at the Cables but it looked very good and the menu was comprehensive. Lavishly stocked mini bar.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wigtoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock Bath
0.8 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
372 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
400 reviews
1.4 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ashdale Guest House
Ashdale Guest House
#2 of 8 in Matlock Bath
143 reviews
0.2 mi away
High Tor Hotel
High Tor Hotel
#3 of 8 in Matlock Bath
334 reviews
0.4 mi away
Explorers Retreat at Gulliver's Resort Matlock Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cables B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cables B&B

Address: 182 Dale Road, Matlock Bath, Matlock DE4 3PS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Matlock Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock Bath
Price Range: $67 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are perfectly located between Matlock and Matlock Bath with a 10 min walk to both. We offer a friendly service and pride ourselves on offering lots of little extras. Relax by the log fire on the patio or in the hot tub with a glass of wine and have your pizzas cooked in our out door oven.(april to sept mon/wed/fri) We focus on special occasions with lots of surprises to make your time memorable we are licensed with room fridges, USB points and coffee machines, we source all our food locally, with homemade bread, yogurt, preserves, compote and lots more. We have special arrangements with pubs and restaurants including pick up and return and discounts. With lovely scenic views on the side of the river derwent, you can't fail to have a relaxing time at the Cables. Local attractions for young and old alike with numerous walks and activities. Garage available for bikes and classic cars and dogs accepted by prior arrangement. All dietary requirements catered for. We hope you come soon!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cables B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cables Hotel Matlock Bath
Cables Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing