We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Sunday Lunch!!!!”

High Tor Hotel Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #15 of 32 Restaurants in Matlock Bath
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Sunday Lunch!!!!”
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Booked for Sunday lunch and we were treated to an amazing lunch. I had roast beef, three large thick pieces of beef, which melted in the mouth! My fiancé had roast chicken, a large chicken breast roasted to perfection and very moist! Herb infused Yorkshire Pud and lovely veg! The gravy was home cooked and was flavoursome :-)

The new head chef has done an amazing job! Complements to him or her...? !!!!

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MIH51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    18
    3
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing food and execellent prices!”
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We first visited the High Tir Hotel on a Wowcher coupon - we chose from the bar menu - the food was very well cooked - all home cooked - the starter of French onion soup was sublime and a home cooked chicken and ham pie was a sheer delight! Ignore all of the negative reviews.... They don't make sense and seen suspicious! The newly appointed chef is doing an amazing job! Just been ack for Sunday lunch, which again was lovely and a large portion of meat was served with perfectly cooked potatoes
:-) Will go back soon !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MIH51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Awful Lunch”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We called in for lunch on september 7th 2012. I ordered risotto. When it arrived the rice was hard and inedible so had to leave it. I complained but the message back from the chef was that it was how it was supposed to be. My mother ordered roasted mediterranean veg. When that arrived the portion was absolutely minute. The food wasn't cheap and we felt cheated. Managed to get a 50 percent reduction in the bill. The hotel was clean but we were the only people there.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed a lovely night's stay at the High Tor Hotel this weekend as part of a KGB deal, our room was small but perfectly adequate with all the modern facilities. The Hotel was very clean and refurbished to a great standard. I do agree with a previous review that the dining room is a bit bland and could do with more personality though. We received a very warm welcome, breakfast was lovely with very helpful staff. Would definitely stay again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“very average”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

we went yesterday for the afternoon tea deal from groupon,the food
and service was very average and not a patch on others we have had
also the offer said salmon sandwiches were available,we were greeted
with ( is cheese spread ok)
also they say millions have been spent on the building,but after a lifetime
in the building trade.i would not have paid the joiners and decorators
in buttons,very poor standards making the place look cheap and tacky.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SEALINE-ANTARA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed High Tor Hotel Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 
Matlock, Derbyshire
 
Matlock Bath, Matlock
Matlock, Derbyshire
 

Been to High Tor Hotel Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing