We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“After Christmas”
Review of High Tor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
High Tor Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Matlock Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“After Christmas”
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel, we had a great 2 night stay. We had great service and the room was very nice (shower was brilliant). Breakfast was very good. The hotel sits back and high off the main road with good car parking. The high tor is in a good location between Matlock and Matlock bath (walking distance for both). Give it a try.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    99
    31
    24
    11
See reviews for
42
169
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Just spent three very happy and comfortable nights at this hotel. New owners could not have been more pleasant and helpful. Excellent location, great room and great service and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 897robertst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberworth, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

After looking at the photos on laterooms i was looking forward to my stay at High Tor hotel. I was expecting a boutique hotel with personal touches, how wrong was i.
Upon walking into the room i was dissapointed. The room was extremely small, and to add to this no window that opened. The room was very cold, we had to go down to reception to get them to fix the heating.
There was nowhere to get ready, i had to move furniture to find a socket to dry my hair (using the mirror in the front of the wardrobe!!)
The bed was rock hard, meaning two nights with hardly any sleep. Sleeping on the floor would have been more comfortable.
Saying this the room was very clean and tidy, and the shower was awesome.
I dont usually leave reviews but felt that i needed to after my stay.
Wouldnt return.









Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed here on the 09/11/2013 it was a surprise birthday gift from my husband. We had previously stayed last year in the honeymoon suite for our honeymoon and we couldn't fault anything then. This time left a tad disappointed. We stayed in the same honeymoon suite again this time there was none of the little touches like the candles round the bath or the little boxes with shower cap toothbrush etc or bottled water. The plug in the bath did not work didn't stay down to fill bath had to use the shower very disappointed as the bath is lovely and big. The breakfast last time was all sourced locally like the bacon and sausage but this time it looked and tasted like standard produce. We went out for a meal to maazi on the Saturday night and returned to the hotel for around 8pm very quiet and one staff member on who seemed very quiet. We loved it last time with the little touches like when I was sat outside and was offered a lovely cup of coffee by the lovely lady who worked their. Still a very nice hotel but think it needs some maintenance to keep to boutique feel as it is over a year old now and bring the little touches back.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrsmorgan07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night for the illuminations fireworks in Matlock bath. Got an extremely good deal on a booking website. Arrived midafternoon and the very pleasant receptionist showed us to the smallest double room I've ever seen, it was about 9 ft x 9 ft and as my partner is 6"2, it made for a slightly cramped night! That said, it was an extremely comfortable expensive mattress-the room was just way too small for 2 people. The hotel renovations and furnishings were of a really good standard, everywhere was spotless and the bathroom was fab, obviously a lot of money has been spent on the High Tor. I can't comment on the food as we didn't eat there, but the breakfast room looked very airy and pleasant and people looked happy to be there.

It was the little touches which lets the High Tor down a bit-biscuits in a kilner jar on the tea tray were a nice idea but turned out to be 3 old ginger nuts going a bit soft. The bar had the local radio on very loud, a giant wall tv showing the football results and was really brightly lit so was lacking in atmosphere. A shame because with relaxing music and low lighting it could be a lovely cosy place to sit and relax. The room was so small there wasn't room for a bedside table on one side of the bed and it didn't feel particularly boutique to put your glass of water on the floor next to the bed.

Anyway, gripes over, the staff were great, it was clean and well presented and a great price. We'd stay again-but request one of the larger rooms next time!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilekat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I booked this hotel after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor! The people who stayed there must have stayed at a different hotel. When we arrived there was 1 person doing everything. He took us to our rooms which were on the top floor of the hotel. On the way there were beds stacked under the stairs and the lights to the top floor were turned off. Once in the room it was as if 1 part had been renovated - the bathroom but no towel ring or hooks and the bedroom which was small and one of the blinds was attacted with velcro which did not work. The room was at the front of the hotel and you could hear the road noise especially in the rain. There was a tear on the bed sheet and the roof slopped down on the other side of the bed.The breakfast was awful - the poached egg was solid, the toast under it was soggy and the well done bacon was not well done and the baked beans had been nuked. As for the coffee which is specially roasted for the hotel - black hot water devoid of taste or flavour. Again 1 person doing everything. It is a characterless hotel best avoided. If painting the walls beige makes this hotel boutique that is the only thing that does.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Victor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We booked the hotel a year in advance, thank god I took e-mail. As booking made for wrong nights,
Upgraded to honeymoon suite, circular bed, bath like a swimming pool. And toilet behind a screen wall! Room roasting, and not really what we wanted,
Service excellent, food very good and room on next night fine, they really wanted to please and enviable location, just felt a little let down by inefficiency in booking

Room Tip: Check booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rinc0n2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock Bath
1.0 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
241 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
363 reviews
17.5 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
346 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
7.6 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Tor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Tor Hotel

Property: High Tor Hotel
Address: 170 Dale Road, Matlock Bath, Matlock DE4 3PS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Matlock Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — High Tor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel located between Matlock and Matlock Bath - Under new Management since October 2014 - New restaurant Opened February 2015 'Artist's Corner Restaurant' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your High Tor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing