We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful apartment with stunning views”
other travelers have booked this property
OVER LOOKING THE ROOF TOPS OF MATLOCK BATH.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
OVER LOOKING THE ROOF TOPS OF MATLOCK BATH.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
31 reviews
OVER LOOKING THE ROOF TOPS OF MATLOCK BATH.
LARGE BRIGHT BEDROOM - ENOUGH SPACE TO ERRECT A SINGLE BED
Airey calm bedroom, fabulous views and with all bed linen 100% cotton on king size bed
New bathroom electric shower & heated towel rail
vanity basin & mirror
Danbury Lodge, Penthouse is the top floor, with private access separately from the main house
Entrance hall to the penthouse
views from penthouse
views from penthouse
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Matlock Bath, Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Cherise G
Loughborough, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful apartment with stunning views”
Reviewed September 9, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had this apartment from Thursday through Monday and were very impressed. It was clean and well presented throughout and very spacious. If walking be prepared for a huge uphill slog but well worth it for the breath taking views. Close to local train station, Gullivers kingdom and the sky ride to Heights of Abraham. Very friendly owners willing to help if need be. Kitchen well stock with all that is needed to cook a meal and was lovely to have tea, milk, sugar and biscuits left for us on arrival. Only thing I would say is that the towels would be better bigger as they didnt anywhere near wrap around me after a shower. Over all a wonderful stay in a beautiful apartment in a picturesque quaint setting. Will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole apartment
Liked least: small towels
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 6, 2014
Thank you for your review. Were so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Please come again.
Barry & Sharron
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hjs1959
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Landlady was very unhelpful!”
Reviewed August 28, 2014 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The apartment is nicely situated with wonderful views. The apartment was clean and quite well equipped. However,, when the bathroom doorlock broke and we couldn't get into the bathroom. The landlady couldn't be found as she had gone away and her mobile number wasn't receiving calls owing to a poor signal. She was away for 3 days! In order to get into the bathroom we had to unscrew the lock! If there'd been a serious problem we would have been really struggling. So, no,, i would never stay here again under any circumstances!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 4, 2014
It was very unfortunate about the bathroom door,you could have told Barry who was in the house down stairs and he would have come and fixed it the moment it happened.There was no need to unscrew and damage the door. Which in turn we did not deduct your damage deposit for. You also brought extra people whom you had not booked for. Again we let them stay at no additional charge.I'm not been funny but I don't think we could have done enough for you. As for myself been un helpfull on this occassion I was not even there so its not fair to judge me on that.I think your review is unjust and nasty. Please don't bother coming again we run a happy pleasent establisment where customer service is very inportant to us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GracieH67
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Relaxing few days in gorgeous surroundings”
Reviewed August 12, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

My son and I stayed here for a long weekend, just came home today and we really did not want to leave! A lovely place to stay, clean and spacious throughout, lounge/dining room with amazing views,and everything you could possibly need to make a comfortable stay. Might be a bit of a hilly walk to get to, but well worth it, close to the village with shops, cafe's, arcades & fish & chip shops, and just a couple of minutes walk to Heights Of Abraham which we loved. We would definately go again, thankyou Sharon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Didn't dislike anything!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 2, 2014
What a lovely review. Thank you for taking the time to write it. Your welcome any time & pleased you enjoyed your stay.
All the best Sharron & Barry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leesa718
Washington, United Kingdom
1 review
“excellent accomodation, perfect views, loved it :)”
Reviewed July 29, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

An excellent place to stay in Matlock bath just a few minutes walk away from all amenities. Very clean, comfortable and well equipped. The owner is very friendly and helpful. The kids loved the little nooks full of cushions and had great fun making a den.

Only thing that would make it even better is if blinds were fitted to the windows in the living room to avoid very early waking in the mornings.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the size and position of the property
Liked least: no blinds at the windows when sleeping on the sofa bed
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 2, 2014
Thank You for your review & were so pleased you and your children enjoyed your stay. I will take your comments on board about blinds. With such odd shaped windows we have not found any to fit. Ill keep looking though.
Please come again. Sharron & Barry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewed May 26, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views, spacious living area, lovely hosts
Liked least: Nothing, all was lovely
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 28, 2014
It was pleasure to have you as our guest's. Please come again & Thank You for the great review.
All the best.
Sharron & Barry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Redninja7
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful Views”
Reviewed April 19, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

There are a lot of steps to climb, but once inside. The apartment is very clean and spacious. There are breath taking views from almost every window. There's all you need to cater for yourself, with the owner even leaving tea, coffee and biscuits out for us.
A 5 minute walk from Matlock-Bath train station (up some very steep hills) but well worth the journey. Highly recommended.

We're planning a return trip real soon

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 21, 2014
I am so pleased you enjoy your stay. Your correct it's a steep hill but like claiming a mountain you get to the top for the fabulous views. We look forward to welcoming you again. Thank you for the great review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMint
Lancs
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A superb apartment - great location & facilities”
Reviewed March 26, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

This apartment has fabulous living space and amazing views from its elevated position. As soon as we walked in we were wowed by the size and comfort of the space. The bed was very comfortable and the whole apartment is very well furnished and exceptionally well equipped - everything you could need to make it a home from home. It was also very clean.

Its position at the top of the hill offers beautiful views but is quite a steep walk up from the riverfront (made for a great bit of exercise!) There are a few steps up to the private entrance but nothing most couldn't handle and nice to have your own door.

The riverfront is about a 5 or 10 minute walk with access to the Heights of Abraham, the railway station and all the shops / cafes/ fish & chip restaurants of Matlock Bath!

A really nice, cosy getaway and fantastic value for money - we're planning our next visit!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and comfort
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 21, 2014
Thank you for the lovely review you wrote for us. We look forward to your next visit.
Sharron & Barry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing