We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“magnificent residence, wonderful location...”
Book now to secure your dates - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Book now to secure your dates - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Sumptuous sitting room - goto 5* Portland House 1870 12 beautiful bedrooms with 12 bath/cloakrooms - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
137 reviews
Book now to secure your dates - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Sumptuous sitting room - goto 5* Portland House 1870
12 beautiful bedrooms with 12 bath/cloakrooms - goto 5* Portland House 1870
One of 12 beautiful bath/cloakrooms - goto 5* Portland House 1870
12 elegant English bedrooms - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Longest sofa in the Peak District - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Delightful dining room - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Treat yourselves to a catered meal - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Self cater or choose from experienced caterers - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Treat yourselves to an  afternoon tea party - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Ensuite elegant English bedrooms - goto 5* Portland House 1870
One of 12 beautiful bath/cloakrooms - goto 5* Portland House 1870
It's Portland House 1870 O'Clock!
Walk into Matlock Bath -the Little Switzerland of England- goto 5* Portland House 1870
Hang around at Go Ape - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Step into the 1940's at Crich - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Perfect for parties of family and friends from 1 to 100 years young - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Celebrate together - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Don't hang around - book now - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Why not book now to secure your dates - goto 5* Portland House 1870
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
12 Bedrooms, 12 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Matlock Bath, Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 137 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lynseyell...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“magnificent residence, wonderful location, fabulous decor.”
Reviewed September 24, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

A large group of us stayed at portland for a hen do- we were impressed by the property, the high standard of decor and the amenities. Juliet even left some flowers for the hen which was a really lovely touch. The bar was a brilliant party room, the beds were sooo comfy none of us wanted to get out of them. Juliet was also really helpful in providing local info that really made the weekend. I can't recommend this place or the service provided by the owners high enough.

Date of stay: September 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenSmiths...
leeds
1 review
“Great Find”
Reviewed September 20, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Portland house hosted my 'Gentlemans Weekend' Its a fantastic house and was a priviledge to stay in such a grand residence. Great place to spend time. Has a bar, bbq, well equiped kitchen, big lounge and lots of beds. Juliet and her partner were great and did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable. You will not be dissapointed!

Date of stay: September 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall quality and attention to detail
Liked least: cleaning up after a gentlemans weekend and having to leave.....
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 6, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Date of stay: July 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience
Liked least: There was nothing we didn't like
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SMMcK
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“The Best 40th Birthday Ever :)”
Reviewed September 4, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

We had an amazing weekend at Portland House - everything was perfect: beautiful house, well decorated, kitchen well-equipped, great location AND the sun shone all weekend :)
There were 24 of us staying and the house had plenty of room - not to mention it's own bar, all of us loved the novelty of this (we stocked it well!)
Juliet was great - so friendly and organised (and re-arranged key pick-up time when I got stuck in traffic as the M1 was closed due to accident).
Many of my friends have already passed the suggestion along to others, and it's been suggested we should have a Portland House reunion every year :)
(We also had a meal catered on the Sat evening by Peak District Fine Foods which was also perfect if anyone is looking for a special meal for the group!)

Date of stay: July 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bar
Liked least: no complaints from us
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte...
Canmore, Canada
1 review
“I could not have asked for a better venue with fantastic hosts”
Reviewed September 4, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

I booked Portland House for a informal business meeting. Juliet and Martin, the owners could not do enough to meet our requirements. They were absolutely brilliant hosts. The house itself, is in a beautiful setting with easy access to the motorway network. The house is stepped in tradition and grandure, it was a real treat. I would recommend Portland House for anyone looking for some time away with a large family or for a corporate event, I cannot wait to go back!

Date of stay: July 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hospitality of the hosts
Liked least: That we had to leave!
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda W
Nothampton
2 reviews
“Excellent party house for family and friends”
Reviewed September 4, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

The house was more than I could have hoped for to celebrate my 60th birthday with family and friends: 10 of the 12 rooms being en suite meant all my guests had their own facilities with just the perfect room on the ground floor for our oldest member. The kitchen was a dream and the bar area with chiller cabinet made entertaining that bit more special. The house has been finished to the highest standards and all the bedrooms were beautifully presented. I was extremely proud to welcome my guests there.

Date of stay: August 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The standard of fixtures and fittings and general ambience of the house
Liked least: Being close to the main road, the garden was filled with traffic noise during daytime
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bikkabess
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beyond expectations!”
Reviewed September 2, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We could not have asked for anything more. Portland House is a fabulous place for a gathering of family and friends of all ages. We were celebrating a 50th but our group ranged from 2 to 72 and all had a great time and all needs were covered. The owners made us feel welcome even before we arrived with great pre-stay information and care. Nothing was too much. Our needs for a guest with disabilities were covered and the ground floor bedroom and wetroom is great for wheelchair access. Anything you could need whilst enjoying Portland House is provided and we made use of a great catering suggestion for a fabulous meal.
The House is definately 5 Star accommodation and delivers so much. We had an amazing stay and with so much for everyone to do in the area - Matlock, Heights of Abraham, the mill at Belper and so much more - everyone, young and older, had a great time.

Date of stay: August 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Getting a large group together in gorgeous surroundings
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing