We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 Night stay for girlfriend's birthday.”
Review of Cables B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cables B&B
Ranked #1 of 8 Matlock Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Came for a 1 night stay to treat the girlfriend on her 23rd birthday.Excellent hosts. Lovely rooms. Superb food. Hot tub and champagne in the snow. Complimentary coffee and cakes on arrival. Best B&B I've ever been too. Would go again defiantly. 10/10.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Christopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (467)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 467 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013

Roger and Maureen welcomed us to their B&B with our names on blackboard when we arrived. We had drinks in front of the wood burner with homemade cake, just what we needed after day of walking in peaks. We stayed in the family room which was really clean and spacious with our own bath robes and slippers. Well stocked mini bar with drinks and snacks. Dinner was freshly cooked by Roger which was amazing and very romantic by candlelight! Breakfast was also lovely, especially the homemade yoghurt and granola. We really enjoyed our stay and will be returning again soon! Would strongly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smudgecambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Small friendly b&b within easy access to Matlock and Matlock Bath.
Mine host was very amenable and nothing was too much trouble.
Our evening meal and breakfasts were lovely.
Overall extremely pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coolesue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 4 nights for a short romantic break.
We loved that the sign outside had our names on it greeting us, then we were brought freshly made cake and coffee while we checked in next to the log fire.
Our room was fantastic, a 4 poster bed and an ensuite shower room. The attention to detail was amazing.
We had dinner at the Cables one night, I had spinach and ricotta lasagne made by Roger which was lovely and my partner had the meat lasagne which he said was great aswell.
We do hope to go back again in the summer to try the hot tub and pizzas!
We had a lovely time and felt very welcome, thank you!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

My partner found this little gem of a B&B via tripadvisor and we booked it on a whim. Upon arrival, we were welcomed to our names written on a board outside 'the Cables' welcoming us :) It's very obvious that the owners of this homely B&B go the extra mile to make their guests feel welcome.

We booked a cosy ensuite room with a four-poster bed. It was extremely quiet and very comfortable. We also had a meal at 'the cables', which was delicious and great value. I ordered fish, very delicious and fresh, which the owner had only recently caught two days before :). My partner ordered the steak, which she also loved.

Again, it's the small touches this beautifully decorated B&B offers which is testament to its popularity, such as drinks offered upon arrival on a cold day beside a log fire, and the owner going through all the details of their award winning breakfast (try the full breakfast and you'll understand), to suit the guest.

Because of its great location, we did a lot of hiking around Derbyshire, but came unprepared regarding lunch. Thankfully Roger (owner) had that covered, and for an extra £5 each, we received a packed lunch that included fruit, sandwiches and flask of tea :) Highly recommended B&B for a relaxing break.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DubDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

From start to finish we had the most relaxing break. Lovely welcome, cosy and beautifully decorated. Really inviting, felt at home instantly. We were welcomed in to a log fire, warm drinks. Helped to find a great local carvery. It was really nice to be asked just how we like our breakfast in such detail. Exceptional quality of food and service. The rooms were gorgeous. Cleanliness was amazing, everything you could need was on hand. It felt luxurious, romantic, homely and comfortable. Such care and attention to detail could be felt everywhere. The food was so fantastic and really exceeded any expectations. I know how it must feel to unearth gold now!! I feel privileged to have stumbled across such a wonderful place to stay and we will be finding any excuse to take a break away to the Cables again. Most highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Cables for valentines. The owner could not have done more to make it a memorable and special valentines stay. So many little touches that made all the difference. The room was really lovely and the bed super soft and comfy! Lovely meal cooked by the owner, possibly one of the best steaks iv had. Brilliant location as well for walks around Matlock Bath. Truely a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StephBright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock Bath
0.8 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
369 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
399 reviews
1.4 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Explorers Retreat at Gulliver's Resort Matlock Bath
0.4 mi away
Ashdale Guest House
Ashdale Guest House
#2 of 8 in Matlock Bath
143 reviews
0.2 mi away
High Tor Hotel
High Tor Hotel
#3 of 8 in Matlock Bath
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cables B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cables B&B

Address: 182 Dale Road, Matlock Bath, Matlock DE4 3PS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Matlock Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock Bath
Price Range: $67 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are perfectly located between Matlock and Matlock Bath with a 10 min walk to both. We offer a friendly service and pride ourselves on offering lots of little extras. Relax by the log fire on the patio or in the hot tub with a glass of wine and have your pizzas cooked in our out door oven.(april to sept mon/wed/fri) We focus on special occasions with lots of surprises to make your time memorable we are licensed with room fridges, USB points and coffee machines, we source all our food locally, with homemade bread, yogurt, preserves, compote and lots more. We have special arrangements with pubs and restaurants including pick up and return and discounts. With lovely scenic views on the side of the river derwent, you can't fail to have a relaxing time at the Cables. Local attractions for young and old alike with numerous walks and activities. Garage available for bikes and classic cars and dogs accepted by prior arrangement. All dietary requirements catered for. We hope you come soon!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cables B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cables Hotel Matlock Bath
Cables Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing